We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good motel, nice breakfast”
Review of Hotel Vogar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Vogar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vogar
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good motel, nice breakfast”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for our first night after arriving on the airport of Keflavik. It's a quiet environment, though not really 'picturesque-like' or anything. Perfect to go to the Blue Lagoon or to have a nice dinner in Keflavik (Kaffi Duus). Comfortable beds, but pillows could be better. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyah82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    54
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
45
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
europe
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Rooms and bathrooms are comfortable. Also for those who have an early flight to catch (like us), but do not wish to have a noisy and expensive airport hotel - this hotel is the solution. As it is close enough to the airport if you have an early flight to catch in the morning, but still sufficiently far away not to be bothered by air traffic noise.

They have nice pizzas just across the road. So if you want to have a lazy stay in evening, like we did, just get some pizzas there.(We spent our last night in this motel so we were a bit tired:))

Can't tell you how the breakfast is as we had an early flight, but I am sure it is ok. Also you have a coffee and tea corner in your room. Quite handy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quatrecoinsdumonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The Motel Best is not the most glamorous place in Iceland, and the town of Vogar is not that exciting BUT...when you have to get to the airport early the next morning and don't want to drive through morning traffic in Reykjavik, this cozy little motel is perfect, and you get a very friendly reception! Drive your car up to the front door, enjoy the comfortable bed, go for seafood pizza next door, or if you have time, drive over to Njardvik and see the amazing viking ship which sailed from Iceland to New York in 2000! The little motel made our last evening enjoyable, and we had a super-easy trip to the airport the next morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2008

An excellent place - nice and warm (important in Iceland in February!) with an excellent bed and bathroom. The proprietor (Gummi) went out of his way to make me comfortable, and was a valuable source of advice. Vogar is near Keflavik and the Blue Lagoon, and maybe 20 minutes by car from the Greater Reykjavik Area (Reykjavik/Kopavogur/Hafnarfjordur).

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Costin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

We were booked into this motel in Vogar (about 20 mins from Keflavik aiport) on the first night of our holiday by our travel agent because the hotel they normally use was full. I must admit that I was dubious about it but very pleasantly surprised. Our accommodation for three of us was in fact one bedroom that would sleep three (bunk bed and single bed), and two singles in the next room shared with a kitchen area, and a decent bathroom (with a great shower) - so would be excellent for a family.
The accommodation was spotlessly clean.
Breakfast the next day was lovely (and actually better than a couple of the "posher" hotels we'd been booked into). Nice mixture of cereals, breads (including delicious Danish pastries) with conserves, good selection of meat, cheeses, and fruit. Set us up for the day!
Vogar may not be the prettiest place on the planet but their motel is certainly very welcoming.

  • Liked — the breakfast
  • Disliked — not the prettiest area
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yblodyntatws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2007

this motel is in vogar a little town near the airport and the blue lagoon. its very basic but new and clean and has everything you need - good shower, warm room, coffee and tea, tv with english channels and very helpful owner. Its reasonably priced and great location - only 10 mins from the blue lagoon. if your looking for a posh luxury hotel its definately not for you but if you want value for money, clean rooms with good location and friendly staff you should try it.

Helpful?
6 Thank deemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vogar
6.0 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
88 reviews
9.7 mi away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
250 reviews
7.2 mi away
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
#2 of 3 in Grindavik
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
883 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
391 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vogar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vogar

Property: Hotel Vogar
Address: Stapavegur 7, Vogar 190, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Vogar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vogar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vogar 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vogar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing