We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Currently under renovations, but location and staff fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Lakewood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Currently under renovations, but location and staff fantastic!”
Reviewed November 10, 2006

My seventy-three year old mother and I stayed at eight different hotels in fifteen nights, and almost all of them were fantastic (thanks in part to reading reviews from fellow travelers at TripAdvisor).

We stayed for four nights at the Holiday Inn Denver-Lakewood, starting on Tuesday, August 1st, 2006. In our reservations we had asked for a nice quiet room on the top floor, and that is what we received. We had Room 652 at the end of the hall on the top floor, which was nice. We had a medium sized room, and the first thing I noticed was the headboards for both of the beds were missing. This was no doubt part of the renovations we were told about when we arrived. The room also included a clock radio, a table with two "comfy" chairs, a bed ottoman, and a large television in a dusty cabinet with a remote. We found the selection of television stations to be quite limited for such a large city, with only a meager twenty channels to choose from. We also found the drapes did not close properly, and I had to use a safety pin to keep it closed at night. The room also had poor lighting, making it difficult to read the newspaper after dark.

The bathroom was also medium sized and had a night light, which we both liked. My mother also liked the fact that there was a handlebar in the shower so she could hold on to. The bathroom also had a sink, three sets of towels, a hairdryer in a bag behind the door, a bottle of shampoo, conditioner, and mouthwash, but no bathroom fan and the toilet was very noisy.

The staff was very friendly and helped us out quite a bit. When my mother needed a shower cap, I asked the man at the front desk, and he was happy to give me one. When I also asked for some extra drinking glasses, housekeeping arrived quickly. We also received two free beverage coupons and two free continental breakfast coupons per night during our stay.

The room key I was given was placed in a special sleeve that contained both a map of metropolitan Denver and the Downtown area. I thought this was fantastic and I put it to good use driving to the Zoo and downtown. Upon checkout, I asked if I could keep the map and was told I could!

We also liked the fact that the hotel was located across the street from a bank and two restaurants (Denny's and Old Chicago). This was perfect for exchanging our money, as well as for morning breakfast and evening dinner.

The hotel had an outdoor pool, which we could see from the window in our room. The lobby had a restaurant as well as a gift shop, a sitting area, and two elevators.

After taxes, the American Automobile Association room rate came to $82.94 U.S. Funds for each of the four nights we stayed. We ranked the Holiday Inn Denver-Lakewood around the middle, but we will be staying there again in September 2007 simply because of the great staff and the location. Hopefully the renovations will be complete and we look forward to seeing the new and improved hotel!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macmaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    97
    38
    11
    9
See reviews for
68
56
19
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
yuma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2006

Hotel is beautiful. Staff is knowledgable of area and gives good directions.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank xxdjmantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2006

Stayed here last week, and really enjoyed myself. The free breakfast was nice (didn't expect that at a full-service Holiday Inn) and the rooms were big. I had plenty of room in the bathroom, and that's a big plus. Hotel is a bit worn, but a few people in the bar were talking about a change in ownership, and the changes that will bring. Food was good, and room was clean. Bed was nice, so overall I'll be back when my travels take me into Lakewood again.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasper87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2004

The price is right, The room is nice, spacious, quiet, clean. The bed is very comfortable. Bring your own pillow because the pillows are very firm foam.

The free breakfast is really boring. Two years ago they used to offer a nice selection, but now the hot buffet offers scrambled eggs, potatoes, and cream of wheat. Any meat is extra. The food was tasteless. They also offer fruit, breads, cereal, and juice.

The staff is friendly, promptly help. Free shuttle service to places you want to go.

Wish they offered free high speed Internet in the room. I would switch hotels for free high speed service.

  • Stayed September 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CtheUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2003

We paid about $50.00 a night for 2 adults and l child and this included breakfast!!! We had 2 double beds and a very nice swim pool and hot tub. Altho it was a bit of a drive to downtown Denver, the hotel was comfortable, clean, staff was friendly and very cost effective. We''ll probably stay at the same hotel next time we visit Denver!

Helpful?
4 Thank vgrantatmetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakewood hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver - Southwest/Lakewood
0.2 mi away
Best Western Denver Southwest
4.0 mi away
Hyatt House Denver/Lakewood at Belmar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Denver Southwest Lakewood
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lakewood
Comfort Suites Lakewood
#10 of 27 in Lakewood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood

Property: Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood
Address: 7390 West Hampden at Wadsworth, Lakewood, CO 80227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Lakewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lakewood
#3 Green Hotel in Lakewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denver area hotel newly renovated in 2009 - all guestrooms and public areas are beautiful and inviting. Free wireless and hardwired internet throughout the hotel; computer access and services available in the large business center. Exercise room, whirlpool, sauna, outdoor pool and free local shuttle are enjoyed by business and leisure guests alike. Holiday Inn Lakewood is a short trip to downtown Denver via lightrail or just an hour from the Rocky Mountains. Ski Packages avail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood Hotel Lakewood
Holiday Inn Lakewood
Lakewood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing