We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best house we have rented”
other travelers have booked this property
Gadlys Farmhouse with sea behind house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gadlys Farmhouse with sea behind house
Gadlys cosy sitting room with log fire and oak floor large windows frame sea views in the second sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Gadlys Farmhouse with sea behind house
Gadlys cosy sitting room with log fire and oak floor
large windows frame sea views in the second sitting room
Large kitchen with range cooker and stunning granite table
Master en-suite bedroom king size bed with sea views
One of two twin rooms beautiful large beamed bedroom with sea views
Second master bedroom with en-suite superking size bed and sea views
Double sofa bed in second sitting with PS3 and TV ideal for teenagers
Stunning main bathroom with spa bath
Large patio area and lawns for children to play
Second kitchen open plan with third sitting room ideal for large parties
Second sitting room with log burning stove and comfy sofas
Lovely large garden ideal for watching the beautifl sunsets
King size bedroom ensuite with balconette
Church Bay Beach just 4 minutes walk is a lovely sandy bay with rock pools
Autumn berries at Gadlys
Stunning pink wild rose at Gadlys Farmhouse
Hills surrounding Church Bay
Gadlys coastal holiday cottages in the snow Anglesey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Rhydwyn, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
madeline5...
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best house we have rented”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Gadlys is a beautiful house it is well maintained and beds are lovely and comfy. The kitchens are well equipt and so useful to have two when there is a large family .Karen the owner was very helpful pointing out places of interest .The only downside for us was you had to travel quite away to supermarket .Also the beach was down a steep ramp not ideal for older members of family and one in the family has bad hip so did not suit him .There are other beaches but you had to drive once again .We found it to remote for us but it still was a lovely holiday and would not hesitate to recommend it to any-one else .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large house so spacious.
Liked least: The location not suitable for us as a family.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2015
Wow thank you!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield...
Lichfield
Level 6 Contributor
613 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in a great location”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Gadlys for 4 nights for a family gathering (including one Spaniel) to celebrate a 60th birthday. The cottage' was an absolutely perfect venue - masses of space, close the both the beach and good local walking. The only minor downside was that the local pub was closed for refurbishment but the Wavecrest Café, by the beach, serves good meals and of course if you plan ahead the well known Lobster Pot Restaurant is just around the corner (sadly it is closed on Sundays & Mondays so we couldn't go).

The cottage is huge - it comprises 6 double bedrooms, 5 luxurious bathrooms, 2 lounges, 2 kitchens, a family room and a utility room. Throughout the cottage is furnished to a high standard and well decorated, everything looked modern and new (in some other properties we have rented furniture looked worn out and uncared for). All of the bedrooms had really comfortable beds (some were very large), plenty of hanging & storage space and most had good views. In the bathrooms there was masses of hot water and some great showers. The kitchens were very well equipped with stacks of crockery & cutlery, dishwashers, large fridges, great cookers etc. I can't think of anything that was missing (apart from spare bin liners) and there were some items I never expected to find.

It was Summer while we were there so we didn't use the wood burning stoves but I imagine they would be welcome in Winter.

For a large party it was good that we could either sit together for eating or playing games or we could spread out and have some downtime. Outside there was a BBQ and seating area to enjoy the sun.

The beach (and cafe) were about a 3-5 minute walk away and it was lovely to be able to wander down there at any time of the day (sunsets were impressive). In addition the coastal path offers great views regardless of the direction you choose.

I can't really think of anything to complain about (apart from some spare bin liners which is just being picky) and would love to return if I can only find a big enough party to warrant booking it.

Overall a great experience and highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of furnishings & bathrooms
Liked least: Some outdoor furniture needed a clean
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2015
Thank you for a great review and hope we'll see you again and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davina K
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent property, Close to the Beach”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We booked the property for a birthday get together and there were 13 of us in total. All the rooms are as per the photographs, great sizes and the whole house has the perfect layout for a group of our size.

Karen, the owner helped us with recommendations for dining out, numbers for local minibus hire and also kindly allowed some of the group to arrive a little early to dress some rooms with birthday bunting ! Karen even supplied us with some lovely cake to have with our afternoon tea (wine !).

All kitchen and rooms were fully equipped - there wasn't anything that hasn't been thought of. Being so close to the beach was great for evening walks taking advantage of the late nights.

Thanks again Karen - we will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
Thank you for your great review - it was lovely to see you enjoying your birthday and hope you will have some wonderful memories of Gadlys and lovely Church Bay for years to come. We'd love to see you again and many thanks for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianmc...
1 review
“Perfectly ideal!”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I booked the house for a party of 11 for a quiet weekend away and it was perfect. There was plenty of room, very clean and the area was peaceful. I would definetly recommend this place to others.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2015
Thank you for a really great review and so pleased you would recommend us. We were pleased to welcome you at Gadlys and hope we'll see you again. Really appreciate your lovely comments, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suehallam...
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“beautiful retreat”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A fantastic choice for a girls retreat! Six friends enjoying a wonderful (and well deserved!) weekend together in this lovely quiet corner of Anglesey. The farmhouse/cottage was cosy yet at the same time bright and spacious. Accommodation was immaculately clean, beautifully furnished and the modern kitchen was well-equipped. We relaxed the minute we arrived. Although the weather had unfortunately turned rainy and cold, we stayed snug and relaxed with the help of the wood-burning stove and managed a couple of cliff top walks locally enjoying the wildflowers and sea views. Thank you Karen...I'm sure we'll be booking again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern and cosy. Remote quietness of the location.
Liked least: Would need to travel to access quality restaurants
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2015
Thank you very much ladies for a great review and that you were nice and cosy in the cottage,so pleased you had a good time - hope we'll see you again soon. Many thanks Karen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry M
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable, warm and lovely house, lovely area, quiet beaches.”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Positives:
- Almost everything about this property and area were as close to perfect as you can ever expect. Seriously, everything.
- Large and spacious, 11 of us stayed here and we ever felt on top of each other at any point.

[Very] Slight Negatives:
- The wireless connections weren't ideal, lots of latency and the connection couldn't really support more than a couple of users at once. This would have been better to know as 5 people were ideally planning to use the internet quite a lot to revise.
- Door to the public bathroom downstairs sticks a little.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House, Bedrooms, Beach.
Liked least: Wireless Internet.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2015
Thanks for a great review and so pleased that you enjoyed it- yes the wireless is a wee bit slow, it's a rural area of Wales and we don't yet get superfast broadband yet sadly, but it's usually OK for what most people want it for.
Sorry about the door if you'd mentioned it during your stay we would have had it sorted out whilst you were there, but we'll make sure it is now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob K
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, comfortable accommodation for a relaxing escape.”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Extremely high standard furniture and décor. Comfortable house large enough for 9 adults to each have their own room. Kitchen perfectly equipped for cooking large meals for big groups. We were a group of friends meeting up from a variety of areas. Getting to the property fairly easy. Kind welcome from Karen, with a cake! Excellent base for walks or to explore the island from and return to if staying longer. Good access to beaches and walking areas. We had good weather but plenty of space and two wood stoves if weather inclement. A good find, good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2015
Hello and apologies for not responding ealier to your review. Really appreciate your kind comments and hope we'll see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing