We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad to be pulled out of a ditch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vogar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vogafjos Cowshed-Cafe and Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the lovely Vogafjos guesthouse for 2 nights. We arrived in a blizzard and were guided to the chalet. Driving in a blizzard to the restaurant, we got lost and drove down a bank into a ditch! Stupid tourists. Luckily the local farmer was very friendly and got us warmed up in the restaurant whilst our car was dragged out with a tractor. The food was very good and the quality of the accommodation was great. Nice to see Myvatn in Winter and would definitely go back again

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 78 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Log cabin style rooms are so warm and cosy. The staff were friendly, multilingual (we heard Icelandic, English and French). Breakfast was included and enough - cheeses, meats, cereals, seeds, nuts, coffee, juices, and the view from the breakfast room is unmatched. The staff knew the area and pointed out places to visit. The local area is gorgeous with many walk options. On a practical note close by is a petrol station, supermarket and a few choices for meals. The only vague noise we heard was from the cabin which backed into ours - we heard them in the shower. Overall 10/10 for this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xteamawesomex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Good quality back to back terraced chalets (some noise from neighbours) enabling you to get your car to your door with private facilites across the road and a little from the main reception area/breakfast/dinning room cow shed.
Breakfast was very good. We had a meal on our first night - very good - prices as with outside Reykjavick are higher and menu unfortunatley limited.
Area stunning requires at least two days to see.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trollskagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for one night and two meals (breakfast and came back for launch). The place provides a great overall experience. The rooms are clean and with a privet bathroom. The breakfast in the Cowshed-Cafe is the best we had in Iceland, in addition to the big variety of the standard buffet ingredients you also get to try some of the local specialties like bread baked in the hot volcanic ground, smoked fish and different kinds of cheese, the cafe is made mostly out of glass so you have a great view of the lake and as you can guess... the cows. The service is great, we got a map and a very good overview of the fantastic local attractions that helped improve our rout. Although it is not in the largest town in the area - Reykjahlid it is still very close to the major sites. Also came back for launch - the Arctic Char is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MasterYoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We ate at the Cowshed-Cafe twice: once for lunch and once for dinner. We enjoyed our meals very much. The cafe's large windows, which looked onto sheep grazing in the fields, was very relaxing. And what other restaurants have an inside window that looks into the barn where cows are milked? The milk was very delicious! It was a pleasure tasting natural milk rather than the industrial, antibiotic and growth hormone infused milk we are forced to drink in North America.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Live_to_Travel_125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Generous sized log cabin. Good facilities.. Highlight has to be the gorgeous cows, outstanding food and friendly helpful staff. We sat in the restaurant looking across small fields with lambs and wild birds to the lake.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bundays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stopped here for lunch and was presently surprised. The decor is lovely and the food is very tasty. Homemade and a good variety. I had the winter salad which was very good and my husband had the goulash soup which was also lovely. The portions are good. I would recommend stopping here for a meal. The lamb shanks looked very good so will try them next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank rwilks100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vogar
2.6 mi away
Fosshotel Myvatn
Fosshotel Myvatn
#1 of 1 in Skutustadahreppur
66 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Reynihlid
Hotel Reynihlid
#2 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
409 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Laxa
Hotel Laxa
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
#7 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
176 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sel Hotel Myvatn
Sel Hotel Myvatn
#4 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vogafjos Guesthouse
Vogafjos Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vogafjos Cowshed-Cafe and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vogafjos Cowshed-Cafe and Guesthouse

Address: Vogafjosi 660 Myvatn, Vogar, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Vogar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Vogar
Price Range: $2 - $2 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing