We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Der Fondue Chessel

Der Fondue Chessel
Ranked #19 of 38 Restaurants in Keystone
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Highway 6
Taylorsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful place to ring in the New Year. The Gondola ride to the peak of the mountain from the beautiful architect of the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christijenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    38
    22
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Please Don't Waste Your Money!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This experience was so outrageously terrible that I am dumbfounded by the positive reviews it has otherwise received on TripAdvisor. I guess people enjoy wasting money on grocery store chicken and pork self-cooked on George Foreman grills for $75/head ($60 + 20% automatic gratuity for average service plus 6% Keystone fee). Oh and by the way, the kids price (still outrageous $30/head) only applies to kids 12 and under, so suddenly my 13 year old is an adult. Not to mention that if you want shrimp or "beef" it's an additional upcharge per person. Prepare your stomach as you will feel queasy for at least 24 hours from eating the grease and likely poorly prepared poultry. If you enjoy eating at Huddle House for $75/head, your dream has come true. By the way, you can't see much of anything at night in the gondola, and it's freezing. Good times!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank purduecoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
160 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Fun, Unique, Family Venue, Don't Miss the Opportunity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Believe it or not, we planned to come 3 years ago spring break only to find it closed, so one of the reasons we returned to Keystone was to visit this restaurant, and we are from Michigan! And indeed, this restaurant and the sister Alpen Glow Stube were the highlights of our trip. That's saying a lot. The Gondola is unique, but the atmosphere with the Austrian band and family atmosphere complete with huge fireplace and cozy, friendly bavarian flare made us want to enjoy the experience throughout. We did. The food was better than expected and completely filling. The cheese fondues were delicious to start as was the Caesar salad. We had a party of six so we were able to have 2 different kinds of cheese, both good and a little different. You can have the standard chicken and pork or upgrade your meat by switching it our or adding more. For our group, there was significant pork and chicken left over, but the beef upgrades were by far the favorite so I would suggest switching out half your pork and/or chicken for the beef, though that will cost you about $8 per switch. Really, at the $60 per person price, might as well go for 2 orders of beef switched out. I dont think you can go wrong with the dessert fondue, but we upgraded to the turtle fondue so we could "roast marshmallows" over the flaming alcohol. That upgrade wasn't worth it, just stick to the milk or dark chocolate and save your upgrades for the beef. Besides, you are so full by this point, a couple of strawberries in the chocolate are all you can eat, yet somehow we ate every bite of dessert. Why dont we all just melt more chocolate at home, it is so good! The service was a bit slow for us, but we were there the busiest week of the year, so we just relaxed. Here is a small tip to consider. We flew in from Michigan, the skied, swam and went to fondue on day 2. By the end of the day, altitude sickness hit 2 of us, likely because we overdid it on day 2. Just a thought to consider saving this restaurant towards the end of your visit when you are more acclimated, and it will be a highlight. And the oxygen did help from the general store. If you think you have the flu, chances are...so get help early for the altitude and it may save the rest of your trip. I watched a lot of Disney channel instead of skiing for the next 3 days with a sick child. Very expensive way to watch Disney. Anyway, hope you enjoy this fantastic experience. We talk about it now that we are back home more than the skiing...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wysfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
149 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great but surprise fees included!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had a great time eating fondue type food at the top of the mountain! It was fun (there was a German band) and the food was good ! We expected to pay a lot due to the fact it was on top of the mountain but I was definitely disappointed when there was a $28.00 Keystone fee added on. I thought that fact should have been disclosed when I made reservations.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank VacationGirl222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Christmas Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

A must see! A great experience and service and food was excellent. Our family enjoyed the gondola ride.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kkmax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Der Fondue Chessel also viewed

 

Been to Der Fondue Chessel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing