We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in the midst of chains and strip malls!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 240 Union

240 Union
Ranked #2 of 388 Restaurants in Lakewood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A gem in the midst of chains and strip malls!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The front desk clerk at the Hampton Inn recommended we try "240 Union" which was only a short distance from our hotel - wonderful food, service and atmosphere. We both had seafood which was outstanding as was the dessert special. We'll go again if we ever get back to this area!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ericcshafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    58
    13
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Consistently fabulous, year after year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Have been dining at 240 Union for the last 15 years, every time the food and service have been delightful. We went twice during May and June of this year, if anything, the standards for both food and service have risen. The service is attentive, warm but not obsequious. We started with the deviled eggs, their take on them was nothing short of superb. The chicken fried lobster tail is absolutely mouth watering! They have fabulous specials. The atmosphere is contemporary, one feels comfortable and relaxed in anything from jeans to cocktail attire. The owner was there both nights, warmly greeted us and kept a watchful eye to assure standards were exceeded, mission accomplished! It is great having such a wonderful restaurant in the suburbs outside of downtown Denver, for those of us who live in that area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BritCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best on the west side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Even after 20+ years of serving lunch & dinner in Lakewood, 240 Union owner Mike, his cooks, & staff continue to impress.

The daily specials always worth a try. The menu & offerings are always updated & the wine list creative.

240 Union is usually packed, so get there early, enjoy the atmosphere & prepare to enjoy the best meal on the west side of town at this creative grill. Cheers!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Proudcsuram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Had lunch in 240 Union. The food was good. Had a Salad with salmon. Friendly atmosphere. Reasonably priced.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank micol_mca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“BEST LOBSTER MELT ON THE PLANET”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

First time at the restaurant but certainly won't be the last. Sunday brunch birthday celebration for six. Spacious tables and we sat in the sunny atrium which was quiet. Getting a little busy by 12 noon though. Matt, the owners son, was our server and he was friendly, efficient and very nice. Our table had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs that got great reviews but they are hard scrambled so ask for soft if you prefer. The breakfast "Denver" quiche was tasty if strangely a little sweet. The hanger steak done medium rare was really good with egs and potatoes. My lobster melt was absolutely heavenly with a small green salad. Blueberry mojito, bloody Mary and their special 240 Fizz were fun and tasty.
On a side note I have NEVER seen such thoughtfull amenities in any ladies room in any country I have visited! Well done 240!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotty-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 240 Union also viewed

 

Been to 240 Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing