We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good!”
Review of El Jimador

El Jimador
Ranked #72 of 394 Restaurants in Lakewood
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Always Good!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We've eaten here many times over the past few years, and so far, everything on their menu is good. That said, I have tried their red sauce one time, and since then, have always asked them to use their green chile instead, which they do at no extra charge. Their salsa is HOT, at least to this gringo's taste, but their guacamole sauce they sometimes serve is very good. The staff is wonderful, particularly Romero, with attentive service and attention to detail.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Going down in food and service”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Was so hungry but was in a rush and was in the mood for what I was hoping was the best menudo around..but I arrived and got it in 10 minutes and left. Once I got to my destination to eat it, my tortillas were rock hard, the tribe was not washed and tough was not cooked completely. It wells terrible couldn't even chew the meat. Very sad and unhappy at this point. And still Hungry!! That's a problem!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank She_Rates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't bother”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My favorite across the street, Las Fuentes was closed for the weekend and daughter wanted Mexican food. We had a BOGO coupon. Service was fairly inattentive, although the place was fairly empty, we were sat at a table that had not been wiped. Drink Waitress seemed pissed to have to wipe it upon request and took her time. She brought our drinks and didn't take our food order although we were ready. The waiter took our food order. The food came quickly. We had no utensils. A set was brought to my daughter quickly. I was told by the waiter they had to wash some more. (remember place was empty at 8PM Saturday night.) I waited awhile for the utensils. My mole enchilada tasted like someone shook sugar all over it. My one margarita was fine as were the beans and rice. Over a year ago my friend liked the Huevos Rancheros, haven't heard if she still does. I won't be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nkrudolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad in every way”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We went here based on other reviews. Our experience started with poor service and a watered down margarita and only got worse from there. They brought the wrong food and corrected the problem by scraping off the wrong portions and slopping on some sour cream to cover the crime. I'm 40 and count on one hand how many time I have left no tip. Unfortunately, I have added one to the count.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank desmoinesdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Food was good. Service was good. It didn't stand out for any reason, though locals claim it has the BEST margaritas, I wasn't sure. If you want Mexican, it's worth a try.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phainopepla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jimador also viewed

 

Been to El Jimador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing