We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pho, lousy music!”

Pho Hau Restaurant 2
Ranked #150 of 394 Restaurants in Lakewood
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Good Pho, lousy music!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

If you can tolerate the repetitive (and loud) elevator ABBA and Carpenters music from the 80s, you are in for a special treat.

I ordered the basic Pho Tai (#31) on the menu. It was served with ample side portions of parsley and basil, lime, jalepeno & soy sprouts.

The broth is very good, the meat came pink in the bowl which is how I like it. I do wish the quality of meat were a little better, or that they offered an organic Pho with organic/grass fed pho, (still searching), but for the price it was a very good meal and the beef was properly sliced. No alcoholic beverages here, but plenty of teas and smoothies. A surprise find in the King Soopers Green Mountain parking lot.

The condiments are kept clean and neatly placed on the table and the restaurant seemed to be spotless. There wasn't even dust on the ceiling this place is so clean. They obviously take pride. The only downside is the terribly loud music. It would be so much better if they could lower the volume and choose something different. The music just makes me want to eat and get out fast.

Worth a visit if you are in the area and craving Pho.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xajiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good pho”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I'm from West Coast and used to very good Vietnamese food. This is a decent representation. Iwill be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtzr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb Pho, generous with meat and seafood, spotless tables”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The pho here is fabulous, the best I've had in the Denver area. The staff are friendly, service is quick and everything is really, really clean. The portions are big as you would expect from a pho place but they are also very generous with the beef and seafood if you order non-veg.At $6.95 for the medium beef pho it's a great value. Have only had the pho (30+ times) so can not comment on the other dishes.

The strip-mall location and dining hall atmosphere probably take this place off the list for a special occasion or a fancy date, but for everything else it's golden.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mlalahoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best pho restaurants are always in strip malls”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

And Pho Hau is no exception. From the outside, it's an unassuming place you might overlook. I won't make that mistake again! This place has great pho and excellent friendly service in a squeaky clean setting. You can dine in or phone ahead for takeout. We had an early dinner on a snowy April evening and there was a steady flow of customers picking up their orders.

Husband had a noodle bowl that came with spring rolls--large and tasty. I had the meatball pho, and a medium sized bowl is big enough for dinner with leftovers for tomorrow's lunch. We also tried the fried tofu appetizer--very tasty and not greasy at all.

We absolutely will be back. So glad this place is in our neighborhood!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HotDogCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Super yummy soup”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is a great resteraunt to sit down and have a tasty bowl of soup or anything else off the menu. Their place is clean and the team is SUPER friendly. The service is fast and the food is hot. The price is just right. I also recommend getting the Boba shakes. I order it without whip- cream and it is to die for. I highly reommend visiting them!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pukefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Hau Restaurant 2 also viewed

 

Been to Pho Hau Restaurant 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing