We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best mexican food.”

Casa Blanca Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 31 Restaurants in Leadville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Des Moines, IA
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best mexican food.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was recommended to us by our motel as probably the best place to eat in Leadville and we agreed. It is in an converted house a half block off the main street near the south end of the business district. In other words, you probably wouldn't see it without looking for it and would probably pass it by unless recommended. Don't pass it by if you like Mexican at all. Inside are two large simple rooms and great food. We were near closing on Labor Day and the waitress was friendly and helpful but obviously tired. The food more than made up for it. It looks like a small family operation and you are made to feel at home. Not too spicy unless you want it that way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GGDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    12
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyons, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Abort Mission to Eat”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

For the past 30 years my wife has been on a mission to find the best Chile Relleno in the Universe.
A few days ago while on a quest for the spectacular changing Aspen leave we ended up in the highest (elevation, not consciousness) town in North America, the historic community of Leadville.
It was late at night and the manager of the flea bag motel we ended up in suggested that Casa Blanca had really good Mexician food... well we fell for it!
This is the worse Mexcian Restaurant ever... My wife found that her quest for the best Chile Relleno had resulted in an all time low...
This was my far the most disgusting, horrible & memorable (not in a good way) Chile Relleno in the Universe.
The salsa was the most blaaaah salsa I have ever experienced.
So... if you find yourself in Leadvile do yourself a favor and buy a disgusting corn dog from 7-11 and you will be far more pleased with your dinning eperience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank ByronFears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Margarita for $5!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Wow, $5 Margarita. We were happy with that alone and then came the food. It was so good! There is absolutely no atmosphere at this place, which seemed to be a very popular take out joint. However, the food is authentic and quite delicious. We were only in Town for one night and we made the right dining choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madskiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Love it!!!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I love this place... The food is great and the prices aren't too high and the food isn't too spicy so you can take anyone there to eat!!! They are always friendly and are awesome when you bring your younger ones with you!!! I go there all the time I love it!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samsg522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leadville, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Best Mexican food in Leadville! I always order the same dish, stuffed sopapilla. And then order more plain to soak up the fabulous green chile!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spotricki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Blanca Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Casa Blanca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing