We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$65
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chek Inn(Lamar)(Great Value!)
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
29
32
11
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
32
11
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolin townaffordable roomtwo queen bedsnothing fancystay there againmotelkitchenetteretrocoloradolinenscerealac
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 89 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2009

This motel made us feel content: They are ready to serve us. Everything was nice and clean. The rooms have refrigerators and microwaves, and are good sized rooms..We like the motel. We have stayed there several times and it is always clean and the staff is friendly. We always enjoy the complimentary breakfast and it is always delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GizmoNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamarcolorado, Owner at Blue Spruce Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2010

Very very happy to see that our customers are always leaving a good remark and smile on our face. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

The bed was completely terrible. Not sleepable . I was miserable ALL night. And isn't this the first priority of a hotel or a a motel???.........A comfortable night's sleep.
If you can not sleep in the bed then the motel is worthless. This bed was so bad that my back ached all the next day.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank happyh0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSpruceMotelLamar, Manager at Blue Spruce Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2008

As soon as guest checked in, she started complaining for one thing or the other, and even after one hour we offered her the refund if she did not want to stay in the room anymore, but the guest refused, so next morning the guest came-up with some ridiculos complain regarding the bed and started arguing for refund and when we refused to give-in to her unjustified fake complains, she decided to write a bad review.
This is a scam some people try to get a free stay, and hence we offer to show the room before renting and do offer refund even after they go in the room for limited time. We want our guest to be happy and we do everything to make their stay comfortable but can not win with some people who have know how to get things for nothing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Was not happy with stay here at all. The middle eastern couple that owns and operates this, we felt, were constantly watching us. He kicked my kids out of the pool, after the pool hours were opened, and when I asked, he said, he hadn't cleaned it yet. The breakfast was VERY minimal and coffee and milk was not refilled. Was not comfortable there and will never stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank tmdws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

I asked to see a room before I paid, and the owner walked me across the parking lot to a room in the middle of the complex. When he opened the door, the first thing that struck me was the smell--the room actually smelled clean! Not that nasty air-freshener smell (that tries to cover up something funky)... no, this was just a nice, clean, fresh smell. A quick inspection revealed no problems, except for a hole in the ceiling. The owner explained that he would be installing a ceiling fan soon.

The furniture is very old and a little funky, and the worst thing I noticed was some stains inside the drawers that indicated a beverage may have been spilled sometime in the past. Newer furniture and a better mattress would have been nice, but for $40, this room was all I needed. If you're picky about everything being new, go somewhere else, but if you're looking for clean and reasonably priced, the Blue Spruce is alright.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank edisoncarter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSpruceMotelLamar, manager at Blue Spruce Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2008

Thank you. Yes we are always willing to show the room, day or night, hot or cold and we do walk with customers to the room as a courtesy. We always use only mild chemicals & disinfectants for cleaning bathroom and rooms. And we are protective about our property as we do not give away our rooms cheap to maintain the standard. If there are any smells, then we use natural resources such as sun and air to remove the smell and do not rent the room until we are happy.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

This motel was very clean and has a pleasant surrounding. Lots of open space and rooms are big.
My kids loved the Play Area and the outdoor pool.
Staff was curteous and a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Summer_travelOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSpruceMotelLamar, owner at Blue Spruce Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2008

Thank you.

This motel is our only source of income and we work very hard to maintain the standard for customers who are honest and looking for a decent place at a reasonable price.

Our housekeeping staff is very particular about cleanliness and we never have to worry about their work.

That is why 80% of our business is with repeat customers and professionals visiting the town.

Thank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews