We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Spicy Basil

Thai Spicy Basil
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Lamar
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“food okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

food was average but the service was bad. "Starters" came out after main course which was too salty.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EarleandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    49
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Newton, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

While stopping over in Lamar CO for the night, we had diner at the Thai Spicy Basil. The service was prompt, and the food was fresh and flavorful. However, the staff wasn't at all warm and welcoming - just cooly polite. Nevertheless, for dinner in a small town while traveling through, I recommend it highly.

Helpful?
Thank FootlooseEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
202 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Wonderful food for lunch or dinner, wish they served wine with dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We ate here for lunch last year and dinner this year while visting a friend in the area. The food is really good, but I wished they served wine or beer with dinner to compliment the dinning experience. The fried dumpling app was fresh and tasty. The other main entrees equally as good. Our friend who is a local, says it is the best place to eat in town, so there you go!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alex3485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not very good but above average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The food was tasty and the server was efficient. There was only one booster seat which made eating with a toddler without a booster a bit difficult. I ordered a dish that had listed noodles, chicken and vegetables and the vegetables were at a minimum. I expected more vegetables. The chicken was very tasty. The chicken coconut soup was delicious.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stampaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Thai food around!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have never had anything bad in this restaurant. I always try to get something new every time we come here. Last night it was chicken and coconut soup, coconut shrimp and spicy duck! The duck is always a tasty treat no matter which you choose, however it does take the longest to prepare...but the wait is worth it. One night in Bangkok is a dish that is crazy and crazy good! They don't take checks and the woman that owns it and waits on you is a little off putting but I really think it sinner own form of charm!

If you are lucky you will see a freight or Amtrak train barrel through right next door.. It is exciting to see the trains!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZealousWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Spicy Basil also viewed

 

Been to Thai Spicy Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing