We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Town Gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leadville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Governor's Mansion Guest Suites
AZ
Level 6 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small Town Gem”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We spent the 4th of July in the Top of the Rockies suite and are still in shock at how nice it was. The house is just charming and so well located for exploring in Leadville. It is a full suite with two bedrooms, living room, kitchen and bath with every amenity that you would need for an extended stay. It was comfortable, cozy and very clean. I was worried about this being a bed and breakfast experience and it was not that at all. We had our own entrance and were able to come and go as we pleased. The hosts were and helpful and very friendly.
Leadville is just my kind of town with a nice shopping main street and some great restaurants, all within walking distance from this great lodging. Most of the lodging in Leadville is located away from the city center, which I always find inconvenient. I am pretty confident that this is the best located lodging in town and we are so grateful to have found it.
I also have to give a shout out to Tennessee Pass Cafe because it was great! We had their eggplant rolls, chicken basil pizza and chocolate stout cake. Their menu is built around locally Colorado sourced products and everything was just great.
We had a great time in Leadville and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laketimeAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, OK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in the Top o' the Rockies Suite in mid-March. It was perfect! With two older teen sons, the dormer room off the living area was great. The master bedroom was amazing with windows on three sides, a walk-in closet, and a sitting area - a nice quiet escape to read. And while the master doesn't have it's own bath, it does have a lavatory which made sharing the main bath much easier.

Location: this place is perfectly located one half block off main street. I don't ski, so I like to be walking distance from town. This couldn't have been better. I enjoyed the shops, cafe's, book store, even a couple second-hand stores.

The owners were great. Available if we needed anything or had questions. We even got a package after returning home: our older son's ski cap! In all my travels, anything lost or left behind was just that - lost or left behind!

I would highly recommend this place, especially if living on the slopes all week isn't your thing. You'll be a quick trip to the mountain, and handy to the shops and restaurants when you're not skiing. The perfect way to enjoy Leadville area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveKatmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,TX
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

To stay in a historic house in a historic town was wonderful. The location could not be better... Owners very friendly and informative. Quiet street right by Main Street. Hope to stay there again!... You must rent bikes and do the Mineral Mine Trail Loop!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingHolliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I've been coming to Leadville for a number of years skiing and hiking. We stayed in the Jesse McDonald suite for the weekend and were so impressed with the comfort and cleanliness. The owners, Jaime and Jo Ann were so cordial and helpful. They know a lot about the area and obviously love sharing info about Leadville.

We loved the suite, especially the fireplace in the living room. After a day of skiing, it was wonderful to sit by the fire and enjoy a glass of wine. The kitchen is well equipped and clean. It's great to be able to make a meal without having to dine out.

The bedroom is a bit small but very cozy and the queen bed is comfortable. We will definitely will be back in the summer do take some of the hikes we were told about. It will be our home away from home!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great first floor large unit, with Living Room, Kitchen/Nook, Bedroom, and Bathroom, with all the comforts of home. Close to town, very clean, comfortable and a great value. We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericka424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We decided to book the flat located on the first floor when we went to Ski Cooper right after Christmas. The owners returned our call promptly and we booked just a few days in advance. The house is a walking distance from Leadville's main strip and there is ample street parking. We ended up getting in somewhat late and the owners waited for us, which was very nice. The apartment was very clean and roomy; nice place to relax after a full day of skiing. Will definitely book again soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed at the Governor's Mansion for two nights over the Fourth of July weekend so we could hike on Mt. Elbert. Since there were three of us, we opted for the Top of the Rockies suite. You can read about the history of the house and the town at their web site, so I won't go into the details. However, having relied on Tripadvisor reviews in the past, I thought I'd focus on matters that are important to travelers, especially if you're considering an apartment instead of a traditional 24 hour hotel/motel.

The owners, Jaime and Jo Stuever, excel in being accessible both before and during our stay. We kept in contact by e-mail before arriving, and received some great tips on where to find a grocery store (Safeway) to stock up. We ended up heading to Colorado Springs to tour the Garden of the Gods and drive up Pike's Peak, hitting some bad weather on the way to Leadville, so we were later than planned for checking in. We had no problems with reaching them by phone and ensuring that we could check in later than planned. They were very accommodating and friendly. Because they are active in the community and local government, they had some great suggestions on where to eat, and how to plan our trip up Mt. Elbert. Because they live on-site, there were no problems with reaching them, which can be a problem with renting apartments where the owners live elsewhere.

The suite was immaculate, with polished hardwood floors, tasteful period decorations, and central air/heat should you need it. We just opened the windows and used the provided fans in each bedroom. The suite is on the third floor, and you have to climb about 36 steps to get to it, though there is a nice terrace midway up that you can use to relax or watch the stars at night. If climbing stairs is a problem, you might want to consider the first floor suite instead. The access is via an alley behind the house, so it's easy to get to. We had no problems with finding free on street parking directly in front of the house throughout our stay.

The master bedroom is spacious, and includes a decent-sized walk-in closet and a chest of drawers, as well as a sink. The king-sized bed was extremely comfortable.

The bathroom was next to the master bedroom. It had a sink, toilet, and shower, as well as a blow dryer. The shower stall was small compared with a hotel, but adequate for our purposes. There was a door that separated the hallway by the bathroom from the living area/kitchen.

The living area/kitchen was large and comfortable, with a couch, sitting chair, kitchenette table with chairs. The kitchen is as described, with everything you need to cook as much as you want, or just reheat leftovers from a restaurant. The drawers had all the silverware, glasses, plates, bowls, pots, pans, knives, etc. that you might need, though you should bring your own dish soap to wash dishes.

The TV had full cable access, including HBO, and although there was no provided internet access, we were told it was possible to obtain it in town. We were not there long enough to test internet accessibility since we were there to see the mountains.....

The second bedroom was comparatively smaller than the master bedroom, and probably more suitable for two children or one adult. The room did not have a door, but instead used a curtain for privacy. This was not a problem for us since the master bedroom had a door, and there was also a door in the hallway adjacent to the bathroom which closed off the master bedroom/bathroom area from the rest of the suite.

Overall, we were pleased, especially due to its proximity to downtown Leadville and also the amazing views of the mountains!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulInOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jostuever, Owner at Governor's Mansion Guest Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2011
We now have free high-speed wireless internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leadville
0.1 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
270 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
743 reviews
16.3 mi away
A Riverside Inn Hotel
A Riverside Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Leadville
300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Columbine Inn & Suites
Columbine Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Leadville
137 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Twin Lakes Inn
The Twin Lakes Inn
#1 of 2 in Twin Lakes
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Mansion Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Mansion Guest Suites

Property: Governor's Mansion Guest Suites
Address: 129 W. 8th St., Leadville, CO 80461-3527
Location: United States > Colorado > Leadville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Leadville
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Different than an inn, historic hotel or B&B, the accommodations at The Governor's Mansion offer our guests a unique lodging experience. Our suites take the condo concept back to the Victorian era without sacrificing modern conveniences. The Governor's Mansion was once the home of former Governor Jesse McDonald and is centrally located in Leadville's National Historic Landmark District. You'll be surrounded by the highest mountains in the Colorado Rockies where majestic scenery blends with a lively history. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing