We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Vacation at Oleo Ranch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oleo Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oleo Ranch
Save
You added Oleo Ranch to your Saves list
Midland, Texas
1 review
“Vacation at Oleo Ranch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at Oleo Ranch for the first time last year in August. We were very impressed with our cabin it was equipped with everything you needed except food and clothes. The gas lights worked great at night. Ronnie was great to assist and help with our stay. It was so nice to see wild life and just have family time it was okay not have phone service or tv just good quality family time. You can always go to Lake City to have cell service if you need it. We are going back to stay with friends in June this year and can't wait. I would encourage and recommend
Oleo Ranch for a great family vacation.
Ulmer's
Midland Texas

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellye U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed at Oleo in 2010 ano the are headed back this summer. My husband has been going to the Creede/Lake City area since 1969 and as a family, we have continued on.
Oleo is stunning to stay the least. The cabin we rented then and again this year is big, beautiful and inviting. Wildlife is all around and the scenery is breathtaking. The caretakers are there if you need them but won't intrude on your trip. Clean, comfortable and I can't say enough, BEAUTIFUL!!!!! Thank you Oleo Ranch!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFBSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexia, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My family consist of 6 adults and 4 children. We love this place. Cabin is very roomy with good fridge, stove, oven and plenty of hot water. It is rustic with a huge fireplace. Deck goes all the way around the cabin and you can sit and drink coffe on the deck and view wildlife. Propane lites are adequate. bedrooms are big enough and comfortable. It is a wonderful getaway not really roughing but enough to make you feel that you have stepped back in time. Saw lots of wildlife and caught lots of fish. Will go back as long as I am able.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joe6912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Wow, my family (I have 8 children) have been here numerous times, except it is so popular it is hard to get reservations unless made 6 months in advance. I am writing this review after reading the First Review posted, which must have been written by someone who has lived in Dallas all their life, and has no appreciation for God's creation. Yes, no electricity and no cell service - Like I say AWESOME!! Oleo is on Cieblo Creek and on the Continential Divide. If you like nature, you will see wildlife everywhere, including Moose, and a Billion Stars in the Sky at night. You are renting a cabin, (large, roomy,rustic), you are not at resort. Neat Freaks and Country Club snobs should avoid. Excellent trout fishing, and fun times abound from Lake City to Creede and everywhere in between.

Room Tip: Staff are caretakers, not servants to wait on you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ROCKYMTNHIGH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

The area surrounding the Oleo Ranch is beautiful. Lots of wildlife and gorgeous mountains. The staff that runs it, the service, and the accommodations were horrible. We had a group of five and none of us would ever return even if they paid us to come back. To start with, you can't use the indoor fireplace because the smoke stays in the cabin. 2 of our guests couldn't use the beds upstairs because of smoke inhalation and had to sleep on the floor. There is no electricity so everything runs off of propane and to make it worse the propane lighting system doesn't work correctly so we had to sometimes use flashlights and candles to see. The refrigerator is about half the size of a normal fridge, so you really got to plan out what you want to keep cold. They advertise it as "A Poor Man's Spread" (that is literally the sign when you enter) and that is actually giving it more credit than it is due. The beds are like boards and the blankets (not even comforters) are 100% polyester that feels like plastic on your skin. Plus you only get one blanket per bed. Our cabin (the large "Loft") only had one propane heater that wouldn't stay lit, so the cabin was very cold and we were only provided with one polyester blanket per bed. The staff is very backwoods and non-friendly. We seriously felt like we were in the movie "Deliverence". They allow animals but you can tell they don't like them being there. When we drove into Lake City (which is a cool little town about 20 minutes away) and mentioned to the locals that we were staying at the Oleo Ranch, we found out that it is known as a real hole in the wall spot. Lastly, we cleaned our cabin thoroughly when we departed, it was immaculate and much cleaner than when we received it. Sorry for all the negative vibes but to be honest that is exactly what we got from staying there and would never ever go back. If you want a nice, relaxing, enjoyable get away in the mountains....I would look for another spot.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tclifton55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oleo Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oleo Ranch

Property: Oleo Ranch
Address: County Road 17, Lake City, CO 81235
Location: United States > Colorado > Lake City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lake City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 10,500 feet, Oleo Guest Ranch offers rustic Colorado vacation cabin rentals. The mountain cabins are located in a remote part of southwest Colorado (between Creede and Lake City) and are surrounded by some of the most beautiful scenery the Rocky Mountains have to offer. Each secluded mountain cabin offers privacy and breathtaking views with comfortable accommodations. The remote and secluded cabins are all built overlooking a beautiful valley. The ranch's water is drawn directly out of the mountain the cabins are built upon. Propane gas runs appliances, lights and heats water for the kitchens and bathrooms. Electricity is neither needed nor available, and we do enforce a no generator policy. Anything which needs to be plugged in will not be of use at Oleo. You will not miss the electricity. You are truly "off the grid" at this ranch, and your mind and body will thank you for it. Don't worry, technology, electricity, restaurants and other conveniences are just a short beautiful drive over Slumgullion Pass into Lake City if need be. The cabins are pet friendly as well. Recreational activities at Oleo include miles and miles of scenic trails for mountain hiking/climbing, photography, fishing, or just relaxing. Moose and Elk are often seen and several kinds of hummingbirds are always around the many cabin feeders. The colorful wildflowers in summer, the wind blowing through the aspens, and the spectacular fall foliage are nature at its best. Five stocked ponds and 1.5 miles of streams provide guests with private fishing, so beginners to avid fly fishermen will have ample opportunity to wet their lines. Peace and quiet is not something you have to seek out at Oleo... the wind blowing through the aspens will be the only thing you'll hear while reading your book on the deck. There is zero light pollution at night so stargazing is one of the most incredible things you will ever witness. Also, look no further than Oleo to escape the heat of the summer. Even in the dog days of summer, the average temperature during the day is 70 and nights can drop below freezing. Day trip opportunities "off the ranch" are abundant- anything from climbing one of the seven 14K mountains, fishing the Rio Grande river, hiking the Continental Divide Trail, renting a jeep in Lake City and driving over Engineer Pass, as well as something as simple as having an ice cream cone, sitting on a Lake City bench. There is so much to see and do in one of the most beautiful areas of the Rockies. Thank you for taking a look at Oleo. We hope to see you there soon enjoying the simple life! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing