We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoky, stinky, dirty, buyer beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Cow Palace
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Lamar
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We have been going to Lamar for years as we have family there. This place has gone downhill significantly over the years. We recently stayed here and realized quickly we should have run out the door at the first sign of issues! They say they are pet friendly and it appears they are. There was dog poop on the upper landing of the hotel for 2 days at least. If was there when we arrived and it was there when we left. When entering the hotel, it smelled strongly of sewage. Apparently this has happened before as we found out from family in the area.
Now our room was not bad upon arrival. The beds were comfortable and the roll-away bed we had asked for was ready in our room when we got there. The air-conditioning did not work properly so the room remained hot all night. (It blew warm air although set to the lowest temp.) We left it on all the next day & when arriving back our room smelled as if someone had smoked in it all day! My son with asthma could not even enter the room. Our eyes burned. It was truly horrible! The staff did not seem concerned at all. After waiting 45 minutes with all our belongings in the hallway, the staff finally showed us another room that had ashtrays in it, obviously a smoking room. It also smelled and their solution was air freshener....for free! The maintenance man told us there were a few other vacant rooms but they smelled like SEWAGE! We figured out from other family staying in the hotel that if you use the sir-conditioning or heating system, it blew smoke from other areas in the building into the rooms. We finally found a room that did not smell like either smoke or sewage so we stayed one more night. In addition and things we could have over looked were outlet covers that were only half there and towel ranks falling off the walls. There are two hotels across the street that you pay a little more for but it may well be worth it in the end. We will never stay here again! One more tidbit, the greenery in the main area is a nice touch but the news in Lamar is that they have had issues with mildew on the plants because they cannot keep up with the maintenance of having the quantity of plants. I believe the locals. Oh yes and the pool appeared clean so we allowed our kids to swim while we tried to find a clean room for over an hour. The food for breakfast was decent.

Room Tip: Ask to see it before getting a key card. If you are a smoker, you may find all rooms acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelswith3sons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAT52, Owner at Rodeway Inn Cow Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hi, Thank you for your comments but I would like to address a couple of items. With respect to the air conditioner, our system is typically shut off in December, January, February and March as the outside temp is below freezing. Each room has its own heat and air conditioner unit and none of the duct work is connected to another room or the outside, It is not possible to pull the smell of smoke in from another room. I am sorry if you had a room next to a smoking room, but that will happen at times. The thing I would really like you to know is that no Hotelier wants their guest to have a bad experience, especially us. We have guest instructions in each room that lets the guest know of our concern for them, and encourage them to call the front desk for any reason. We are happy to move guests and have them inspect the room before they make their move. We took the Hotel over in mid 2011 and started a major remodel in late 2011 and have been improving it every since. Our goal is to bring the Cow Palace back to its high quality condition that existed before the last group owned the property and ran it into the ground. In terms of the Courtyard plants, they were in horrible condition when we bought the Hotel, and we treat them once a week for the small plant mites. We have them under control to the point that you need to be looking for them to find them, contrary to what you are hearing from the locals. We have hosted several large weddings in the Courtyard and recieved great review letters from the families. Unfortunately, I cannot post their letters on TripAdvisor. We truly want you to have a great experience with us and would encourage you to always call to front desk in any Hotel that you are having issues with so those things can be resolved immediately. Hope you have happy travels and the next time you are in Lamar, please come to see me personally. Best Wishes. Doug Thrall, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 136 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here last year, was pretty good. Please read my review Jan. 29, 2013. It pains me to write this review. First of all, when I made my reservation on the phone, I was told we could have the same room, but when we got to the hotel, they said it wasn't available. It really must make a difference what room you have. This time we were on 2nd floor interior room, #317 I think. It wasn't near as good as last years room. This room had stains on carpet, stains on walls, and stains on ceiling. Bugs in window sill. Hairs in tub. You wouldn't want to touch the light switch in the bathroom, disgusting! Had only one almost empty roll of toilet paper. Hair dryer on the wall looked something like a vacuum cleaner, old! When I plugged my curling iron in the wall plug, it was so loose, it would fall out. Sink is right out in bedroom, no privacy The person on the phone and the person at the desk at check in told me all rooms are renovated now. Don't believe them! The room did have good heat, hot water, and was well lit except for the light bulb that was burned out. The bed was comfortable, but only had 3 tiny pillows for a King size bed. The only great thing was the Atrium pool and hot tub which is amazing. The pool water was so nice and warm. We won't stay here again though because of the terrible room which makes me sad because of the awesome pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you in room 317 on 2nd floor! Ask for bottom floor interior room next to pool.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank ParkDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAT52, Owner at Rodeway Inn Cow Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hi, After reading your review I had our cleaning staff walk through your room. As a result, we terminated one of the staff. Our goal is to give you the best experience you can have at our Hotel and enjoy all the fun things that the Cow Palace has to offer. You should have noticed the laminated letter on the bed in your room that asked you to call the front desk if you had any issues. We encourage our guest to call us if there is a problem as we can either change rooms or resolve any of your issues. I, as an owner, want to know of any problems immediately, because if there is a problem with a room, I can find out right then and there who is responsible and take the appropiate action. I think we have done a great job with our remodel and that is an ongoing project, but I need your help while you are on site to help me take care of the little issues light lights, TP, pillows and unclean rooms. Please feel free to call me directly on my cell phone to discuss any issues you might have at 801-842-4000. Great travels. Doug Thrall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I travel across country on a regular basis, and I have stayed here numerous times. Always a clean room and friendly staff as well as good food for breakfast and dinner at a reasonable price. The hotel offers a $3.00 voucher for breakfast which is nice.... Most hotels with continental "breakfast" are a joke- you end up stopping 1 hr later to eat anyway. Stayed full to Greeley off mine. It is an older hotel, but they keep it up very well- worth the stop. Also, I had trouble getting my vehicle started this morning- didn't even have to ask. The manager was out with jumper cables in the snow with a smile- its in the details.

Room Tip: Ground floor with door inside hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAT52, Owner at Rodeway Inn Cow Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hi, thank you for your kind words. Our family took the Hotel over in mid 2011 with the goal to create the best atmosphere in the mid priced Hotels in the country. We try to go the extra mile as that is what we appreciate in the Hotels we visit as we travel. We have the same high quality of beds as the expensive guys, but not the nightly price, and, we have award winning steaks in our dining area and lounge. Again, thank you and come see us in the near future. Happy travels. Doug Thrall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I am from Denver, Co and all of my children, grandchildren and other family members live in Lamar,Co. I stay at the Cow Palace Inn every time I go to Lamar. Each time I go it seems like they have improved with what they have to offer. They have the restaurant, bar, Latte bar and Ice Cream Parlor all in the same place so I don't have to venture out very far. They have a pool and hot tub so I just invite the kiddos and the fun begins. Very convenient for what I need. I have to compliment the staff for their kind hospitality. They make you fell right at home. So thanks to Doug Thrall and his partners and staff for a job well done.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAT52, Owner at Rodeway Inn Cow Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hi Cary, Thank you for your kind words and I appreciate you staying with us when you visit family. We are always improving the property in all areas so that you can have something to do here without having to venture out. Especially now with 2 degree weather. See you next trip. Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The motel was clean, and reasonably quite. The bed was fine, and the plumbing worked. The restaurant provided an adequate supper, but we were disappointed with breakfast. We got $3.00 vouchers each, so our simple breakfast ended up costing us nearly $10.00. We have come to expect a basic breakfast to be included in the price. Otherwise, the motel was OK.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wittj155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAT52, Owner at Rodeway Inn Cow Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hi, Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the breakfast voucher, however, with the $3.00 voucher, there are items that can be had from the menus as there are several $1.00 items. Each, in my opinion, beat the $1.00 breakfast at the fast food chains. We are not required to provide a breakfast being a mid priced Hotel Chain, however, we want our guests to enjoy a hearty breakfast with us. Our dining room has the only extra thick, maple bacon in all of southeastern Colorado. In fact, I don't think you will find any Hotel that serves the quality of bacon that we do. You know how us country folks like our bacon. Next time you are in the area, please feel free to call me directly and let me give you a tour of our kitchen. Call me at 801-842-4000. Happy travels. Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Their was a ceiling noise that made it sound like you were standing at the ocean and the front staff refused to acknowledge knowing it, even though we had booked 4 months in advance and you could hear the noise from the hallway.
It took several hours before we they finally agreed and we had to find a room at another hotel.
The rate also included a continental breakfast, but we found out later they denied that it was included in the rate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mischa-Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAT52, Owner at Rodeway Inn Cow Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hi Mischa, I am so sorry for your experience in our Hotel. As owner, I want your stay to be nothing but fun and restful. In each room and on the bed is a laminated letter from us that asks you to call the front desk immediately if you find something wrong. We have 100 rooms and have no problem moving you to something different. Please make that call. In terms of the breakfast, we, as a mid-priced Hotel are not required to provide any breakfast. We give each guest a $3.00 voucher to go toward their breakfast bill. If you ate there, you can see that we do not overprice our food, as we cater to the local crowd as well as our guests. The menu has several items for $1.00, so you can, for free, have more food than you would get for $1.00 at any of the fast food chains. Please feel free to call me direct if you want to visit more at 801-842-4000. Happy travels. Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The in house restaurant was a life saver after a long day of driving and before another. We managed to find an excellent salad among a meat heavy menu, the pool and hot tub were completely empty before bed and again in the morning which was great for us, and they were happy to host my dog for ten bucks extra. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAT52, Owner at Rodeway Inn Cow Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hi Nicolle, thank you for your kind words. We are trying to bring this Hotel back to the high quality it used to be. I really appreciate you taking the time to respond in a positive manner. We usually only hear from people with problems and not from the thousands of overnighters that have a great experience. Thank you again. Happy travels. Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamar hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Lamar
Days Inn Lamar
#2 of 10 in Lamar
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar
1.8 mi away
Chek Inn
Chek Inn
#5 of 10 in Lamar
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Blue Spruce Motel
Blue Spruce Motel
#4 of 10 in Lamar
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lamar
Quality Inn Lamar
#7 of 10 in Lamar
11 reviews
1.1 mi away
3rd Street Nest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Cow Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Cow Palace

Address: 1301 North Main Street, Lamar, CO 81052-2115 (Formerly Cow Palace Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Lamar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Lamar
Price Range: $65 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Cow Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cow Palace Inn has been a landmark hotel of Lamar, Colorado since 1972. It has mounds of tradition, a number of eating establishments; for breakfast, lunch and dinner; as well as all the amenities of your traditional hotel establishment. Recently remodeled, and under new ownership/management, the Cow Palace Inn is well on its’ way of becoming the finest hotel in Lamar. An indoor atrium, lined with skylights, allows natural sunlight to filter into an extra-large, indoor courtyard complete with swimming pool and hot tub. A newly remodeled kitchen and dining area provides guests with exceptional dining and commendable service. Check out the espresso bar and the ice cream shop. We are proud to say that we have the richest ice cream sold in the State Of Colorado. We’re a proud partner of Rodeway Inn and look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Cow Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Hotel Lamar
Best Western Lamar
Lamar Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing