We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service”
Review of 240 Union

240 Union
Ranked #2 of 390 Restaurants in Lakewood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went here with another couple on Saturday night. Prompt service. Filet my wife ordered excellent and cooked as ordered-- medium rare that was actually medium rare. My fish, halibut, was good but not great. Then again, we are in Colorado not in Alaska. Good wine for $24 a bottle, and decent selection in that range.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    61
    13
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old dog - still great tricks with food”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We love this place. It has been around for 24 years and that is how long we have been going. The food is consistently delicious. The owner, Michael, must take good care of his employees because you see many of the same staff year after year.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO USA
Level Contributor
349 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Its nice to eat somewhere that is not a chain, but has amazing food. I love the homemade ciabatta and breadsticks that are served while you wait. And my favorite is the cioppino with shrimp, scallops, white fish, clams, and mussels. A slightly spicy tomato broth served with crostini. Very tasty.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lommel, Belgium
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Pasta”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

On a business trip together with colleagues from Detroit they brought me to this nice restaurant. The atmosphere was quite formal but the staff was warm, friendly and paying attention to detail. I I ordered a pasta dish which was really excellent - it looked rather simple but the tastes were delicious. Also the red wine I selected was very good. If you are in this area, you really should try this restaurant. Excellent value for money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric-Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“There's a reason 240 Union has thrived for over 2 decades”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent, most professional service, deliciously prepared fresh food, pride in doing things right, a floor plan that allows for pleasant conversation amongst your own party--not having to overhear everybody else's---convenient location.......
Not many restaurants stand the test of time, but this one has and for good reason.
One restaurant in Lakewood we are not embarrassed to recommend to out of towners or business clients.
Kudos!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DenverFrequentTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 240 Union also viewed

 

Been to 240 Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing