We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place for quiet, family vacation.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oleo Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oleo Ranch
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for quiet, family vacation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just returned home--begrudgingly--from our second family trip to Oleo. If you are looking for simple living, peace, quiet, and perfect place to fish, hike, relax and enjoy your family, this is it. No frills, but great folks.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tdigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

My family comes up to Oleo Ranch every year in September. I look forward to this every year and count down the days starting in January! The cabins are just so fun. I love that there isn't electricity (it is all gas lamps, gas stove, and fridge) and a full functioning bathroom!! Our family gets quality time because there isn't electricity. It is awesome getting to see the wildlife that lives around there. I would recommend this place to anyone, it is so peaceful and relaxing and good for the soul!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have been to Oleo Ranch for the last 4 years and we love every minute of it. The cabins are fabulous, the animals wonderous, the fishing is great, the air is cool, and the views are magnificent. It is also very handy to many fishing holes we like. Keep up the good work Oleo.This is exactly what is needed to get away from city life!

Room Tip: Any cabin will suit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, OK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We visited Oleo Ranch for the first time in Aug. 2011. It was probably the best cabin experience we've ever had. Unlike many of the area cabins, the ones at Oleo are situated far apart from each other, with at least four of them secluded among the trees. The one we stayed in, The Aspens, was a cozy two-room cabin with a deck that, while well shaded by the birch and spruce trees, provided an outstanding view of the mountains to the East. We may have spent as much time on the deck (hot cup of coffee on hand in the morning, cold beer in the evening) as we did inside the cabin itself.

The staff was very helpful. We arrived a few hours earlier than the scheduled check-in, but after a short wait, they had our cabin cleaned, stocked, and ready for us. This included all the dishes, cooking utensils, flatware, dish washing supplies, linens (to include extra blankets, if needed) and towels and such for the bathroom. The only thing we actually needed to bring on our own was the food. There is even a gas-powered grill on the deck which we used regularly. As a side note, the first time we opened the grill, one of the local critters had decided to make himself at home inside, using part of a mop head for his bedding. We told the folks that run the place about it and they took care of the issue when we were out sight-seeing. They checked daily to see that our firewood supply was fully stocked too.

The cabins are very well built, especially compared to many of the other cabins available for rent in the area. Each one is equipped with either a fire place or a wood-burning stove. The thin air can make it a little tricky to get a fire going, considering you're at about 10,000' altitude, but we managed to get one going every evening (adjust the damper folks; it's not rocket science). There is also a central gas heater in the cabin, but it can get a little warm if used in conjunction with the fireplace.

This was, by far, one of our best experiences in Colorado. We've already reserved a cabin for the end of this summer. It's no five-star hotel, but it was never intended to be. It's EXACTLY what we were looking for when we wanted to escape modern-day civilization for a few days, and we did so quite comfortably.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband & I spent two lovely vacations at Oleo Ranch in 2 different cabins - The Aspen and The Alabama. Our first trip we were a bit surprised by the remoteness, but we were immediately charmed by the ambiance of the facility. The lighting, heating, cooking, everything is run on propane gas, but the cabins are comfortable, clean, well accommodated and set well apart from each other for privacy. You just need to expect to be totally off the grid - no cell phone/internet/television. An excellent separation from the anxiety producing demons of life.
Both of our trips included our multiple large dogs. While the deposit was high, it was fully refunded both times after they found we had left the cabins in good order & undamaged. Unfortunately this has apparently not been the case with all of their guests and the ranch no longer allows pets.
If you are looking for luxury cabins, this is not the place. But if you are after a true get away from all of life's stressors, you will love Oleo Ranch.
Our trips were in the fall of 2009 & 2010 but the travel dates choices do not include those years.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJR0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at Oleo Ranch for the first time last year in August. We were very impressed with our cabin it was equipped with everything you needed except food and clothes. The gas lights worked great at night. Ronnie was great to assist and help with our stay. It was so nice to see wild life and just have family time it was okay not have phone service or tv just good quality family time. You can always go to Lake City to have cell service if you need it. We are going back to stay with friends in June this year and can't wait. I would encourage and recommend
Oleo Ranch for a great family vacation.
Ulmer's
Midland Texas

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellye U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed at Oleo in 2010 ano the are headed back this summer. My husband has been going to the Creede/Lake City area since 1969 and as a family, we have continued on.
Oleo is stunning to stay the least. The cabin we rented then and again this year is big, beautiful and inviting. Wildlife is all around and the scenery is breathtaking. The caretakers are there if you need them but won't intrude on your trip. Clean, comfortable and I can't say enough, BEAUTIFUL!!!!! Thank you Oleo Ranch!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFBSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oleo Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oleo Ranch

Property: Oleo Ranch
Address: County Road 17, Lake City, CO 81235
Location: United States > Colorado > Lake City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lake City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oleo Ranch is 18 miles from Lake City on the backside of Slumgullion Pass. Basically we are between the start of Slum pass and Spring Creek pass in Quite Valley. You can Google Map Oleo Ranch and see our location. At 10,500 feet the ranch is located in a remote part of southwest Colorado (between Creede and Lake City) and surrounded by some of the most beautiful scenery the Rocky Mountains have to offer. It is secluded, offers privacy, and breathtaking views with comfortable accommodations. It’s built overlooking a beautiful valley. The cabins water is drawn directly out of the mountain it’s built upon. Propane gas runs appliances, lights and heats water for the kitchen and bathroom. Electricity is neither needed nor available, and we do enforce a no generator policy. Anything which needs to be plugged in will not be of use and you will not miss the electricity. You are truly "off the grid" at this cabin, and your mind and body will thank you for it. Don't worry, technology, electricity, restaurants and other conveniences are just a short beautiful drive over Slumgullion Pass into Lake City if need be. The cabins are pet friendly as well. Recreational activities around the ranch include miles and miles of scenic trails for mountain hiking/climbing, photography, fishing, or just relaxing. Moose and Elk are often seen and several kinds of hummingbirds are always around the feeders. The colorful wildflowers in summer, the wind blowing through the Aspens, and the spectacular fall foliage are nature at its best. Five stocked ponds and 1.5 miles of streams provide guests with private fishing, so beginners to avid fly fishermen will have ample opportunity to wet their lines. Peace and quiet is not something you have to seek out... the wind blowing through the Aspens will be the only thing you'll hear while reading your book on the deck. There is zero light pollution at night so stargazing is one of the most incredible things you will ever witness. Also, look no further than the area to escape the heat of the summer. Even in the dog days of summer, the average temperature during the day is 70 and nights can drop below freezing. Day trip opportunities "off the ranch" are abundant- anything from climbing one of the seven area 14K mountains, fishing the Rio Grande river, hiking the Continental Divide Trail, renting a jeep in Lake City and driving over Engineer Pass, as well as something as simple as having an ice cream cone, sitting on a Lake City bench. There is so much to see and do in one of the most beautiful areas of the Rockies. Thank you for taking a look at Oleo Ranch and we hope to see you there soon enjoying the simple life! ***There is no cell or internet which allows you to totally relax and not worry about looking at your phone 100 times a day. Reading a book becomes possible again. It is an amazing feeling for sure*** Location: Oleo is located off of Highway 149 north of Creede between mile marker 56 and 57. The entrance will be before the start of Slumgullion Pass and Rambouillet Creek. As you turn in you will need to drive a mile or so before you will see the ranch. You will see the Oleo Ranch sign from the highway. Miles From: Lake City, CO – 18 Creede, CO – 36 Gunnison, CO – 72 Denver, CO – 272 Albuquerque, NM – 303 Weather: Average temps are around 70 day and 30 at night. Short rain storms can roll in almost every day, but it is usually just a quick storm Altitude: Oleo is at 10,500 feet. It may take a day to get acclimated to the altitude. Try to drink plenty of water before coming up and continue when at the ranch. Also water boils at a lower temperature at this altitude compared to sea level. This can alter cooking times for some dishes (pasta) Electricity: There is no electricity at the ranch. Everything runs off of propane. Each cabin has a full stove with 4 cook top burners, a refrigerator (not full size), and hot water Water: The water for the ranch comes directly from a mountain spring and is tested each year Hot water: Each cabin has a standard water heater, just like you find in most homes TV/Internet/Cell Phones: None of these items can work off of propane (thankfully) so no to all Generators: we do not allow generators to be run at any time. This is to keep the noise down Lights: The lights work off of propane and are turned on by a lever and using a match. Very simple operation. If you plan on reading at night you should bring a book light Heater: There is a wall heater in each cabin, but the cabins retain heat well and you may not need the heater Kitchen: The kitchen has a stove, refrigerator, and full size sink Utensils, pots/pans, glasses and dishes: Each cabin has everything you need. You may want to bring some sturdy paper plates as it is all hand washing/drying Bathroom: The bathrooms have walk in showers, sink and a toilet Bath and dish towels, paper towels, and toilet paper: all are provided Cleaning supplies: dishwashing soap, garbage bags are provided Coffee: Coffee is brewed using a percolator. Fireplace and wood: each cabin has a fireplace and there will be wood provided on your deck. If splitting is needed, each cabin will have an ax and chopping block Dogs: Dogs are allowed. Please see below for policies • $25 per dog, per stay fee, with a $100 damage deposit per dog, at time of check-in. Deposit check will be destroyed after cabin is cleaned, if no damage occurs. Food: You will need to bring in all your food. Access to the nearest grocery stores is Lake City (17 miles) and Creede (36 miles). There is a small store at Freemons Ranch (over Spring Creek pass on the way to Creede) as well, but not a large selection. Grocery stores: Alamosa will have a couple large grocery stores with good prices. Also pick up your beer, wine and liquor there. If not, Creede will have a grocery store, but a bit higher prices and a more limited choice. Lake City has a grocery store as well, but with the same situation as Creede Grills: Each cabin has a gas grill on the deck How does food stay cool: There is a fridge in each cabin, but it is smaller than normal. If your stay is only a couple days you will be just fine. If you have a big party and staying longer, then we suggest bringing in some coolers and ice. The ice will stay frozen if the coolers are kept outside Good Meals: Pretty much everything will taste good up there, but here are a few suggestions that always seem to work well Breakfast – eggs, sausage, blueberry pancakes, cereal, etc. Lunch – sandwiches, etc. Dinner – steaks, grilled chicken, spaghetti, baked potatoes, chili, corn bread, etc. Food taste pretty darn good up there so plenty of options. Suggested Clothes: normal cool weather clothes. Bring some rain gear as well. It can get very cold in evenings and will be in morning. Expect 30’s even in July. Bring some mud boots if you plan to fly fish in river. Other suggested items: batteries, flash light, binoculars, camera, lightweight fishing gear, sunscreen, lip balm, books and magazines. Without the internet it is possible to finish a book so bring that one you been planning on reading for some time now. Fishing on the Ranch: There are 5 ponds on the ranch that will provide great fishing by either using a fly rod or a basic rod/reel set up. There is a worm farm by the old corral next to the Willows cabin, if you choose to use a hook. We urge “catch and release” but keeping a few for dinner is always ok. Fly or spin fishing is also available in the small Cebolla Creek that runs through the ranch. Many streams and lakes are in the area nearby as well. ATV’s: We do not allow ATV’s to be driven on the ranch property. You can park your trailer in the barn area, and trailer them to the many trailheads in the area. Manager Info: We have an onsite manager who is a retired fire fighter out of CA. He knows this area like the back of his hand. He is there to help if you need anything, but you won’t see him if you don't. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing