We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super accommodation.”
Review of Pen y Graig

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhydwyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pen y Graig
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super accommodation.”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Anyone looking for B&B accommodation with tons of character and excellent facilities need look no further than The Loft at Pen y Graig farm. The Loft is a sympathetic barn conversion that combines modern facilities with lots of old world charm. The breakfast, which was cooked and brought over to the accommodation, was very good. I've already recommended Pen y Graig to friends and family and hope to return myself one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gastrotrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    0
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Recently stayed for one mid-week night at the Loft so we could walk around the north west corner of Anglesey from Cemaes to Church Bay. Our hosts could not have been more friendly and helpful - even when I managed to break the key when getting back after dinner in the evening! They even provided us with a lift to the start of the walk at Cemaes. The cooked breakfast was delicious and provided much needed sustenance for a day-long walk. Great location near Church Bay. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveMullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just returned for a short break in the loft b & B - definitely best of both worlds - a cottage with all its own facilities but breakfast brought to you in the morning! This wa a lovely place to stay, very relaxing and really well equipped. Whilst it hasn't got a "garden" there is some grass outside the door which you can sit on and has fabulous views down to the sea! (and some very cute, tiny little chicks running around on!)
No TV but surely thats why you come here - short walk to the church bay arms (ok as a pub - no food) and a slightly longer walk down to church bay itself and the lobster pot.
Totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly-p43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We got married in Rhoscolyn on Holy Island this June, where we are lucky enough to live - however, we wanted our first night together as husband & wife to be somewhere different but not too far away. As Church bay is one of our favourite places for a walk we chose The Loft B&B at Pen y Graig.

It is a very special place - clean, cozy and full of character. Arrangements had been made for our late arrival & everything was perfect! Eveything you could think of was provided - we even made toast & tea at 2am! The breakfast was yummy and the views from the property are stunning!

Thank you to Vicky & co for a wonderful start to our married life!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forton, Lancs.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My links with this place started many years ago when I was a child. My Uncle and Aunt farmed here and my grandmother also lived here in her late years. For the last 5 years, our family has taken a long weekend break and whilst our two sons and families have taken over both halves of the entire house, we oldies stay in the comfort of The Loft, which includes B and B. How many places can accommodate 10 people in 3 family groups and all have their own private living space? Victoria and Mark have achieved what to my mind is the perfect blend of convenience, comfort and general living facilities, whilst retaining the original charm of the whole place both inside and outside. How easy it would have been to throw out everything of age and create brand new up to date interiors, but totally lacking in historic charm. The whole place has the feeling of a pair of old and treasured slippers; so comfortable and a pleasure to slip into. There is something for everyone here, provided you like countryside, superb seascapes, sandy beaches and total relaxation. Well done to Mark and Victoria, my aunt and uncle would be delighted to see what you have achieved over the time that you have loved and cared for Pen y Graig.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We recently had the good fortune to stay at Pen-y-Graig together with several members of our family so were able to occupy all of the accommodation. This was absolutely without fault, being spotlessly clean and utterly comfortable. Breakfast, for those that stayed in the B&B accommodation, was delicious and more than ample. Our relatives who occupied the self contained house were able to cook their own breakfast in the well appointed kitchens. Add to this the great natural surroundings which gave a great feeling of relaxation and calm. Our hosts, Victoria and Mark made us feel so welcome and could not have done more to give us that ‘home from home’ feeling. All together an excellent stay. Pen-y-Graig is most highly recommended. We shall return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at pen y graig for a birthday weekend on a recommendation and we'll definitely be going back for our next break. We had the most lovely time there, and the owners were so welcoming and kind. The house is charming, clean and comfortable with little touches that make everything that bit more special, we couldn't have asked for any more. All perfectly equipped with everything we needed.The bay area is beautiful (we took so many pictures!) and great for walks with friends. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zcwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhydwyn
8.1 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
315 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Woburn Hill Hotel
Woburn Hill Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Gadlys Country House Hotel
Gadlys Country House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
86 reviews
4.9 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
236 reviews
10.4 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen y Graig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen y Graig

Property: Pen y Graig
Address: Pen y Graig Church Bay | Isle of Anglesey, Rhydwyn LL65 4ES, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Rhydwyn
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Rhydwyn
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pen y Graig, Church Bay, Isle of Anglesey - Self Catering Holiday Farmhouse and Bed & Breakfast. Just 500m from Church Bay beach. The Front & Back Wings of the farmhouse, each sleeping 4 + cot (with sea views) can be booked individually or together. The Loft for B&B a self contained apartment to sleep 2 sharing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing