We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The pie was yummy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Burro Cafe & Lounge

Golden Burro Cafe & Lounge
Ranked #7 of 30 Restaurants in Leadville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The pie was yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I were in Leadville for a night and went to the Golden Burro for dinner. The staff were very friendly as were the owners. There was great memorabilia in every nook, my husband and I took pictures all over the restaurant! Our dinner was pretty good, but the peach pie was DELICIOUS! The crust was so flaky, that I couldn't go to sleep without posting a review.

If you are in Leadville, be sure to stop in and don't forget the pie.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DZGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    107
    77
    46
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice try”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

greasy, no flavor, wait staff pays no attention to what you need/want, bathrooms are frigid and dingy...good one to miss if you like food

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst Restaurant in Colorado, or anywhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

They were having a "special" that day which was roast pork. We both ordered it. The salads weren't fresh, but they were the best part of the meal. When they served the roast pork, it came with cold canned green beans, and dark, dark gravy that you could stand a spoon up in. The pork was dry, overcooked and completely inedible. When we told the waitress, she got the manager who tried to tell us the dinners had been under the heat lamp too long, and that's what dried them out. I was skeptical, because no heat lamp could dry out meat this badly. I reluctantly let them try again, and, again, the pork came back the consistency of shoe leather, dry and tasteless. I don't see why anybody eats here.
The manager took off one meal, but both were totally inedible. And that was their special !!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank h2oskier25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lunch with a Fun Altitude”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I had altitude sickness when we went here but the waitress went out of her way to entertain us and make me feel better while the rest of the family ate lunch. Everyone else enjoyed the food and the atmosphere was wonderful. I spent about a half an hour looking at the pictures on the walls and trying to figure out which 5 presidents had visited Leadville. If I got the answer right, the reward was a free slice of pie. Missed it by 1 president. Learned about the history of fame of several Leadville residents.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super yummy breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Loved the hometown atmosphere. So much food served for breakfast, the French toast and ham with eggs was delicious! Only complaint shared from a table of 8 was the make of the coffee. Not good at all, and there's a written maximum refill?! I'd eat here again, without the coffee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EatDanceTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Burro Cafe & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Golden Burro Cafe & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing