We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel in a wonderful small mountain city”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Mountain Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake City
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great motel in a wonderful small mountain city”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location of a quaint motel in a small city in the mountains.

A one block walk takes you to the center of town. Bars, restaurants, shops, bakery and coffee houses are all walking distance.

Clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and very accommodating.

Hot tub for post hiking of fishing relaxation. We used the grill for making elk burgers and elk brats

This is our second year at the Matterhorn. We hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    25
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
42
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

There aren't many lodging options available in winter in Lake City. "Perfectly acceptable" isn't exactly an overly glowing endorsement but that's what the Matterhorn is....it's perfectly acceptable. Considering supply and demand we were happy to just be able to find a place to stay in Lake City in March...if the price had been slightly less we might have stayed longer. While not fancy, for the price the Matterhorn is perfectly acceptable. Of note, the Matterhorn was one of only two places advertised as being open in winter that returned my email and phone calls...so I give them an "excellent" in terms of service.

Room Tip: They do allow small pets in some, but not all of the rooms...be certain to ask when making reservati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bogateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. I had two great nights of sleep. The bed was so comfortable. The people who run the place were really nice. It is quiet and peaceful in one of the most beautiful settings I have ever been in. There is a small kitchen in the room that made it perfect for us, as we were traveling with our grandson. While we were there some people who had checked out left a huge carrier bag in the parking area. The manager called all the numbers for the people who left the bag and left messages. I met them when they came back to get their bag. ! They had thousands of dollars in hunting gear in their bag.
We went hiking here and met some wonderful people in this town. We were directed to the best restaurants and some of the loveliest views. Could not have had a nicer experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 225JenniferS225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colona, co
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The few days I spent in Lake City over the holidays were COLD with night temps reaching down to 15 below zero. The Matterhorn was warm, clean, comfortable and friendly which means a lot when the weather is so intense. Great location, great views. Altogether a charming stay. I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates quality and good service.

Room Tip: The cabins are rel nice but all the rooms are of quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydcaesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Manager extremely, extremely rude and unaccommodating. I drove my quiet street legal ATV up to my room at 9am for two minutes to load a cooler that was too heavy to lug the full block where I had parked it overnight. The manager came out screaming and yelling like a deranged fishwife that I had broken the rules and she was calling the police. She didn’t seem to mind the loud Harley’s that started up at 6am and could be heard for three blocks. Our room was not cleaned or made up after the first night. The tiny bathroom had no counter space and the tv was small and old. No restaurant within walking distance. There are several nicer, more friendly places to stay in Lake City for less money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BoydPLeesburg_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matterhornmountain, Owner at Matterhorn Mountain Motel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
The Matterhorn has a strict policy in place that does not allow ATV's to be removed from trailers while on the property. This policy is clearly stated in our confirmation. This guest was approached in a professional manner by my manager to remind him that he could not ride the ATV in the parking lot and he verbally assaulted her to the point where I did, in fact, consider calling our sheriff. We asked the guest to leave instead. There is a town ordinance in place in Lake City which prohibits ATV's from being operated within town limits and there are signs posted by the Town. There are two ATV staging areas on the Alpine Loop where you may park your trailers and ride until your heart's content in our beautiful backcountry, but we will continue to abide by Town ordinances at the Matterhorn.
T. Morrow, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Matterhorn Mountain Lodge for a quick getaway to Lake City and we absolutely loved it!

The lady who checked us in was very nice and offered to help us find hiking trails, restaurants, etc.

The room was VERY nice - a small kitchen, a huge and COMFY King Size bed, a somewhat small bathroom. There were also lawn chairs outside of our room where we sat in the evening looking at the beautiful mountain views and stars.

The lodge was very easy to find and very close to the downtown historic area.

I definitely reccommend it to anyone looking to stay in Lake City. Staying here made our trip great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexisDorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is an old 50s style motel with small rooms but well kept and with excellent service. Kitchenette with pots and dishes. Walking distance to town. We stayed for a week - a couple and a single sharing one room. Would recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BobPNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake City
19.3 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
153 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
902 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#1 of 7 in Silverton
59 reviews
19.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 15 in Ouray
232 reviews
19.5 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#13 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Mountain Motel

Property: Matterhorn Mountain Motel
Address: 409 Bluff Street, Lake City, CO 81235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Lake City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matterhorn Mountain Motel & Cabins is located in the heart of Lake City's historic district, walking distance to restaurants, coffee shops, retail shops, arts center, parks, Henson Creek and Lake Fork of the Gunnison River. Wilderness begins behind motel, frequent wildlife sightings. Updated, clean & comfortable rooms. Queen or king beds, kitchenettes. Non-smoking property. Pet-friendly (accept dogs under 35 lbs in pet-friendly room only). Amenities include hot tub, wifi, flat screen TV, coffee service, hair dryers. Reservations recommended. Accommodating Lake City visitors since 1949. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Mountain Hotel Lake City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing