We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Veta Inn(La Veta)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveler rating
47
3
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseeach morningdelicious breakfastbed and breakfastmule deerprivate bathquincybedroomyardhostskitchengemcabin
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 51 of 51 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I really like this place. Beautiful house, very clean and very good breakfast with fresh fruits. We stayed in La Trinchera room with all the comfort needed and a very comfortable bed.
The hostesses, Barbara, Marylin and Jill are wonderful and charming.
I will go back for sure.
Make sure not to miss the Great Sans Dunes NP if you are in the area ... it's an incredible park and climb the dunes to get an idea of the immensity of this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lipnica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, Manager at 1899 Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thanks.. It was our pleasure to meet you. Glad you had a great time here in southern Colorado. Our best to you! Barb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit here - wonderfully hospitable hostesses, superb breakfast, rooms adequate...and the town itself is interesting...our main purpose of visiting was to ride the train which we enjoyed immensely...also visited the friendly Episcopal church on Sunday and met many locals...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatherineAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, Manager at 1899 Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review our Inn. It was wonderful meeting you and so glad you liked visiting our little town. People have been loving the train, seeing the deer, foxes, (bear if you are lucky!).. Please visit us again and thanks. Barb and Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My daughter was married at a ranch in the mountains and I wanted to stay somewhere
near and quieter than the ranch. I found the perfect spot at the 1899 B&B. It is within walking distance to everything downtown. The accomodations were great (firm mattress). The breakfasts were awesome! If I am ever in LaVeta again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, Manager at 1899 Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

Thanks for the kind words... It was our pleasure meeting you. Barb & Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

A truly hidden gem in the mountains of eastern Colorado. The 1899 Inn was more than I could have anticipated. Beautiful rooms and a spectacular breakfast solarium. Every moring the deer were in the beautiful gardens. A doe mule deer had a set of twins and they were hilarius to watch playing. A true organic breakfast was prepared each moring by either Barbara or Jill. Herbs from the garden, eggs from the farm, and fresh fruit. Absolutely the best breakfast ever. The hospitality of these two young ladies was a delight. The Inn was once the town hospital and is totally renovated with all the comforts of home.
The fishing just down the valley was outstanding and easily accessible by good roads and a short hike. Wildflowers were in full bloom and the mountain scenery a photographer's dream.
The town of LaVeta is just a quiet little tourist town with an abundance of galleries stocked by local artists and some very nice Navajo wares. Be sure to have dinner at Alys in the LaVeta Inn. Nothing short of spectacular. Also, for the golfers, a beautiful but difficult course on the edge of town.
I'll be back again next summer

Room Tip: Great rooms and also a cottage in the back.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarlEnnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, Manager at 1899 Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Hi Carl.. Thanks for the wonderful comments. It was a pleasure having you at the Inn. Loved the fish too... yum.. Be well. Barb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews