We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Scenery”
Review of Latigo Dude Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kremmling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Latigo Dude Ranch
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our family vacation at Latigo as two older parents and two twenty-something children. The horse riding was available to meet our individual experience and quite scenic. Other events, including archery, shooting, fishing and western “skills” nicely rounded out our time. Also, the higher elevation of the ranch, offered spectacular views. The owners, who actively run the ranch, made us feel like part of their family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatigoRandy, Owner at Latigo Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Glad you felt part of our family. It is truly a joy to share this spectacular scenery with our new friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 154 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here as a family in a somewhat damp August, and it was without doubt the very best holiday we've ever had. There's a magic in the atmosphere created by Jim, Randy and their families, and from the very beginning we felt completely at home.

The accommodations are 'of an age' but immaculately clean and well maintained, and you're not there to hide in your cabin - although after one huge cloudburst we were very happy to warm the kids up in front of the open fire. Food is everything it's promised to be - wholesome family recipes and plenty of it.

The stables, horses, wranglers and rides are a credit to the management team, beautifully organised and safely managed. We were initially a bit disappointed to be separated from the kids on our early rides, but of course this is a wise strategy which allows them to find their way without their parents breathing down their necks, and gives them a sense of freedom and independence. By the end of the week we weren't bothering to keep tabs on them, there was little harm they could come to.

For me, the highlight activities were the overnight camp, and the team cattle penning, where we got to put it all into practice. But the best bit was soaking up Jim's wisdom - imagine a warm and approachable version of Jack Palance and you won't be far off this remarkable host.

At the end of the week every family can design their own cattle brand and apply it to the woodwork in the main lodge. We've designed ours so that it needs to be finished on a return trip. Time to start saving up for that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HammockDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatigoRandy, Owner at Latigo Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

The branding of our Historic Log Lodge by guests like you has been lots of fun. It is one of the highlights of our dude ranch activities. We too want you to come back and finish your brand. More importantly, we just want you to come back and have a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our family just returned home after a week at Latigo Ranch. Many tears were shed as we packed our bags, as our experience at Latigo was beyond our (very high) expectations. Every aspect of our stay was superlative - the setting, the staff, the trails, the cabins and the food. We selected Latigo because our research indicated that it was one of the best dude ranches in the country, and it appeared to provide an authentic ranch experience. How true! We are beginner riders but by the end of the week were trotting and loping easily thanks to the experienced, patient and kind wranglers. Each of our kids, aged 5, 8 and 11, is begging to return. Many thanks to the Yost and George families and their warm and accommodating staff for a most memorable family vacation. We hope to have the pleasure of visiting with you again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatigoRandy, Owner at Latigo Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Sorry to make you cry, but glad that your time with us as a family was so meaningful. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is the fifth time we have stayed at Latigo in the last eight years. We go every other year and started when our high school senior was just barely able to ride. We have always had a great time. The horses, the trails, the wranglers, the food and the views are amazing! It is a small ranch, usually no more than five or six families at a time, and you really get a chance to know the other families. We literally met people from all over the world! The ranch is surrounded on three sides by national forest, so the the trails are great. In a week, you never ride the same trail twice. The two couples who own and run it are clearly pros at what they do, and spending a week just getting to know them (or know them better) is worth the price of admission alone. We have had have had friends of our who have stayed there and they have had a wonderful time. I could go on and on, but suffice to say, our family would recommend this ranch without reservation!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnkoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatigoRandy, Owner at Latigo Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

5th time back in 8 years! Our hope is that guests come, become our friends, and then become part of our extended family. It is our privilege to have you and so many other guests come back to our ranch year after year..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were excited about going to a dude ranch this summer, but our experience at Latigo Dude Ranch far exceeded our expectations. Located in beautiful mountains with just enough isolation to make the setting authentic, the staff, food and rooms captivated us from day 1. Our twelve year old daughter loved the fact that she got to ride the same horse every day and we all enjoyed the gentle lessons and tips that the wranglers provided. In addition to lots of riding, there was everything 'cowboy' to do: learning to country dance, making a brand, hatchet throwing, shooting, fishing, hiking and much more. The food was scrumptious, creative and plentiful. We give Latigo an unqualified 'two hands up'!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatigoRandy, Owner at Latigo Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

"Exceeding expectations" and 2 thumbs up. Thanks, we're honored. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had a chance to stay at Latigo this past week, and the experience was even better than I could have imagined. I did my research on Latigo before arriving, and the fact that they are among the highest rated dude ranches in the US (and, I'd argue, thus in the world) is an understatement to say the least. The people there are absolutely fantastic, providing both the experience and professionalism you respect and the humor and personal touch your family will love. The livestock are of the highest quality, the cabins are extremely comfortable and well maintained during your stay, and if you leave a meal hungry, it's your own fault: they will feed you until you can eat no more!

From someone who works with horses, their herd is also top-notch: an excellent mix of horses for any rider, including those who have never ridden before. I highly recommend Latigo for your next vacation trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatigoRandy, Owner at Latigo Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

We enjoy teaching novices about horses, but it is also heartwarming to hear great things about our herd from someone who works with horses. Thanks. The Latigo Dude Ranch herd is currently enjoying a well-deserved winter rest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our family of 8 with 3 children had a spectacular time. The owners and staff were knowlegable, fun and helpful. They provide activities for all ages..never a dull moment. The cabins are very nice,livestock well maintained and food terrific. Of course the scenery is marvelous.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kremmling hotels
10.8 mi away
Hotel Eastin
Hotel Eastin
#1 of 3 in Kremmling
173 reviews
10.6 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites of Kremmling
10.9 mi away
Super 8 Kremmling
Super 8 Kremmling
#3 of 3 in Kremmling
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latigo Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latigo Dude Ranch

Address: 201 County Rd 1911, Kremmling, CO 80459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Kremmling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kremmling
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latigo Ranch is a premier Dude & Guest Ranch in the heart of the Colorado Rocky Mountains. You'll enjoy our spectacular scenery and seclusion. Fabulous "nouveaux ranch cuisine" - wholesome, hearty, healthy, homemade. Our guests of all ages experience, explore, and engage in a wide range of activities. Our Winter Resort operations include XC skiing, snowshoeing, sledding and tubing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Latigo Dude Ranch And Nordic Center
Latigo Dude Ranch & Nordic Hotel Kremmling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing