We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Leadville!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Mountain Pies

High Mountain Pies
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Leadville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best place in Leadville!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Food is fresh, handmade. Good ambiance, small place, can eat in at a few tables or outside. Of all the restaurants in Leadville we visited, this is by far the best! We bought one medium pizza, ate 1/2 for lunch and the other 1/2 for dinner. Tastes great and at such a low price ended up feedin the 2 of us for 2 meals!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DEHNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    109
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of my top 3 pizzas...ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I always love a restaurant that really cares about food and that is obvious after the first bite. Fresh ingredients and a great staff. I look for excuses to pass through Leadville, even though it might be way of course, for the El Hidalgo.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawnjaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good sandwiches and pizza; friendly staff. Heard another customer remark about the lack of beer but we were not imbibing so it was no problem for us. The freshest bread I've had in a long time. Huge portions.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leadville, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Pizza at 10,000 or lower!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The tireless Koch family has created a Leadville staple...and some menu items are ingenious! Feeling adventurous? Try the crocodile! so wonderful Beautiful space for seating out back and great landscaping. You will not be disappointed if you order from here (and our daughters love the ribs and salads, too!).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen09of09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Talk about pizzas! This place has the very best anywhere, and we have eaten a lot of pizza. The staff is so friendly - you place your order and they bring it to you. Most of the tables are outside, almost everything in Leadville closes or shortens their hours during the winter months. I had the bbq ribs and they were the BEST...fell off the bone and I ate way too many...it comes with a salad and cornbread. I ordered a raspberry dressing for my salad and it was so good, i asked if I could buy some to take home. They filled a container for me. If you eat nowhere else in Leadville, eat here!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbob222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Mountain Pies also viewed

 

Been to High Mountain Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing