We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, this place is really good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of High Mountain Pies

High Mountain Pies
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Leadville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow, this place is really good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Had carry-out pizza once and stopped in for lunch another time. Veggie pizza was actually a very nice Pizza Margherita. The gluten free crust was good, but took longer. No problem. We had barbeque sandwiches at picnic tables in the backyard for lunch another time. That was fun. The tables were under canopies and a separate table was set up with a water cooler for serve yourself ice water. But, it is the barbeque that made this lunch remarkable. The roll was crusty and freshly baked. The barbeque was sweet and tasty. I think the meat was roasted not reheated. All in all get pizza here once and barbeque another time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    110
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Such amazing pizza. Some of the best I have ever had! Would come back to Leadville just to eat here again! Way to go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“best pizza i have ever had outside of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

i'm east coast.. phila, ny, boston, .. lots of places to eat pizza.. but this was one of the best I have ever had... even with altitude headache all week.. I could have ordered more.... if you are in Leadville.. make this a must... not much seating.. but worth the wait..... bravo to all who work there...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best pizza ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

What's better than pizza? Pizza from High Mountain Pies. The Crocodile is the best I've ever had. The staff was great, t-shirts reasonably priced and the pizza.....seriously, do yourself a favor. Go play in Leadville and swing by for a feast.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder, co
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great pizza from scratch off the main drag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Off the main drag in Leadville, CO where we had trouble otherwise finding great eats. Everything from scratch, small space, delicious pizza and sandwiches. People who definitely care about quality here. Busy and well worth finding. Would absolutely recommend and come back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shouck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Mountain Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing