We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtyard Denver SW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Lakewood
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Rooms need updating, but the room I had was large and also included a mini fridge. This, like most Courtyards, does not offer an included breakfast. Stayed for business, and would stay again, if it was close to my work.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
Thank ErinReisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENLKGM, General Manager at Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to provide your feedback. I am very pleased to inform you that we will undergo a renovation beginning in November 2012, which will include updating of the lobby, public areas, and guest rooms.

I also wanted to let you know about our breakfast rate. Many of our regular rates do have an option to include our full hot breakfast buffet.

Again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 141 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

The staff is super awesome, they all seem to follow what is call the "Fred Factor". If you don't know what that is google it. The location is pretty central between mountains and downtown Denver. There are a lot of places to eat that are close by. The Meeting room is very accomidating as are the sleeping rooms. I am exited to see the place after there remodel is done at the end of 2012. Keep up the great work guys and gals, you are awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room on the west side of the builing to see mountains. Rooms on the south sid...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENLKGM, General Manager at Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words! We all look forward to seeing you and hosting your groups each month - you have become part of our Courtyard Family. We truly appreciate your business and thank you so much for taking time to provide your feedback. We'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

The best part of this hotel is the staff. We stayed for 3 nights and everyone we met was very friendly and accommodating. The common areas, while not updated to the new Courtyard look, were in good shape with a small but pleasant buffet/sitting area and nicely maintained pool and hot tub.

The location is a bit odd. The hotel is situated right next to the highway (US 285) and yet at the same time "tucked" in the back of a dimly lit office complex which you have to drive through to get to the hotel. The area immediately around the hotel looks nicer during the day (which isn't saying much) and we never felt like it was an unsafe neighborhood, but the location certainly wasn't inviting.

We stayed in a King suite which was blandly painted, not updated and felt more like a motel than a Courtyard. The suite was basically two adjoining regular rooms with one of the rooms acting as a living room with a wet bar (sink, mini-fridge, and microwave) along the wall where you would expect to find the bathroom. The suite was very large, which of course was nice for the space, but it wasn't designed as a two room suite and it generally didn't make good use of the space. Since the bedroom was in the same room as the bathroom, this made for a very large living area and a relatively small bedroom.

The living area was huge and strangely it appeared as if they used the same amount of furniture (maybe one extra chair?) and decorations as you would expect in a regular size room. Also, oddly there was no coffee table... just a double ottoman. Considering the size of the room and the relative lack of furniture and decorations it just made it feel even more drab and motel-like.

The worst of it all, however, was the bathroom area which was split between the sink and the shower/toilet room. Not only was the sink counter outdated (a large counter with a small sink and small faucet) but the shower/toilet room was horrible. The metal frame to the door was rusted and the tile floor right outside the shower was cracked with scattered dark "moldy" stains. The subfloor had obviously been compromised as you could see the sag in the floor and it was "springy" when you stepped on it. I can only imagine that the bathroom below had water damage on the ceiling.

We mentioned this to the front desk and they said maintenance would have a look, but I doubt anything could have been done without taking the room out of service for at least a few days.

All in all, I give the hotel an average rating (3 circles) instead of a poor rating (2 circles) because I've certainly been in worse hotels/motels (although not worse Marriotts or Courtyards) and I doubt all the rooms had these same issues. Just keep in mind that, aside from the staff, this Courtyard is not up to Courtyard Marriott standards.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENLKGM, General Manager at Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to provide your feedback about your stay. I am glad to hear you had a good experience with my staff. I did want to address the other comments you made about your stay, beginning with the room you stayed in. There was, in fact, a problem with the sub-floor in the bathroom. This was addressed by putting in a new sub-floor, tile, and grout. Next, I wanted to let you know that in November 2012, we are scheduled for a renovation. The renovation will include the lobby upgrade to the new Bistro concept, public space updating, and guest room updating. We are very excited about it and cannot wait to show it off in early 2013.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

First let me say the staff does their absolute best to try to make up for the dilapidated hotel. We checked in late at night during a snow storm and the front desk attendant was very helpful. When we opened the door to our room we found an outdated, bare minimum room. The king bed was placed oddly in the room and the television was located at a 45 degree angle from the headboard, making it difficult for the person on the far side of the bed to see it.

Another update needed is the ac/heater. Old school window type that is not set on a thermostat so the loud fan is constantly running unless you want to freeze to death ... needless to say I got no sleep. This place is in desperate need of updates that should include new carpeting, beds, bedding, furniture and bathroom ... okay I guess maybe it would be cheaper to change the sign outside to a Motel 6 or 8.

The night we arrived Mike had told us the hours of breakfast, a continental or hot breakfast is always a nice perk ... or so we thought. After eating breakfast an attendant arrived with a bill, I'm sorry but had we known that we would have gone elsewhere and eaten a better breakfast for the same or better price.

Weekday rates are the same as what we could have stayed at a 4 star downtown for ... DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Different Hotel!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danno80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENLKGM, General Manager at Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thank you for taking time to fill out a review and provide us with your feedback. I felt really bad when I read your comments and wanted to apologize that your visit was not what you expected. I have already spoken with our front desk team to ensure we are explaining how our breakfast works at check in time. We do have several rates which include breakfast - I am really sorry this was not explained well at check in. Lastly, I am very happy and excited to let you know that we will begin our renovation in November 2012. The changes will include the new Courtyard Lobby concept called The Bistro; updates to the meeting room, public space, and guest rooms will also be included.

We really appreciate your feedback. Please contact me personally for your next stay for a complimentary upgrade and breakfast. Thank you very much and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Upon our arrival we were welcomed by the front desk clerk who sincerly made us feel at home. He offered to print off our boarding passes for our flight the next day and offered several choices for dinner that night. The room was very nicely appointed however the one negative were the size of the beds. If these were upgraded I would have given it an excellent rating.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redwingrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENLKGM, General Manager at Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a review - we really appreciate your comments. I'm very happy you had an overall good experience! We hope to see you again the next time you are in our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We really enjoyed having the big tub in the main room, which may seem oddly placed, but we really liked it. :) It was clean, and good value for the money, located well, and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENLKGM, General Manager at Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback and taking time to write a review. I am very pleased you had a good experience and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Kudos to Jessica Slater, General Manager. If leadership is 25% example, then all of the employees at that Marriott demonstrate superior customer service - much like the Ritz Carlton experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the small fridge. great for cooling soda and water.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENLKGM, General Manager at Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thank you so much for your comment. I really appreciate it! Our goal is to provide the best service possible, and I am glad we were successful in your case. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakewood hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver - Southwest/Lakewood
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Lakewood Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Denver Southwest/Lakewood
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Denver Southwest Lakewood
0.3 mi away
Best Western Denver Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood

Address: 7180 W Hampden Ave, Lakewood, CO 80227-5326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Lakewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Lakewood
Price Range: $103 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IT'S A NEW STAY! Courtyard Denver Southwest Lakewood has just completed a full renovation! Located just 20 minutes from Downtown Denver, our hotel features a state-of-the-art lobby providing greater flexibility with inviting media pod work spaces, free WiFi and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our touch-screen GoBoard(R). Among the best hotels in Lakewood, the Courtyard Lakewood features The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect(R) which provides guests with healthy food & beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with a selection of wine & craft beers. Each spacious guestroom offers Marriott luxury bedding, large workspace with ergonomic chair, flat-screen TV and free WiFi! When visiting Denver for leisure, enjoy nearby attractions like Red Rocks Amphitheater, Coors Field and Elitch Gardens. Business travelers appreciate our convenient location near Denver Federal Center, Lockheed Martin and Academy Park Business Center, putting us at the top of hotels in Lakewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Denver Southwest/Lakewood Hotel Lakewood
Courtyard Lakewood
Lakewood Courtyard
Lakewood Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing