We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World of Boar”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of World of Beer

World of Beer
Ranked #87 of 390 Restaurants in Lakewood
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating
Description: World of Beer offers over 500 beers from more than 40 different countries. Combining a friendly environment and a knowledgeable staff, World of Beer creates an atmosphere where patrons feel at home.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“World of Boar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My son recommended that we meet at WOB for a drink. I arrived first and was virtually ignored until I flagged down a bartender. His was preoccupied with talking with "regulars." For a supposed World of Beers, the selection, at least on tap, was disappointing. Old Chicago, Yardhouse, and El Tapatio have a better selection on tap. Don't bother. Another negative is that there is no food on premises. They have an "affiliation" with food establishments nearby to deliver food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BillHalfmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Went on a friday night and the beer selection and service was awesome. They even had a cool classic rock band playing live from the balcony. Definitely try the ABT 12.

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“How cool...steps from my condo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I live here at Belmar, stopped in for the first time with my wife. Did the full treatment: Intro to Hops Flight, ordered a pizza from their food partner, Rock Pizza. My wife is a wine drinker and was pleased with their selection of reds. Add outside seating, open air bar facing the plaza where there happens to be live jazz playing this Saturday afternoon and I'm in heaven. Highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jji-den
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“My New Favorite Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

World of Beer is relatively new to Colorado. The first location opened November 2012, the second is this location which just opened August 2013. So if you're familiar with WOB, this isn't any different.

What sets World of Beer apart from normal bars is their beer selection is absurd. They have 500 beers, with a rotating menu of what's on tap. They don't serve food, however, they have contracted with some of the restaurants in the area (Rock Pizza, Little India, Wasabi and Baker Street) and you can call them and they'll deliver food, or you can bring your food in. The beer prices vary with the cheapest around $3 up to some expensive beers. They have a fantastic variety so if you're a beer connoisseur, you will enjoy this place, although they do not have the typical domestics like Budweiser, Coors & Michelob. They do have a fantastic selection of local Colorado microbrews, and they have everything from Saisons to IPAs to Stouts to Ciders to Flemish Ales to... well, you name it and they probably have at least one beer in that style.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momo800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World of Beer also viewed

 

Been to World of Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing