We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandma and Grandpa's House”
Review of Hotel Eastin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Eastin
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kremmling
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Grandma and Grandpa's House”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The hotel eastin is a home away from home. Maryann and Walt have such a great job keeping this historic land mark alive. For being 108years old I must say it is one of the most beautiful hotels in colorado. Sitting in the heart of small town kremmling you have just blocks to walk to get anywhere. The Eastin is so comfortable, maryann makes fresh cookies and pop corn on the weekends and Walt does all the restorations including making the head boards all him self. Absolutly adorible. I will be sure to send my family and friends.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the beautiful western rooms or the colorado room!! It really makes you get a sence fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timberlea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryannmv, Owner at Hotel Eastin, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We thank you for your review. I am so happy that you feel at home here at our hotel. We work very hard to keep our place clean and comfortable for our guest.

Maryann & Walt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    36
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
41
54
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Hotel Eastin reminded me of staying at my grandpa and grandma's. I have never felt more welcome at a hotel in my life. Mary Ann does a fantastic job of making sure everyone is comfortable- she even bakes cookies on Friday nights and keeps a mini kitchen stocked with teas and coffees for her guests' pleasure. My room was comfortable, each one has one or two little things that make it different than the others, mine had a sink and a very sassy pink vintage trash can. My favorite part about the stay was the appreciation I gained from learning how Mary Anne and Walt have taken Hotel Eastin and followed their dream to make it one of the most comforting hotels I've experienced yet. My least favorite part? That would have to be the gut wrenching feeling of leaving somewhere that feels so much like home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillian_H313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryannmv, Owner at Hotel Eastin, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank You for your review. We really enjoyed you staying with us. We are so happy that you picked this hotel for your first visit to Colorado .For your next visit we will be finished with the Colorado room and have the hot tub installed.

Maryann & Walt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Hotel Eastin is an amazing piece of history made user friendly for today! It is a clean, charming old hotel that takes you back in time. Maryann, the owner, is so very welcoming and she and her husband have done a remarkable job of renovating this treasure! You can tell how very much they love it! It is a unique and wonderful experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdbkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryannmv, Owner at Hotel Eastin, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank You so much for your review. Walt and myself are working very hard redoing the hotel. Our latest endeavor will be called the Colorado room and putting in a hot tub.. Watch for pictures in about 2 week on our website
Maryann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Aside from the old and very uncomfortable beds,no phone in the room, non existent water pressure, shower head that is at the height of a child, hideous shag carpet in the room, and yucky stinky pillows, we had to endure traffic noise all night through the window that we had to have open at the owner's suggestion because the radiator gets too hot, now I read from another review on this site that this hotel has bed bugs!!!!!! We were also charged an extra cleaning fee because apparently we brought in a few stray dog hairs that the owner was upset that she might have had to do something more than just make the beds. It started when they flat out accused us of sneaking our dog in, but when that didn't hold up, they settled on over exaggerating the presence of a few dog hairs. We weren't notified of the extra charge in any way, which should be standard ethical business practice, instead we discovered it upon balancing our bank account. Poor business and bed bugs make for a bad review from us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryannmv, Owner at Hotel Eastin, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
This review is the result of someone breaking the rules and getting caught, then making a loud stink to try to divert attention away. Like I said before, ranting and raving. Interesting enough, the tale gets longer and more and more is added each time they write. The first review was taken down by trip adviser. I won't waste any more time with this except to say we invite you to read the other 40 plus reviews and then be the judge yourself. 2 questionable reviews out of 46 and growing! I will say that this hotel has never had bedbugs but it's a nice touch for them to try to cast suspicion. Most of the beds have been replaced and all of the pillows, blankets and sheets just prior to them coming to our hotel.

Maryann & Walt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came up for the weekend and we were blown away by the hospitality and service. Maryann and Walt were exceptionally friendly and were very excited to show us their hotel. They have put love into every corner of this hotel. Highly recommended. Beautiful people, beautiful dream ---> beautiful hotel

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiesteaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryannmv, Owner at Hotel Eastin, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank You for your review We are working very hard on redoing the hotel and bringing it back to what it was years ago. We are also adding our special touch to each room.. Hope to see you both back soon.
Maryann & Walt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed last minite one nig, late, on way to Steamboat for the weekend. Walt waited up for us to arrive at 10:15pm, he was friendly and very kind! Showed us our room and shared the history of the bldg. which was very cool. Had a great nights sleep, the bed was so compfortable, best I've slept in ages. In the morning Maryann gretting us with a friendly hello and coffee and shared some amazing things to do in Kremmling. We will deffinitly be going back to Kremmling this summer for all of the oitdoor activities and staying at the Eastin Hotel! Here they treat you like family and both Walt and Maryann were kind, sweet, warm hearted and so friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CO_lady5683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryannmv, Owner at Hotel Eastin, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank You so much for your review. We are glad you truly enjoyed your stay with us and happy you will be come to see us this summer. We will have our hot tub put in and ready to go by the time you visit us, so don't forget you bathing suit.
Maryann & Walt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2014

So we were driving all day and we were planning on making it all the way to denver but it was late and we stopped in kremmling and needed a room. We found the eastin, and honestly im so happy we did. The were so nice there. The rooms were soo cool and different. Not like your average hotel, it was better :) a give it a 5/5!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baileyannspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryannmv, Owner at Hotel Eastin, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We thank You so much for your review of our hotel. Hope you had a nice time in Colorado.Hoping to see you again when you come this way again.
Maryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kremmling
0.2 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites of Kremmling
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Kremmling
Super 8 Kremmling
#3 of 3 in Kremmling
116 reviews
24.6 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#5 of 8 in Granby
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
The Canyon Motel
The Canyon Motel
#1 of 3 in Hot Sulphur Springs
170 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eastin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eastin

Property: Hotel Eastin
Address: 105 South Second St., Kremmling, CO 80459-0275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Kremmling
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kremmling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Eastin 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rocky Mountain Historic Hotel.The Eastin began in 1906 as a boarding house & sarsaparilla factory. In 1933 Lum Eastin added additons to create a modern hotel. Today Maryann & Walt Van Lue, Welcomes you to an enchanting hotel. The rooms are simply decorated with hotel antiques. The Hotel offers modern western rooms and comfort rooms with cable TV and private baths and some with microwaves and fridges or European style rooms with TV's and shared hall bathrooms. This past year we finished our Zane Grey room, to honor the great western novelist who stayed in room 120 and wrote "The Mysterious Rider". We are now working on the Colorado Room. The Colorado Room was finished this spring. We will be working on John Denver, Betsy Ross and John Wayne this fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Eastin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing