We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Colorado Nordic Destination!”
Review of Latigo Dude Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kremmling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Latigo Dude Ranch
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Once my husband and I found Latigo Ranch over 25 years ago, we have vacationed there every year, several times a year, for the best Nordic activities in Colorado that can be found. Miles of fabulous trails through lovely forests and great vistas. Cozy cabins and excellent food are delivered with warmth and graciousness. It's the best for a cross country skiing and snowshoeing getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandPofDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatigoRandy, Owner at Latigo Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Wow, we cherish these guests who have come for more than 25 years. They are not just guests, but friends, and we have a wonderful history together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Latigo Dude Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 154 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

We took a few days to relax, ski, and enjoy the solitude of Latigo. The food was fantastic, trails were groomed perfectly. We had such an enjoyable visit, the peace and quiet of the ranch in winter just can't be matched! Randy, Jim, and family made us feel at home. We loved the ski over to Red Ditch. I had a fantastic skate ski up on the ridge to view the Divide. We wrapped up our skiing with a late afternoon loop. Next time we will stay more than just two nights!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatigoRandy, Owner at Latigo Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

We are really pleased when first time guests get a taste of the beauty and quiet of Latigo in the winter. We look forward to seeing you again, and hope it will be sooner rather than later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We incorporated a trip to Latigo within our 3 week USA trip. We are all horseriders, our 7 year old son only recently though.

We wanted a full on riding experience as where we ride in Malaysia it is not possible for us to ride together or as regularly as we would like.

We were matched well to our horses and all thoroughly enjoyed our riding experiences. We are of differing abilities so it was great to be able to ride to our own levels and then also do a family ride on several occasions. Seeing my sons progress from day one to day 6 was amazing.

Our son went on this portion of the holiday protesting his hatred of riding and by the end of the week was trotting and verging on cantering, in fact the week we returned home he cantered (loped) for the first time by his own accord, with renewed enthusiasm. He was also first up every day to go riding and cried when he left! He misses Freckles still!

We had some bad weather so we not able to do some of the extra activities like the tee pee camp out and the wagon rides and ride to the BBQ but it did not spoil the experience.

Weather in August was surprisingly cold, we even had several hail storms, so take warm layered clothing. But the weather did not spoil the holiday at all, for us it was a welcome change being cooler.

The staff were very helpful and the food fabulous. Good fresh wholesome home cooked food with a little finesse. Perfect for kids and hungry riders. Always a snack on hand if you need it, but breakfast lunch and dinner was certainly enough for me.

Accomodation was basic cabins, we had a three bedroom which was perfect for our family of four. The one bedroom cabins a wee bit small for 3 people, only suitable for a couple.

Popcorn and sodas in the room daily and the cabins had a fireplace ( and yes we needed it in August it was COLD!) Central heating too, so in the cabins we were toasty.

Only complaint is beds were in need of replacing, not as comfortable as they could be, but being tired after a long days activities you manage to sleep ok.

Location is superb, surrounded by forrests and a variety of riding trails available up mountains and down valleys.

If a travelling as a couple this may not be ideal for you as it is pretty quiet in the evenings, most folks rolled off to bed after dinner. But for a family it is perfect as kids are completely worn out by the end of the day.

The week we were there it was entirely families and a perfect number of guests. Any more and it would have been too busy, less and not enough atmosphere.

Would highly recommend to anyone considering a family holiday.

The price is expensive, but the all inclusive price means all inclusive. Wranglers were not allowed nor would take any gratuities offered. Only extras were alcohol and souvenirs from the gift shop. So we didn't have any unexpected extras at the end of the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RSH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatigoRandy, Owner at Latigo Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

We are really glad that your visit with us at the Latigo Dude Ranch was the highlight of your 3 week visit to the USA. The weather is indeed quite variable here in the Colorado Rocky Mountains at 9,000 ft. above sea level. It's good advice for you to recommend that prospective guests plan on dressing in layers to be prepared. We have a program of upgrading our mattresses and will check into the ones where you stayed. Thanks again for spending time with us and for giving us such a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I felt so comfortable I did not want to leave. The riding and views are beautiful. The wranglers experienced and accommodating. They want you to have a good experience with your horse and your ride. The hospitality was heartwarming. I was greeted and offered ice cream. Jim helped me with my 900 lb luggage. All of the staff were so kind. Loved my week at Latigo. :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AllClear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatigoRandy, Owner at Latigo Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

We are indeed blessed to live in such a beautiful place and find great pleasure in helping others enjoy the Colorado Rocky Mountain dude ranch experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Outstanding Food, beautiful Western Atmosphere, great hosts, unbelievable scenery.
Great retreat from the modern plugged in world. Very nice remuda of horses for all levels and knowledgeable, friendly wranglers Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatigoRandy, Owner at Latigo Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Many of our guests find that getting away from the "plugged in world" really helpful in restoring their perspective. Glad we can provide this for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have been coming to Latigo every year for several years now. I always have a great time. The staff never disappiont me and the food and accomadations are excellent. They do an excellent job of providing rides that are set to riders abilities. So if you are an avdanced rider you will not have to walk with the novices. If you are a novice they will help to learn and increase your abilities. It is wonderful to watch the kids grow over the week at Latigo. Great fun to watch and help them herd cattle by the end of the week. I am going to be there this summer and plan to go every summer until I can't. Highly recommend this vacation for any who wants something unique.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatigoRandy, Owner at Latigo Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

We are eager to see Marc each year, actually several times each year. It is great to catch up with him and find out how his family is doing. I guess he just can't get enough of a good thing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We absolutely loved Latigo: the owners were professional, friendly, and extremely interesting and nice; the "wranglers" were college-age kids who were enthusiastic, capable, concerned for both our safety and our good time; we were well matched to our horses (of course, dude ranch horses are trained to walk in a line, following the gait and direction of the horse in front of them); they were extraordinary in accommodating our dietary needs (diabetic); the accommodations were comfortable, clean, warm and welcoming after a long day on the trail. The other guests were fun, too. All around, it was a really fun experience and we would love to go back (once we save up the money, it is rather expensive).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatigoRandy, Owner at Latigo Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

We are delighted that you had such a great time and are looking forward your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kremmling
10.8 mi away
Hotel Eastin
Hotel Eastin
#1 of 3 in Kremmling
172 reviews
10.6 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites of Kremmling
24.1 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Super 8 Kremmling
Super 8 Kremmling
#3 of 3 in Kremmling
123 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Latigo Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latigo Dude Ranch

Address: 201 County Rd 1911, Kremmling, CO 80459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Kremmling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kremmling
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latigo Ranch is a premier Dude & Guest Ranch in the heart of the Colorado Rocky Mountains. You'll enjoy our spectacular scenery and seclusion. Fabulous "nouveaux ranch cuisine" - wholesome, hearty, healthy, homemade. Our guests of all ages experience, explore, and engage in a wide range of activities. Our Winter Resort operations include XC skiing, snowshoeing, sledding and tubing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Latigo Dude Ranch & Nordic Hotel Kremmling
Latigo Dude Ranch And Nordic Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing