We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kremmling half-day float trip”

Arkansas Valley Adventures - Day Rafting
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Kremmling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whitewater Rafting trips on the famous Colorado River. Choose from scenic floats and inflatable kayak trips through mountain ranchland and canyons or the biggest Class V in the West: Gore Canyon! Our Kremmling office is located in the center of town and is convenient to Summit County, Winter Park, Steamboat and Vail. Free wetsuits. Click the red Trip Discounts button on or website for our daily deals! AVA was voted Best of Summit 3 times running!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kremmling half-day float trip”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was looking for a rafting trip that would be fun for three adults but safe for a three-year-old, and after reading the many good reviews on AVA's website, I decided to book their half-day float trip. It was WONDERFUL!! Our guide, Brendan, was very kind and easygoing, very skilled with the raft, and great with children. He made the trip fun for the adults and took us through some fun rapids, but he made sure we felt safe and comfortable having a child on board the whole time. We traveled with a couple other boats from the company, and all the other guides were great as well, very good with kids and just definitely making sure everyone had a good time. Very professional group of people. Also, the scenery on Little Gore Canyon was absolutely beautiful, some of the prettiest river scenery I have ever seen.We saw bald eagles and big horn sheep and had great mountain views. I recently moved to Colorado, and I will not hesitate to take family and friends on AVA trips again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    14
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best day of our vacation!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked the Colorado River all day trip and so happy with that decision. Justin was our guide for the day and I can't even begin to explain how happy we were that he was our guide. He is so knowledgeable of the area, rafting, hiking and fun! I went with my husband, mother-in-law, and kids (9,10,17, 19 & 20).

This was a really great day for the family. You have to work together as a team, we jumped the 30 foot jump into the water and there were some great moments (we got stuck on a rock and had to work our way out of it.. awesome!). I would recommend the full day trip, I would have been disappointed with only the half day as we were having so much fun and wanted to keep going!

Justin was really an amazing guide, if you can pick your guide, pick him! He explained a LOT of stuff to the kids, shared history of the area, made the trip very fun and encouraged the kids to be adventurous. They LOVED it and actually learned a thing or two!

On a side note, we did bring a small collapsible cooler for extra water, but didn't really need it. They provided an excellent lunch! Excellent sandwiches, fruit, avocado and more! We stopped at the "island" on the trip and hung out for awhile. We did rent a "duckie" boat that our 20 year old used, and then on the island, our younger kids were able to use it. It is a smaller inflatable boat that can be attached to the bigger one. Lots of fun and well worth it for older, stronger kids that want to tackle the river on their own.

Best day of our trip and I am looking forward to doing the next step up! Thanks Justin for an awesome day!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisab1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kremmling Rafting”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a great time on the 1/2 day trip with our family. It a was a good time for 1st time rafters and our 5 year old and 9 year old had a great time. We had a great guide that made it lots of fun!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memories for a Lifetime!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked at the last minute and with three 12 year old boys in tow...they were fabulous. We had a marvelous time and it has created memories for a lifetime! Our guide the "V Man" was terrific with the boys, showed them wildlife, shared history and played a few games with the raft. The boys have been talking about their adventure and are dying to go back! Thank you to the entire crew that pulls these trips together!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska, United States
1 review
“Great experience!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We took the Colorado River Float trip because our 7-year-old didn't weigh enough to do the Arkansas River trip. But, we certainly didn't miss out on any fun! Our guide, "V," was excellent and kept the trip fun for three young boys ages 14, 12 and 7. He pointed out wildlife that included four bald eagles, two golden eagles, big horn sheep, a coyote, trout and a vulture. He shared stories about the scenery and entertained the boys between the excitement of the rapids. This was an excellent experience for us. We felt safe and had a great time. Plus, lunch was fabulous! We would highly recommend this trip!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arkansas Valley Adventures - Day Rafting also viewed

 
Kremmling, Grand County
 

Been to Arkansas Valley Adventures - Day Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing