We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely comfortable cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
GPS location . Stóra Knarrarnes. 64°00´28N  22°19‘54W The Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
GPS location . Stóra Knarrarnes. 64°00´28N  22°19‘54W
The Cottage
View from the house
View from the house
Private Beach - View from the house
Master bedroom - King Size bed
Bedroom - Queen Size bed
Bedroom upstairs
Bedroom upstairs - extra bed
Living room
Family room - wireless Internet
Kitchen - Fully equipped
Dining room
Bathroom with shower
View from bedroom
Boat available
Private road to the house - free parking
Neighborhood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Vogar, Reykjanes Peninsula

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Felicity...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable cottage”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived fairly late, and the owner Elias was there to greet us, he had been very helpful prior to arrival, and emailed details of supermarkets which would be open late, and places of interest. We saw the northern lights on our first night!....This house is in the perfect location for the beginning, end, or the duration of your stay, even though it is fairly close to the airport
it was quiet and peaceful, plenty to see and do nearby, including the Blue Lagoon, and the layout would lend itself to a fairly large group. The stairs to the upper room are fairly steep, which didn't bother us at all, but may be an issue for some. The house was very well equipped, had a washing machine, tumble drier and dishwasher....it also had wi-fi which was an added bonus, as we weren't expecting it! We only stayed for two nights, but I wish we had stayed longer. I would recommend this house to others and stay there again myself!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West Virginia
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Krummi930
Winsted, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If there is heaven on earth...”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The spirit of this lovely property captured me from the moment I found it on Trip Advisor but stepping through the door for the first time sealed my fate. This is actually the second time I have booked the house. I stayed for just one night last September (the delightful owner, Elias...could not have been more accommodating as the house does have a minimum stay). I wanted to see if it would work for my group of friends in January. It obviously did. The house is beautifully located between the airport and Reykjavik..and close to the Blue Lagoon. Perfectly placed for viewing the Northern Lights! We saw them 3 separate evenings! It is as neat as a pin and as cozy as can be with every amenity you could hope for: wireless internet, flat screen TV (we never used it...just too busy!), a large bathroom, washing machine etc. The beds were incredibly comfy. The upstairs beds are accessed by a rather steep staircase typical in houses this age. I am not complaining just stating a fact. The view from the small but very functional kitchen made washing dishes a dream as you look out over water. We had at least 8 dinner guests every evening and concerts and presentations in the spacious living room. The house is on the water so beautiful beach walks can be had. On my stay in September we were greeted by an Arctic Fox at the driveway entrance and seals on the beach. What else could you possibly need? OK!! A HOT POT!!! The house could use a hot pot..then I would never leave. The extra bonus is the home's owner, Elias...charming, helpful, I find myself smiling as I write this just thinking of him. I am a frequent traveler to Iceland (31 times so far) and this property is branded into my heart. If I could own a place anywhere in Iceland this would be it. I have found my heaven in this little red house or LRH as my friends call it. Everyone is in love with it. Trust me. You will fall in love as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. The place is flawless.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Reviewed October 6, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oklahoma
Reviewed September 10, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
garyo1
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage, BJ and his wife are _super_ nice and extremely helpful making arrangements and helping choose what to do (and there's plenty in Iceland!). Clean, neat, not fancy but homey and everything you need (including outdoor gas grill). On the beach, great views all around, excellent walks. Lots of birds. Definitely away-from-it-all yet 15-20 min from Reykjavik and Keflavik. Easy to get to the Blue Lagoon. Thanks, Birgir!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, quiet, homey
Liked least: If you want a place in the thick of things, this isn't it. It's on the coast and gorgeous.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$190
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing