We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ryus Bakery rocks!”
Review of Ryus Avenue Bakery - CLOSED

Ryus Avenue Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Farm-to-Table Cafe & Bakery. We grow our own vegetables and raise our own pork, poultry, eggs, etc., and source other foods, such as lamb, beef, etc. locally, in support of our local economy.
Restaurant details
Description: Farm-to-Table Cafe & Bakery. We grow our own vegetables and raise our own pork, poultry, eggs, etc., and source other foods, such as lamb, beef, etc. locally, in support of our local economy.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ryus Bakery rocks!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a must stop while in La Veta! As half time residents, we don't miss the opportunity to pop in for yummy fresh bread and desserts to take home. (Note that they are not open every day- check hours beforehand.) Their baked goods are awesome, and they make great sandwiches that are handy to take across the street to the park/ playground.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank julieontheroad_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    13
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
267 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“great bakery in a charming town.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We called ahead and asked them to hold a loaf of sunflower bread. It was sensational! When we got to the bakery, it was hard to resist all the other goodies on the shelves. Friendly staff. The downside? They're only open on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. Maybe that way you can save your figure.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Art-Roxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Get there early”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

On pie days, get there early in the morning. The fruit pies are the best and legendary in the area. Great, healthy fresh breakfasts, pastries and breads.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LaVeta93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TUES/THURS/SAT...."SECRET"!!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Muffins, coffee, cakes, breads, All HOME MADE, MADE THAT
MORNING. 20+ YEARS open, the best in town!!
Get your own water and clean your dishes and table---
hurrah for small business ownership and expertise!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulysses, Kansas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Killer bakery in mountains.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place rocks but only 3 days a week. Multiple breads, pastries, breakfast quiches, lunch sandwiches. i have by passed in years past as I felt it was a foo foo place but finally went with my wife and now it is a regular stop for pastries and a latte. Boys, don't be afraid!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryus Avenue Bakery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing