We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Lamar
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a very nice place”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My brother my sister and I spent the night of the 4th of July at the Cow Palace. We were there to attend a funeral. I must say the signs were there from the minute we walked in the building. My sister started coughing and the smell was very stale. The room smelled musty and moldy and the blanket and towels felt damp and smelled bad. The carpet was very dirty and in the bathroom we only had 2 towels. The Tissue paper holder had less than a quarter roll of paper and the facial tissue box was empty. The bathroom door didn't close completely, the clock in the room was an hour behind, I don't know when was the last time anyone had been in that room. Breakfast was a joke. I was told I could have a danish or a bagel. I won't be visiting the Cow Palace again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi,
We are very sad to hear of your recent experience in our Hotel. As you know we are currently doing an extensive remodel and we are very very concerned that your room was so subpar. We are surprised that you did not have a great nights sleep - the mattresses are all brand new throughout the Hotel and are the top of the line Eurotop mattresses. These are far above the basic Hotel standards that are usually purchased for Hotels. We want our guests to have a wonderful night's sleep. We have our maintenance and housekeeping staff on notice to correct the problems that you encountered. Would you please be so kind as to call us so that we can address your statements and hopefully get you to try us again in the future. Please call 303-929-7900 and ask for Doug. We take your feedback very seriously.
Thank you,
Doug and Lee, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    26
    22
    18
    28
See reviews for
43
30
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hesston, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Bed was comfortable. A musty odor at first. They are under some remodel work, so have to give them a little slack. "free" breaksfast was a joke. A cold, dry baegle. Of course you could order off the menu, which our friends did for a $3.00 discount. They did get a lot of food for their money. Staff are friendly. Room really needs to be updated. Carpet worn and torn. It is an ok place, but might look at other options as well.

Room Tip: They are doing some remodeling, so by 2013 it might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent feedback of our Hotel. We are as you know doing a very extensive remodel and while all is not done - the carpet to be the very last of course - we are making headway and your comments support that. We want to invite you back and once again be our guests and see what we have accomplished and enjoy the new Espresso Bar and Ice Cream Palace. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
Doug and Lee, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Poised at the edge of town, the Cow Palace Inn/Rodeway Inn has enjoyed an extensive restoration. Rooms are clean and spacious. Service is friendly, as it was in the old days. Best of all, the food was excellent!
A bit of unique, local color is the beautiful floor of polished marble in the entrance featuring brands.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I would like to say that even though the cow palace was under remodel
they did there best to make sure my family and i were very well taken care of
we were there because my mother passed away and they took us in on very short notice
if we needed anything all we had do do was ask. the food there was also very good
thank you staff of the cow palace for making our stay in our time of loss easy for us
jackie osban wyoming

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Let's start with the very definition of hospitality since they are in the hospitality industry; the friendly reception and treatment of guests or strangers. From our check in and throughout our stay this facility fails. An indifferent attitude from the desk clerk would have been an improvement over the "why are you bothering me" vibe that she put out. My family and I tried to go to breakfast on the first morning of our stay only to be told that breakfast ended at 10:00. It was 9:50. Another in our group did arrive at 9:20 the next morning and were ignored for 30 minutes after being seated. They were then served cold, improperly prepared food and were told that it was because breakfast was over at 10:00. If they can't handle the restaurant then they should just close it.

The facility is in desperate need of upgrades, the card keys needed to be constantly reprogrammed, the railings on the second floor can't possibly be to code and the atrium is beat. All of that would be OK if they would at least treat guests in a friendly manner. I've stayed in countless hotels and this is the FIRST time I have ever stayed stayed in a place that I would never stay in again. This is also the first negative review I have ever given, I'm a reasonable guy and not difficult to please.

If you must go to Lamar then do yourself a favor and stay in the Holiday Inn Express or Days Inn across the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Please call me. I am Doug Thrall the owner.
Thank u. 302-929-7900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lamar hotels

Branson, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

prob one of the best places we've stayed in if not for the fact the internet didnt work the whole time we where there but the lady was nice enough to give us a small discount rooms were clean we had a microwave and fridge unfournately i left an expensive bag in the fridge but what you gonna do bedswere soft and the pool was pretty nice now the few minor glitches first the pool didnt have towels didnt know until after we had gotten in the pool so I had to go to front desk to getsome and the lady was extremely rude about getting me towel there was a wedding going on and they ahd taken all the high chairs from the dining room so ended up having to try and eat my meal holding my child and finally while they offer u decent breakfast thye make you wait so long you want to just forget about it

Room Tip: before shelling out 70 bucks make sure there internet is up if thats what you re needing the most
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilNicole22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. We take your comments seriously. We have been slowly upgrading our Hotel and yesterday added additional high chairs to our inventory. We apologize that what we had were in use. The internet problem was found to be a combination of tower issues and internal issues and we are happy to say that we have fixed the problem and are upgrading the entire router system in the hotel to prevent future problems that are in our control. We have also printed off your comments and shared them with the housekeeping and restaurant staff.
Again, we hope that you will be our guest in the future. Every day something new is completed or upgraded and soon it will be carpeting and fresh paint in each room.
Thank you. Doug and Lee, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

When we checked in was very surprised on how nice the place looked after reading other reviews. Then the problem started. There was a graduation party going on in the evening. Thing started off nice a quite then the band arived and it got loud. little kids running up and down the halls looking in rooms. Complained to the desk over 5 times nothing was done. Was told they have the room tell 1, At 11:30 manager finally showed, He had been in the bar the hole time. He went asn asked them to quite down. Nothing happened. When we got up the next morning the breakfast area was totaly trashed with bottles and trash, no place for us to sit and eat breakfast.. the pool was closed to be cleaned. When asked for a refund was told well you shoul have been told that there was going to be a party here. Really.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Because we are a hotel and convention center sometimes we do have guests annoyed by the noise. We are sorry to hear that is what happened to you. We are pleased that you can see our efforts with regards to the remodeling and bringing the Cow Palace back to its former wonderful self. We do clean our pool every morning to make sure that there are no leaves or particles from the many indoor plants or former guests. We pride ourselves on it being sparkling clean and inviting for every guest at all times. We are saddened that you were not able to experience that. We will make sure our housekeeping staff is alerted to your comments about items left in the courtyard. We hope that you will try us again. We will make every effort to make sure you enjoy A PEACEFUL and pleasant stay and enjoy the new opening of our restaurant with its completely remodeled kitchen. Thank you for your comments. Doug and Lee, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamar hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Lamar
Days Inn Lamar
#1 of 10 in Lamar
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar
1.8 mi away
Chek Inn
Chek Inn
#5 of 10 in Lamar
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Blue Spruce Motel
Blue Spruce Motel
#4 of 10 in Lamar
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lamar
Quality Inn Lamar
#8 of 10 in Lamar
124 reviews
1.1 mi away
3rd Street Nest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn

Property: The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn
Address: 1301 N Main St, Lamar, CO 81052-2115 (Formerly Cow Palace Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Lamar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Lamar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cow Palace Inn has been a landmark hotel of Lamar, Colorado since 1972. It has mounds of tradition, a number of eating establishments; for breakfast, lunch and dinner; as well as all the amenities of your traditional hotel establishment. Recently remodeled, and under new ownership/management, the Cow Palace Inn is well on its’ way of becoming the finest hotel in Lamar. An indoor atrium, lined with skylights, allows natural sunlight to filter into an extra-large, indoor courtyard complete with swimming pool and hot tub. A newly remodeled kitchen and dining area provides guests with exceptional dining and commendable service. Check out the espresso bar and the ice cream shop. We are proud to say that we have the richest ice cream sold in the State Of Colorado. We’re a proud partner of Rodeway Inn and look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Hotel Lamar
Best Western Lamar
Lamar Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing