We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to eat”
Review of Blue Sky Cafe

Blue Sky Cafe
Ranked #6 of 394 Restaurants in Lakewood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Fenton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Our adult daughter (who lives in Denver) brought my wife and I (who don't) to the Blue Sky Cafe recently for a late morning breakfast-early lunch. What a fun place to eat! The sky is always blue and it is always good weather inside this cafe. A large part of the interior ceiling is painted as a sky and the feeling is one of eating outdoors. Two of us had breakfast items -- eggs benedict and oatmeal -- while the other had a lunch item -- chicken croissant and sweet potato fries. The eggs benedict were good with an unusual looking combo of ham slice, eggs, bearnaise sauce, and English muffin. The oatmeal was prepared with small pieces of pecan and cranberries so tasty but it was otherwise like quick oatmeal rather than simmered so not creamy or as delicious as I have had in other places. The croissant was also good though the sweet potato fries disappointing. If we lived here we would gladly return since it was a fun place to eat with good food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimgreiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    39
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johnston, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Just finished sweet potato pecan waffles. Enjoyed the fresh squeezed juice. Menu is unique. If I lived in the Denver area this would be my go to breakfast place!

Helpful?
Thank Connie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice stop with mom”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

At 93 it's important to get a good breakfast , My mom loves this place. The blueberry cakes are the best. Great coffee, very good service, We stop when ever we get to golden

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Good breakfast”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very good- food was hot and staff very friendly. My very picky husband was very pleased. If we were in the area again, we would have breakfast there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GMASpokane_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Favorite Breakfast Place”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Originally invited here by son for breakfast over a year ago and has become favorite breakfast cafe in Denver West area on a semi regular basis. Southwestern type fare on the menu including the blue corn and piñon pancakes. Love the fresh juices-favorite is the apple lemon ginger. Great coffee beverages also.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JP7600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Sky Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing