We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“My kind of "roughing it"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oleo Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oleo Ranch
Willis, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My kind of "roughing it"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband & I spent two lovely vacations at Oleo Ranch in 2 different cabins - The Aspen and The Alabama. Our first trip we were a bit surprised by the remoteness, but we were immediately charmed by the ambiance of the facility. The lighting, heating, cooking, everything is run on propane gas, but the cabins are comfortable, clean, well accommodated and set well apart from each other for privacy. You just need to expect to be totally off the grid - no cell phone/internet/television. An excellent separation from the anxiety producing demons of life.
Both of our trips included our multiple large dogs. While the deposit was high, it was fully refunded both times after they found we had left the cabins in good order & undamaged. Unfortunately this has apparently not been the case with all of their guests and the ranch no longer allows pets.
If you are looking for luxury cabins, this is not the place. But if you are after a true get away from all of life's stressors, you will love Oleo Ranch.
Our trips were in the fall of 2009 & 2010 but the travel dates choices do not include those years.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJR0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at Oleo Ranch for the first time last year in August. We were very impressed with our cabin it was equipped with everything you needed except food and clothes. The gas lights worked great at night. Ronnie was great to assist and help with our stay. It was so nice to see wild life and just have family time it was okay not have phone service or tv just good quality family time. You can always go to Lake City to have cell service if you need it. We are going back to stay with friends in June this year and can't wait. I would encourage and recommend
Oleo Ranch for a great family vacation.
Ulmer's
Midland Texas

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellye U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed at Oleo in 2010 ano the are headed back this summer. My husband has been going to the Creede/Lake City area since 1969 and as a family, we have continued on.
Oleo is stunning to stay the least. The cabin we rented then and again this year is big, beautiful and inviting. Wildlife is all around and the scenery is breathtaking. The caretakers are there if you need them but won't intrude on your trip. Clean, comfortable and I can't say enough, BEAUTIFUL!!!!! Thank you Oleo Ranch!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFBSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexia, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

My family consist of 6 adults and 4 children. We love this place. Cabin is very roomy with good fridge, stove, oven and plenty of hot water. It is rustic with a huge fireplace. Deck goes all the way around the cabin and you can sit and drink coffe on the deck and view wildlife. Propane lites are adequate. bedrooms are big enough and comfortable. It is a wonderful getaway not really roughing but enough to make you feel that you have stepped back in time. Saw lots of wildlife and caught lots of fish. Will go back as long as I am able.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joe6912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Wow, my family (I have 8 children) have been here numerous times, except it is so popular it is hard to get reservations unless made 6 months in advance. I am writing this review after reading the First Review posted, which must have been written by someone who has lived in Dallas all their life, and has no appreciation for God's creation. Yes, no electricity and no cell service - Like I say AWESOME!! Oleo is on Cieblo Creek and on the Continential Divide. If you like nature, you will see wildlife everywhere, including Moose, and a Billion Stars in the Sky at night. You are renting a cabin, (large, roomy,rustic), you are not at resort. Neat Freaks and Country Club snobs should avoid. Excellent trout fishing, and fun times abound from Lake City to Creede and everywhere in between.

Room Tip: Staff are caretakers, not servants to wait on you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ROCKYMTNHIGH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

The area surrounding the Oleo Ranch is beautiful. Lots of wildlife and gorgeous mountains. The staff that runs it, the service, and the accommodations were horrible. We had a group of five and none of us would ever return even if they paid us to come back. To start with, you can't use the indoor fireplace because the smoke stays in the cabin. 2 of our guests couldn't use the beds upstairs because of smoke inhalation and had to sleep on the floor. There is no electricity so everything runs off of propane and to make it worse the propane lighting system doesn't work correctly so we had to sometimes use flashlights and candles to see. The refrigerator is about half the size of a normal fridge, so you really got to plan out what you want to keep cold. They advertise it as "A Poor Man's Spread" (that is literally the sign when you enter) and that is actually giving it more credit than it is due. The beds are like boards and the blankets (not even comforters) are 100% polyester that feels like plastic on your skin. Plus you only get one blanket per bed. Our cabin (the large "Loft") only had one propane heater that wouldn't stay lit, so the cabin was very cold and we were only provided with one polyester blanket per bed. The staff is very backwoods and non-friendly. We seriously felt like we were in the movie "Deliverence". They allow animals but you can tell they don't like them being there. When we drove into Lake City (which is a cool little town about 20 minutes away) and mentioned to the locals that we were staying at the Oleo Ranch, we found out that it is known as a real hole in the wall spot. Lastly, we cleaned our cabin thoroughly when we departed, it was immaculate and much cleaner than when we received it. Sorry for all the negative vibes but to be honest that is exactly what we got from staying there and would never ever go back. If you want a nice, relaxing, enjoyable get away in the mountains....I would look for another spot.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tclifton55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oleo Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oleo Ranch

Property: Oleo Ranch
Address: County Road 17, Lake City, CO 81235
Location: United States > Colorado > Lake City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Lake City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oleo Ranch is 18 miles from Lake City on the backside of Slumgullion Pass. Basically we are between the start of Slum pass and Spring Creek pass in Quite Valley. You can Google Map Oleo Ranch and see our location. At 10,500 feet the ranch is located in a remote part of southwest Colorado (between Creede and Lake City) and surrounded by some of the most beautiful scenery the Rocky Mountains have to offer. It is secluded, offers privacy, and breathtaking views with comfortable accommodations. It’s built overlooking a beautiful valley. The cabins water is drawn directly out of the mountain it’s built upon. Propane gas runs appliances, lights and heats water for the kitchen and bathroom. Electricity is neither needed nor available, and we do enforce a no generator policy. Anything which needs to be plugged in will not be of use and you will not miss the electricity. You are truly "off the grid" at this cabin, and your mind and body will thank you for it. Don't worry, technology, electricity, restaurants and other conveniences are just a short beautiful drive over Slumgullion Pass into Lake City if need be. The cabins are pet friendly as well. Recreational activities around the ranch include miles and miles of scenic trails for mountain hiking/climbing, photography, fishing, or just relaxing. Moose and Elk are often seen and several kinds of hummingbirds are always around the feeders. The colorful wildflowers in summer, the wind blowing through the Aspens, and the spectacular fall foliage are nature at its best. Five stocked ponds and 1.5 miles of streams provide guests with private fishing, so beginners to avid fly fishermen will have ample opportunity to wet their lines. Peace and quiet is not something you have to seek out... the wind blowing through the Aspens will be the only thing you'll hear while reading your book on the deck. There is zero light pollution at night so stargazing is one of the most incredible things you will ever witness. Also, look no further than the area to escape the heat of the summer. Even in the dog days of summer, the average temperature during the day is 70 and nights can drop below freezing. Day trip opportunities "off the ranch" are abundant- anything from climbing one of the seven area 14K mountains, fishing the Rio Grande river, hiking the Continental Divide Trail, renting a jeep in Lake City and driving over Engineer Pass, as well as something as simple as having an ice cream cone, sitting on a Lake City bench. There is so much to see and do in one of the most beautiful areas of the Rockies. Thank you for taking a look at Oleo Ranch and we hope to see you there soon enjoying the simple life! ***There is no cell or internet which allows you to totally relax and not worry about looking at your phone 100 times a day. Reading a book becomes possible again. It is an amazing feeling for sure*** Location: Oleo is located off of Highway 149 north of Creede between mile marker 56 and 57. The entrance will be before the start of Slumgullion Pass and Rambouillet Creek. As you turn in you will need to drive a mile or so before you will see the ranch. You will see the Oleo Ranch sign from the highway. Miles From: Lake City, CO – 18 Creede, CO – 36 Gunnison, CO – 72 Denver, CO – 272 Albuquerque, NM – 303 Weather: Average temps are around 70 day and 30 at night. Short rain storms can roll in almost every day, but it is usually just a quick storm Altitude: Oleo is at 10,500 feet. It may take a day to get acclimated to the altitude. Try to drink plenty of water before coming up and continue when at the ranch. Also water boils at a lower temperature at this altitude compared to sea level. This can alter cooking times for some dishes (pasta) Electricity: There is no electricity at the ranch. Everything runs off of propane. Each cabin has a full stove with 4 cook top burners, a refrigerator (not full size), and hot water Water: The water for the ranch comes directly from a mountain spring and is tested each year Hot water: Each cabin has a standard water heater, just like you find in most homes TV/Internet/Cell Phones: None of these items can work off of propane (thankfully) so no to all Generators: we do not allow generators to be run at any time. This is to keep the noise down Lights: The lights work off of propane and are turned on by a lever and using a match. Very simple operation. If you plan on reading at night you should bring a book light Heater: There is a wall heater in each cabin, but the cabins retain heat well and you may not need the heater Kitchen: The kitchen has a stove, refrigerator, and full size sink Utensils, pots/pans, glasses and dishes: Each cabin has everything you need. You may want to bring some sturdy paper plates as it is all hand washing/drying Bathroom: The bathrooms have walk in showers, sink and a toilet Bath and dish towels, paper towels, and toilet paper: all are provided Cleaning supplies: dishwashing soap, garbage bags are provided Coffee: Coffee is brewed using a percolator. Fireplace and wood: each cabin has a fireplace and there will be wood provided on your deck. If splitting is needed, each cabin will have an ax and chopping block Dogs: Dogs are allowed. Please see below for policies • $25 per dog, per stay fee, with a $100 damage deposit per dog, at time of check-in. Deposit check will be destroyed after cabin is cleaned, if no damage occurs. Food: You will need to bring in all your food. Access to the nearest grocery stores is Lake City (17 miles) and Creede (36 miles). There is a small store at Freemons Ranch (over Spring Creek pass on the way to Creede) as well, but not a large selection. Grocery stores: Alamosa will have a couple large grocery stores with good prices. Also pick up your beer, wine and liquor there. If not, Creede will have a grocery store, but a bit higher prices and a more limited choice. Lake City has a grocery store as well, but with the same situation as Creede Grills: Each cabin has a gas grill on the deck How does food stay cool: There is a fridge in each cabin, but it is smaller than normal. If your stay is only a couple days you will be just fine. If you have a big party and staying longer, then we suggest bringing in some coolers and ice. The ice will stay frozen if the coolers are kept outside Good Meals: Pretty much everything will taste good up there, but here are a few suggestions that always seem to work well Breakfast – eggs, sausage, blueberry pancakes, cereal, etc. Lunch – sandwiches, etc. Dinner – steaks, grilled chicken, spaghetti, baked potatoes, chili, corn bread, etc. Food taste pretty darn good up there so plenty of options. Suggested Clothes: normal cool weather clothes. Bring some rain gear as well. It can get very cold in evenings and will be in morning. Expect 30’s even in July. Bring some mud boots if you plan to fly fish in river. Other suggested items: batteries, flash light, binoculars, camera, lightweight fishing gear, sunscreen, lip balm, books and magazines. Without the internet it is possible to finish a book so bring that one you been planning on reading for some time now. Fishing on the Ranch: There are 5 ponds on the ranch that will provide great fishing by either using a fly rod or a basic rod/reel set up. There is a worm farm by the old corral next to the Willows cabin, if you choose to use a hook. We urge “catch and release” but keeping a few for dinner is always ok. Fly or spin fishing is also available in the small Cebolla Creek that runs through the ranch. Many streams and lakes are in the area nearby as well. ATV’s: We do not allow ATV’s to be driven on the ranch property. You can park your trailer in the barn area, and trailer them to the many trailheads in the area. Manager Info: We have an onsite manager who is a retired fire fighter out of CA. He knows this area like the back of his hand. He is there to help if you need anything, but you won’t see him if you don't. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing