We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and interesting place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at the Spanish Peaks
Ranked #1 of 4 La Veta B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We wanted to stay in La Veta so we could eat at Aly's Restaurant. She had to cancel, but we were able to find a good meal anyway. Bill and Tracy were very nice and helpful. The area is kind of a "hidden gem" with less traffic than most areas of Colorado. La Veta is certainly an interesting place. The owners were good enough to serve us early, since we wanted to get on our way as soon as we could. Breakfast was excellent, served with a lot of attention. Rooms were nice and very clean. We had a small deck where we looked at the stars. There is not a lot of ambient light in La Veta. When I had to get up in the middle of the night, the room was completely black. There are nightlights, but we had not turned ours on.

Room Tip: There are only three. When you call, they will explain what they are like in detail. I thought the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 53 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent three nights here to attend the Celtic Music Festival held annually in the area. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the breakfasts perfect, and the hosts as friendly and gracious as one could hope for. We found plenty to do in La Veta and the beautiful and scenic surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmmullett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife, Patty, and I have been going to Tracy and Bill's Inn at Spanish Peaks for a number of years on our way to see our daughter and her family in Denver. This is an outstanding place to stop over. Tracy and Bill are great hosts and wonderful breakfast cooks. The three guest rooms are very nice and comfortable. La Veta is also a great little place to visit with a golf course, art galleries and a wonderful restaurant named "Alys' Restaurant (for you old enough to remember the song "Alices's restaurant).

We hope to make another trip with our friends soon.

Patty nd Bill Snead

Room Tip: For a couple, the room on the second floor with the king size bed and a separate parlor is our favor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillSnead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spotless, comfortable, roomy, private room. Delicious feast for breakfast. Adorable, amiable hostess. Pleasant surprise and a gem for sure!! Good restaurants nearby. Lots of deer. Dirt roads unusual but adds to the Old West charm of the town. Would do it again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debperkins11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Bill and Tracy know exactly how to run a B&B. Such a treat to stay here. I will highly recommend this Inn to my friends and family. We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony, walking to and from dinner, watching for bears in the trees, the company of Bill & Tracy and the other guest.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Wow! This is the greatest bed and breakfast I have ever enjoyed! The breakfast are unbelievable, the room spacious and clean , and the owners friendly and warm. I would recommend this to everyone! Great job Tracy and Bill.

You can not go wrong staying here.

Kathy Gray

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, Owner at Inn at the Spanish Peaks, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Hi Kathy,
Thanks so much for all your kind words. We so enjoyed your visit with us and our chance to know one of our dear friend's life long friend. Hoping that our paths will cross again soon, Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed two nights......beautiful well-maintained adobe southwest-style house in a quiet residential area of town (ok...almost all of La Veta is quiet which is part of it's charm...).
Bill and Tracy were very hospitable and personable hosts....solicitous and accommodating, great conversation, and eager to answer any question we had about the area. We stayed in the Colorado Suite, a well appointed and clean suite with a nice balcony on the 2nd floor. Great breakfasts (soufflé 1st morning, German puff pancake the 2nd). No TVs in the rooms...great!
There is nice mountain scenery, some hiking trails, a couple of pretty lakes up the Highway of Legends to the south of La Veta. The town itself is far enough to the south off the Highway 160 chaos to be immune to that noise. La Veta itself is well kept up, has an active arts community, and is a nice alternative to overblown and overpriced Taos and Santa Fe.
We would highly recommend this inn and hope to get back there ourselves soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fmikey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, Owner at Inn at the Spanish Peaks, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Hi,
Thanks to you both for staying with us and for your wonderful extensive review of us, the Town of La Veta and the surrounding beautiful area that is the Spanish Peaks Country.
Hope you will come and visit us again. Best Wishes, Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Veta
0.3 mi away
La Veta Inn
La Veta Inn
#1 of 1 in La Veta
36 reviews
14.6 mi away
La Plaza Inn
La Plaza Inn
#2 of 7 in Walsenburg
134 reviews
10.2 mi away
River's Edge Bed and Breakfast at Dodgeton Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Best Western Rambler
Best Western Rambler
#1 of 7 in Walsenburg
351 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Cuchara Inn
The Cuchara Inn
#1 of 2 in Cuchara
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Spanish Peaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Spanish Peaks

Address: 310 E. Francisco, La Veta, CO 81055
Location: United States > Colorado > La Veta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Veta
Price Range: $130 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sante Fe style customer built B&B in the Town of La Veta. All suites have private baths, private decks. Two upstairs suites have pocket doors & private sitting rooms. Full hot gourmet breakfast w/ each stay. Three blocks from main steet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn at the Spanish Peaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Spanish Peaks La Veta, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing