We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely reminder of the old days”
Review of 1899 Inn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Veta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1899 Inn B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 La Veta B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The 1899 Inn offered just what we wanted during our three night stay- comfy bed, period decor, sun-drenched breakfast room with super-creative and tasty breakfasts served on dishes just like at Grandmas, all served up by caring and friendly hosts.

Room Tip: The shared bath was no problem as we were the only guests. We enjoyed the yellow room upstairs facin...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rotarymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, Manager at 1899 Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Nice compliments Martin.. Very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for 1899 Inn B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 47 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was the perfect B & B to bring friends to experience the area's scenic beauty.
Half-way between Santa Fe and Denver, a great location and great accommodations.
We really enjoyed the Rooms and Breakfast was perfect, made to order.

Room Tip: The "Cottage" was perfect for three.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, Manager at 1899 Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thanks George. Glad you had a good time and thanks for bringing your friends from Denmark.. Really special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here a few days the end of September 2012. We rented the little cottage in back. Perfect location - right in town and everything within easy walking distance. Very quiet and clean. Deer were in the yard eating apples from the trees behind our cottage. The cottage is quaint - older but in a charming way. Very attractive and calming. Loved spending time inside the cottage just enjoying the ambiance.

Breakfast was included - overwhelming, fresh, delicious!

Would definitely go back - happily!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SeekingPerfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, Manager at 1899 Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Sweet... Thanks for your kind words and so glad you enjoyed our little part of the world. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was traveling to La Veta for several days and therefore wanted to find a nice bed and breakfast. I chose the 1899 Inn and was thrilled that I'd done so. This large, gorgeous, Victorian era home has been lovingly restored by the owners. The light and airy sun room is graced by beautiful stained glass windows throughout. The rooms are large and very comfortable, and each has a private sink area. Several rooms have ensuite bathrooms. I chose a room without the ensuite bath, and with the in-room sink area, I was extremely comfortable. And the large, clean, well-stocked bathroom was just across the hall.

The food was absolutely delicious, and the owners strive to provide meals that are organic, fresh, and locally produced. Wonderful, and the coffee was exceptional!

When I arrived, I was greeted as a member of the family and upon settling into my room, my hosts pointed out the bathrobes supplied in my closet. I'd forgotten mine, so I enjoyed being able to simply slip on the provided robe in the mornings and head down to the sun room and take a cup of that delicious coffee and head back up to my room. Then, each morning after dressing, I was able to enjoy a wonderful breakfast while I watched the deer outside, munching on the fruit of the almond tree in the yard. How can you beat that?

The town of La Veta was a destination in itself. To me it appeared an undiscovered gem; a mini Santa Fe with all nature of shops of local aritisans and craftsmen, along with a variety of excellent restaurants! At the base of the Spanish Peaks, this town reflects the warmth and quaintness of a bygone era.

I've long been a fan of bed and breakfasts, as they are, to me, the way to go if one wants to feel like part of the community. With folks like Marilyn, Jill and Barb to be your family away from home, there is simply no better. I say this without reservation, this is the best B&B I ever stayed in, in my 63 years!!!

Room Tip: Either the ensuite OR the rooms with a shared bath are wonderful. I found no difference!!!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chs32696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, Manager at 1899 Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy that our Inn felt like your home away from home.. our pleasure!!! Thanks again. Barb, Jill, Marilyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This charming old home was the perfect get-away location for a quiet weekend. We stayed in the room with a King size bed and were completely comfortable. The rooms were clean and fresh, the bed was very comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, the hostesses were friendly and helpful. Although we had to share a shower and restroom with other rooms it was not as difficult as I expected. Since there is a lavatory in each room everyone was in and out of the shower without any conflicts. The town is lovely and very friendly and surrounded by the mountains. There are also some very good restaurants in the area. Ask Jill or Barb about how to get to Alys' for dinner, you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: There is a private cottage that is en suite if you want complete privacy.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, Manager at 1899 Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Glad you mentioned the shared bathroom .. Some people just can't fathom sharing, but with the sink and mirror in the room and our cleaning regularly, it's not as big an issue as some think. We take great pride in our rooms and thank you for sharing. Please visit again. Barb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The 1899 Inn in La Veta was so warm and bright. The beds were so comfortable, the owners so friendly and the food delicious. Deer roamed the streets and visited the back yard to eat from the apple trees. Close to local hikes and only a couple hours from Taos and Colorado Springs . I was sad to know I was just missing the annual Celtic Celebration where the city comes alive. The local art and restaurants in town were top notch. I look forward to visiting again soon

Room Tip: Let the owner know your dietary needs they are happy to accommodate. Also they know all the great sp...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LAHomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, Manager at 1899 Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We loved having you. It is amazing to eat breakfast in the sun room and watch the deer eat our flowers... ??? No, we love this town with all of its animal spirits and glad you appreciate it also. It's a lot of fun to meet interesting folks. Thanks very much for coming. Barb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

From moment one, when Marylin greeted us at the door and settled us in, seamlessly, we felt instantly welcomed and at home. Then at the Rifters gig up at Uptop (ghost town), we ment Jill and Barb. They picked us out immediately and we felt like we had just met a new arm of our family. We loved the slow(er) pace on the midnight cruise back to the Inn, crashed so comfortably and awakened to filled crepes and wonderful table mates (and REALLY GOOD coffee). We stayed 2 nights and during the afternoon leading up to the second night the house was quiet, but with several other guests and we felt as welcome as we would have been at home (in Taos). So comfortable and clean, these ladies run a fine ship. When we discovered our flat tire on the final morning, there was no rush or pressure to vacate. In fact, Jill was most helpful in getting us navigated around La Veta. In all, we will definitely visit 1899 Inn again! And that sunroom, complete with wireless internet, we didn't miss a beat. Also, cudos to Alys' Restaurant over on Oak Street!

Room Tip: Shared Bathroom or private bathroom... that's your question. Each room well-appointed, and all...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenandScott_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, Manager at 1899 Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

It was great meeting you. It still amazes us how common interests show up at breakfast, people who know someone who know someone.. fast friends made. It's our pleasure to help others find fun things to do around our great little town. Thanks.. Barb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Veta
0.1 mi away
La Veta Inn
La Veta Inn
#1 of 1 in La Veta
33 reviews
14.8 mi away
La Plaza Inn
La Plaza Inn
#2 of 7 in Walsenburg
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at the Spanish Peaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
River's Edge Bed and Breakfast at Dodgeton Creek Inn
15.6 mi away
Best Western Rambler
Best Western Rambler
#1 of 7 in Walsenburg
347 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Cuchara Inn
The Cuchara Inn
#1 of 2 in Cuchara
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1899 Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1899 Inn B&B

Address: 314 South Main Street, La Veta, CO 81055
Location: United States > Colorado > La Veta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Veta
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1899 Inn has been in the National Register of Historic Places for over twenty years and is one of La Veta’s original quarried sandstone structures. It was fully renovated in 2008 and is centrally located in downtown La Veta, adjacent to the library and historic Francisco Fort Museum. It is an easy walk to Charlie’s grocery, shops and restaurants, and is a 15 minute drive from Cuchara. Come enjoy hiking, fishing, biking, painting, local music, galleries, train trips, horseback riding, relaxing, exploring, and much more…... There are 5 rooms upstairs, 2 with private baths and 3 with a shared bath. All rooms have private sinks and mirrors. The cottage out back is self contained with a kitchen-living room, bedroom, and bathroom, and has off street parking. We feature a full, family style breakfast in the morning made with natural wholesome ingredients, emphasizing local and organics. Breakfast is served family style in the sunroom. We use environmentally friendly cleaning products, and we recycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1899 Inn B&B La Veta, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing