We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious”
Review of Alpine Moose Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Moose Lodge
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Clean and spacious”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Although we found the price to be a bit steep for winter rates in Lake City ($90 which includes pet fee), the room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The room even had vaulted ceilings. It was the only hotel in Lake City that was open and pet friendly - not much is open during the winter since it's primarily a summer destination. The room we were in had a flat screen TV with HDMI/USB port, 2 queen beds, stove, hot pot, sink, microwave, full bath. No fridge however. If you need a hairdryer ask to borrow it at the desk. The room was slow to heat up but Bruno, owner/chef, graciously provided us with a space heater and the room quickly heated up. The hotel also has a restaurant where Bruno is the chef and while we did not eat there, we heard from the locals that the food is phenomenal but very $$. The hotel is located up on a hill just a 1-minute drive from the main strip (off of Rte 149). We ate at the Packer Saloon (food was very good), Mocha Moose Coffee shop for bkft which happened to be the only shop open at 8am! We found the small town of Lake City to be very quaint, aesthetic, and friendly. We went to Lake City to ice climb their man-made ice climbing wall off of Bluff St. Other than one other party, we were the only ones climbing! We will definitely be back during the summer to camp and kayak in Lake San Cristobal. We will also be back next winter and stay at Alpine Moose Lodge. The best way to come into Lake City is via Hwy 50 - we came in from South Fork/Creed and rte 149 was windy and scary in certain areas.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maven5645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MONTROSE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Rooms were clean an comfortable and the food was fantastic! Bruno and his wife were extremely gracious hosts. The lodge is conveniently located close to town (within walking distance) I highly recommend the lodge to anyone looking for a nice place to stay while in lake city. Don’t forget to make dinner reservation well ahead of time as is space fills up fast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NICK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our camping gear was pretty wet and more rain was in the forecast. The nice lady at the visitor center suggested this place, Yes, it's old, the walls are thin, the drive is potholed. But it was warm and dry, the beds were clean and comfortable, it had a working stove, fridge, coffee maker, and microwave, plenty of hot water for a bath or shower, and there was a deer grazing outside our window in the morning when I looked out. We were happy. Clean towels would have been nice on the second day, but not a big deal. and Lake City is a lovely little town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a find! Pouring down rain and we didn't want to set up tents. We had a kitchenette so we could cook our dinner and breakfast. Place was clean and reasonable priceat $120 split 4 ways. Very roomy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katmai8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Booked two rooms at the hotel for $65.00 a night. We were charged 90.00 a night on our credit card.
When I called Bruno he said he would refund our money but he said we told him we wanted the more expensive rooms. He told me never to come back!!!!! ....and that I must need the money pretty bad. Following our conversation I emailed him my original email requesting two $65.00 rooms and his response that he was confirming my reservation.
Very Rude try some place else so your experience in Lake City is a positive one!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cosmos5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRUNO C, Owner at Alpine Moose Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
It took me obviously a long time to think about it but I was not sure you were worthy an answer, but my consilieri mentioned slandering and I think I will tell you beware of Bruno!!!
you asked for rooms over the phone for a price then you called saying you would be very late
and I told you you would be in a different building closer to the lodge for late arrival.
when I charged I did not looked at the different prices and charged you for the main building prices. you called outraged and I told you to have the difference since you needed that bad,which I repeat now!! you are what you are, fine , but do not call me a dishonest person!!!!!!
chef Bruno Courtin Alpine moose lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Older motel where you drive right up to your door. For $90 in June, 2011, we got a king bed and flat screen TV. Room is typical older room, but large. Room was recently redone. Everything worked. Excellent place to sit outside in the evening and enjoy a drink. Restaurant looks like they have an excellent menu, not inexpensive, but they were busy. We didn't eat there. No hot tub or pool. It was close to the highway, but it was quiet. Lake City is kind of the end of the line. Not much traffic.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRUNO C, Owner at Alpine Moose Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much ,Sir , you did not make a personal issue about our place but you judged it as a simple comfortable older motel with not to many problems!!!!!
since you came we replaced all windows and screens and revamping all the rooms for this winter

thank you again
CHEF Bruno Courtin AlpINE MOOSE LODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

When to Colorado during nationwide heat wave. Lake City didn't escape it (90 degrees). Lodge didn't have air conditioning (didn't expect them to), but when I asked if I could get screens put on my room windows so I could open them to get some cool night air, the response was "there aren't any bugs in Lake City". Sadly, the comment came from the owner! I killed 14 mosquitoes before I bedtime & 3 days after my stay, I'm still scratching. WOULDN'T STAY AGAIN IF IT WERE FREE!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RickP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpine Moose Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Moose Lodge

Property: Alpine Moose Lodge
Address: 1221 N Hwy 149, Lake City, CO 81235
Location: United States > Colorado > Lake City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 5 rooms with king beds and 4 rooms with 2 queensall rooms have a fridge , a microwave ,flat screen tvthey are large and have the best view in town.older comfortable motel .Watch our progresses for next year !!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alpine Moose Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing