We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Dining, Nicely Priced” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alys Restaurant

Alys Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in La Veta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Monument, CO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining, Nicely Priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I enjoyed an excellent dinner at this small restaurant in a converted house near down town. Sat on the patio under a big shade tree - very pleasant. A fabulous gazpacho with fresh cilantro to start. This was not blended into a mush, but rather nice bite size chunks of tomato, onion, celery, ... Very nice with a gin and tonic. Entrée was an expertly grilled pork chop with potato and delicious veggies, a very nice Sauvignon Blanc for $5 a glass. This was topped off with a warm chocolate whiskey pudding for desert. Presentation was very nice too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aerotech1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    9
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful new dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our hosts at the Inn at Spanish Peaks recommended Alys Restaurant for dinner. We were so glad they did! The hostess, Alys, was very nice as was the waiter (whose name has slipped my mind--sorry). The food was excellent, well prepared and beautifully presented. The price was very reasonable especially for such sophisticated fine dining. You will be very sorry if you miss this treat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillSnead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Alys restaurant serves a verbal menue that ranges from fish to steak to duck to pasta. We have found it to always be well prepared with a nice presentation. Wine prices are not jacked up like most restaurants. The staff is friendly and helpful. Two seatings-5:30 and 7:30. Lovely adobe style building.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chauvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SUPERB~~~~”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Oh my goodness --- Alys’ duck l'orange and rack of lamb was the best I've ever eaten... actually, everything I tasted was EXCELLENT. Alys’ food and her most courteous staff made my trip to Colorado a highly pleasant experience. I dined at various restaurants in Colorado and New Mexico but none compared to Master Chef Alys’ cooking. I recommend this quaint, romantic, artsy hide away to anyone who loves great cuisine at a very reasonable price~~~~

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieKinsler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
163 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“We went out of our way to visit Alys Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We found information on Alys' Rrestaurant in a copy of the Huerfano newspaper, and decided to stop there on our way from our mountain home between Aguilar and the East Spanish Peak and our primary home in southeast Aurora. Not exactly on the way! The three of us dined on a 1/2 rack of lamb, a shoulder steak, and fish dinner. We included a generous glass of adequate quality merlot for one and a beer for another. Two of us split a peach melba for dessert and the third a large portion of amaretto cake for dessert (baked by the restaurant of course).We found the dinners well served, with a variety of vegetable accompaning, and delicious. The waiter was attentive and well infomred, and Alys was on hand to geet the diners. We learned that Alys had been the owner of the recent Fireside Inn in Walsenburg, known locally and as far as Pueblo for fine dining. Seating is inside a charminly decorated and remodeled home on Oak Street and there is patio seating as well. Our bill before tip was $90, very reasonable for the quality of food and service. We will rreturn, even though it may mean we will make a one-way trip of over one hour to get there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ixchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alys Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alys Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing