We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not my favorite Chinese food...”

Szechuan Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 390 Restaurants in Lakewood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
sarasota FL
Level Contributor
428 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Not my favorite Chinese food...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We picked this restaurant because of all the good TA reviews. It was ok, and the portions were large, but my main complaint is that the food didn't taste like I expected. I ordered shrimp with lobster sauce and also the shrimp egg foo yung (for leftovers tomorrow) and neither tasted like I have had at most other places. Perhaps it is just me...

Service was good and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanninelehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    18
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best in the Denver area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We've eaten at this restaurant regularly for over 30 years, and have never been disappointed. The food and service are always top-notch. When we had business guests from China visiting the area, this is where we would take them and they were always impressed with the food. It's all reasonably priced.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Geodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

There is not a better Chinese restaurant in the Denver Metro area. Their "hot and sour" soup is the best! I love everything on the menu.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great service and always delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hot and sour soup is the best around. I had the triple delight with garlic sauce and my friend had mu shu vegetables. Both were delicious. The mu shu came already wrapped in the pancakes, which I have never seen before.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank saltw80128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The absolute best Chinese restaurant in Denver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

For over 30 years this restaurant has served authentic, delicious Chinese food. The service is always great, and now will not go home hungry (although you probably will go home with a doggy bag).

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Geodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechuan Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Szechuan Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing