We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blast from the past with the prices to match”

Davies Chuck Wagon Diner
Ranked #46 of 389 Restaurants in Lakewood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A blast from the past with the prices to match”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This cool little diner is like going back in time, and is even on the National Register for Historic Places. The outside is stainless steel, the Formica tables inside are original and some of the waitresses have been there for decades. They serve great big breakfasts breakfasts, juicy burgers and really good shakes.

This place is an excellent value, and 2 people can eat here for under $20.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Monarch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
golden, CO
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“great atmosphere, food soso and a bit dirty feel”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

good diner atmosphere, breakfast ok, fairly cheap, fun to see all the characters hanging around there, staff very friendly, some waitresses have been there forever, a slice of Americana

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank lovetoeatout25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cute little throw back diner”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We like to find "QLPs" (cute little places) and this place is really one. Looks like it's been here for 50 years or more while most everything else around has popped up in the past 20. Western size servings, good food, great prices and the feel of stepping back a little in time. Far from anything fancy, but if you want some huevos rancheros or corned beef hash and hash browns, I think you'll be happy. I believe only open for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjacobs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great plain food at a bargain price.”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Having just checked in to the neighbouring Howard Johnson motel, we wanted a meal nearby. Davies Chuck Waggon Diner was excellent - friendly service, good no-nonsense food at a bargain price. The liver, bacon and onions I had was great and a small supplement provided a delicious piece of pie for dessert. The cook (Davie ?) came out to check if everything was OK which it most definitely was. Highly recommended if you're passing by on I 70. We went back for breakfast the following morning.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Visitor65London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I grew up in that area and we ate there alot- food and service was alway great!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I grew up in that area and we ate there alot- food and service was alway great!!

Helpful?
Thank beckyg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davies Chuck Wagon Diner also viewed

 

Been to Davies Chuck Wagon Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing