We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic Skiing...Good Snow...Cheap Lift Ticket Prices...Never Crowded”
Review of Ski Cooper

Ski Cooper
Ranked #3 of 38 things to do in Leadville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the San Isabel National Forest, this is one of the kinder, gentler ski areas that is perfect for novice skiers and families.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Epic Skiing...Good Snow...Cheap Lift Ticket Prices...Never Crowded”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a great area for families...cheap tickets...never lift lines....it happened to snow the first of march so we got great snow. There are only a few lifts....they are slow so you have to be okay with that. Black runs are really blues or blue blacks comparred to most mountains. Its not a hard ski mountain which is good for some. It has lots of trees and very scenic...just a fun place bc there is only a ski lodge and not tons of condos around...its about a 9 mile drive from most lodging which is nice. Totally recommend

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank kmgraphics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    47
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Average Town, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great little Ski Area”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a fun place to go skiing. Especially if someone in your party is learning to ski, or needs some refreshment. The slopes are not crowded, and the area is beautiful. Ask for Liz for lessons. She is great, with a lot of experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
455 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great "local" ski resort.”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place is a hidden gem. I come here every President weekend to interact with the men and women of the 10th mountain division, whom come back for their yearly reunion. Since this is a smaller resort and mainly locals that come, there are shorter lines for the lifts.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A true hidden gem!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We flew to colorado from connecticut for a week of big mountain skiing in January of 2013. We flew in wednesday and traveled up to frisco area on thursday. We wanted to warm up a bit for some of the big mountains and found that this place had $30 thursdays. It was about 45-60 minutes from frisco out to leadville where ski cooper is located. The resort is very small and quaint but is laid out nicely and has easy parking and lift access. The conditions were perfect and we were 4 of maybe 50 skiers on the whole mountain. The runs were very wide and given the mid week attendance, they were mostly ours. I made my own tracks most of the day and found awesome trails through the woods to explore. That being said, the trails here offer limited challenges to advanced skiers and boarders. This is a great place for an off day from a big mountain as it is cheap and wont destroy your spirit with long lift lines or over crowded trails.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank snowtripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Skiing @ Ski Cooper”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

As an intermediate skiier I found this a much better place than Monarch Mountain. Ski Cooper, as others have noted, has to be Colorado's best kept secret. Runs are WIDE and have a good combination of layout and chairlift access. I suspect many of them are wide due to the WWII army's training of the 10th Mountain Division there and teams and patrols would ski in tandem or formation. Runs are pretty and basically deserted. No lift lines, no hassles, no pretense from people in $3000 bunny suits with spoiled brats in tow. A great locals place.
If you need the steeps, which are much better at Monarch Mountain or some of the corporate mega resorts there are breathtaking descents off of Chicago Ridge with SnoCat access at $275 per person.
One has to decide what one wants, of course. But, Ski Cooper's theme is Less is More and I certainly found that to apply

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Photoman175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ski Cooper also viewed

 

Been to Ski Cooper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing