We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mom and Pop Cuban”
Review of Frijoles Colorado

Frijoles Colorado
Ranked #7 of 394 Restaurants in Lakewood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mom and Pop Cuban”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

You wouldn't expect much from this place given the location, but don't let that fool you. It's a family operation and everything I tried was delicious. I had the special which was a chicken paella, tried the rice and black beans of a friend, the buttered flat bread, and a flaky pastry with a fruit filling. Everything was delicious and I'm looking forward to returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    21
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Frijoles Colorado is EXCELLENT”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I discovered Frijoles Colorado during the 2014 Five Points Jazz Festival - what a find! Friendly, professional staff served up expertly cooked meats and rices as well as lots of delicious sides. This was a booth at a festival and the service and food were first rate; I can't wait to visit the restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very decieving”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Ate here last night, food was out and served in less than five minutes. Flavorless pork, yuca was horrible I almost spit it out. My boyfriend got some kind of super thin over seasoned steak that tasted like rosemary and tyme. It was boiled or something. Everything was luke warm. No greeting when we walked in and kid at register was kinda clueless. I don't understand all the great reviews, this place was terrible. I even ordered their pork dish that was in 5280 magazine as the best, um don't think so! Sad that the black beans and rice was the best thing on our plates and they were super salty.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khc18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best lechon!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place! The restaurant itself is very small and on a strip mall, but don't be fooled by that, the food is delicious and the owner and his family are very friendly and make you feel like a friend. The lechon was fantastic. I will go back soon!

Helpful?
Thank tiroloco-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you love pork”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

If you love pork, you probably already know Cubans cook it best and this little gem of a Cuban cafe is a real treat. The menu is limited, but everything is wonderful with generous portions, but the home made desserts (grandma's recipes) are to die for. We had the flan and the tres leches cake, both were excellent. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frijoles Colorado also viewed

 

Been to Frijoles Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing