We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Roadside Chow”
Review of La Veta Loco - CLOSED

La Veta Loco
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Sold our Business in August 2015. It is our understanding that they have RENAMED the Loco and are now calling it the Valley Legends. We want to thank all of our customers that were so loyal to the Loco! It was an awesome time! We made the choice to sell due to family considerations. When you remember the Loco... Please remember to "Get a Little Crazy!" We are a comfortable, casual establishment located in the Cuchara Valley, across from Grandote Peaks Golf Course in La Veta, CO. A warm and inviting place where there is a niche for almost everyone! Come in and enjoy a quick beverage and appetizer, relax on the back patio or take a spell on the front porch and watch the world float by. The game room is separate from the dining room, yet still visible. Our establishment has been reserved for private and semi private events. With a variety of dining choices available from our standard lunch menu or dinner menu to a specialty menu. Give us a call with your needs today and lets see what we can do to make your time at the Loc a wonderful experience!
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The chicken wrap was good, the pastrami not so much. Meat was chopped up and dry. Too much bread and kraut, not enough meat. The wedge salads were very good; crisp and the dressing was excellent. The ice tea excellent. Service was adequate.

Thank thomas29144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for La Veta Loco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 45 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were a large party of 13 who stopped in on July 4th. We found a comfortable shaded spot on the back patio. It took some time to get waited on, but then we got our drinks pretty quick. The real problem seemed to stem from the kitchen. It took forever to get our food, and when we did it came out at different times. Some parts of the order never made it to us, so we shared our meals. The management was fair and reduced our bill. As our family is half time residents of La Veta, we've seen this establishment under several different names and owners. I hope they can work out some of their problems so that this restaurant is successful.

Thank julieontheroad_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebiDoodles, Owner at La Veta Loco, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

The 4th of July was an insane day here! In fact, the entire weekend was over the top crazy!
We have an establishment that seats 51 people in the dining room. When people want to sit out on the patio we let them know that we will do our best to serve them, but our priority, depending on service staff, is to the dining room.
We were filled to capacity in the dining room, the bar seats were completely filled, and the patio area was completely filled as well. In addition to that, a customer, attempting to "help" had taken it upon herself to take baskets of food from an expediter walking out with food, and claimed that it was for them. It took a little while, in the midst of all the chaos to find out where their food had disappeared to... and then the kitchen tried to re-make those couple of orders on top of all the other orders that they had.
We strive to provide the best service possible, and maintain high standards, and consistent food standards. That being said, when you are able to manage a dining room of 54 in a constant flow, and then you add another 50 people outside... it can get a little insane.
We apologized to the people in question, and they told us that the food was great, and they enjoyed themselves. That's really all we can do, after the fact!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I live in the laveta area, so glad we do It's a fantastic place to live, We like to take day trips around southern Co. The thing with that is we always seem to end up eating at other places, some good some not, we have our favorites. Finally!! yes Finally we ate close to home, and so glad we did. We've been by the Loco a hundred times over the years the place had become pretty ratty looking, since the new owners took over it now looks as good as you could probably get it without tearing it down and putting up a Chili's, but around these parts all of the charm of these places come from their history and their longevity. Walk in and you see the blood sweat and I'm sure alot of tears the owners have put into their restaurant, they obviosly want this place to work. We got there around 2:00 on a Monday afternoon and right away felt comfortable, something that will make or break a place for me. There were 12-15 other patrons, all looked very
comfy, and satisfied with their surroundings, the owner came right over and took our drink orders
and brought them right out. The big thing for me was we didn't feel pushed or rushed, I like to enjoy a beer or two and relax a bit before we eat. We were allowed that, If you're in a big rush I'm sure they can accomodate. My wife is telling me to say that she has never been to a restaurant that uses cloth napkins that she would put anywhere near her mouth, says these were fresh smelling and very clean a first for her. On to the food, we both got the burgers and fries, needed a fork for the fries, hot!! and fresh, the first bite of the burger produced juice runnung down my chin, glad for the napkins! Everything , the buns the tomatoes the pickles seemed to be right on the money, will definately find the time to go back and try dinner and breakfast, LaVeta and all of southern Co. will benefit ! Look up their website and take a look you'll be glad you did.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebiDoodles, Owner at La Veta Loco, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you! We have put a lot of sweat, blood and tears into this place... some days more than others. Not just with the remodel and the attempts to change the opinions of people... The perception of this place for a number of years was a dive bar, and we were determined to take an amazing space and change it into a great restaurant for locals, semi-locals, wanna-be-locals, and passerby's!
It's a daily challenge, some days are better than others... Some more challenging!

But, we greatly appreciate your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were very happy w/ our dining experience. From the outside we were skeptical because it looked like it wasn't a popular place (it was filling up when we left, so we must have been early birds). But walk in and WOW. They have done a great job with the decor. The service was really good and the food was awesome. The fries? FRESH and yummy. Several diff homemade dressings and it was hard to decide what to order. I'm sure everything is good. We ordered a special steak salad and a cheeseburger. We licked our plates clean. We will definately be back on our way thru.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janet397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just ordered pizza for take out. Lots of cheese and the sauce is great. I wanted to eat the whole thing by myself. Professional taste yet homestyle. I'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Veta Loco also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing