We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Buffalo Lodge 8351 - Perfect for Three” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Buffalo Lodge 8351 - Perfect for Three”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Visited Keystone resort 1st week of April 2012. Used www.VRBO.com to book the 1 bedroom/1 bath unit. Unit sits in the River Run Village, a cluster of shoppes, stores, eateries and condos that flank the Gondola. The unit is about 175 yards from the lift (I paced it) and the village area contains pull carts that scatter throughout to carry your equipment. The carts are supplied by Keystone and the workers make sure there are plenty for your use throughout the day. Very convenient. The unit is quaint, very small 1 bedroom but loaded with comforts and amenities. The unit is spotless, clean, and equipped with kitchen, plates, dishwasher for use in a small working kitchen and adjacent dining table. This unit is perfect or a couple, or three max as four people would be crowded due to the small size. Master bedroom is beautifully decorated queen bed/small flat screen and the living room has a pullout couch, flat screen TV, gas fireplace and a small deck that does not have a ski mountain view but view of the mountains and parking lot for the River Run ski area entrance. The management company is available in the building and acts as the hotel manager of sorts. There is underground parking and this place is ultra convenient. We requested extra humidifiers and two were supplied in the units. You need it. Complaints of noisy hallways and outside noise due to buses and the like are somewhat true as the walls are fairly thin. We heard conversations and running in the hallways frequently and there are machines or equipment that make noise during the night and early mornings, I never got up to see what they were but it is not too loud or disruptive. With the humidifiers running, it lessens the distraction. There is a set of jacuzzi tubs on the ground floor (one was not working the entire stay) and a common room with a few pool tables, couches and a big screen TV. You can share the adjacent condo pool which is a few steps from the unit at the Dakota Lodge next door.

This place is absolutely perfect for a ski vacation in Keystone although, due to the lack of snow, we ventured to Arapahoe Basin (6 miles) and Copper Mountain (15 miles) during our stay. Plenty of food options in the River Run Village but bring your wallet, Vail owns this area and prices are just unrealistic so don't get too surprised, you know what you are getting. All in all, the rates were reasonable compared to other similar units in River Run and is extremely comfortable, clean and convenient, what more can you ask for? All in all, I highly recommend this unit in particular, the Buffalo 8351 for rental.

Room Tip: 8351 is just fine.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank We3ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
5
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Littleton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Yes, this is in a great location in the river run village of Keystone. Walk to everything, Gondola is about 200 yeards away through the village. Very easy to get to. However, its not very well built- meaning- the walls are thin. It was so noisy all day and night long. Hard to sleep- unless you have earplugs. Great access to pool, hot tubs, sauna, lots of great amenities. Hopefully you are so worn out from skiing all day you pass out into a hard deep sleep! Great for families!

Room Tip: NOT facing the courtyard. Facing the north parking lot is nice- very few rooms face slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rado_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

My family of four stayed in this condo for a week in June. This unit is on the 5th floor facing the River Run courtyard, good view of mountain and ski lift, but a little bit blocked by the opposing building's roof. The 2-bedroom/2b-baths was nicely furnished, clean, well-maintained. Water pressure is low, but is probably is an Earth-friendly measure. According to the management desk, every condo is supposed to have a fan (or two) because there is no A/C, but ours did not. We left our windows and door to the balcony open all day/night. At night, we couldn't sleep because it was warm in the bedrooms; no air circulated and no breeze from the outside. Because our windows were always open, we could hear everything going on the the courtyard - kids riding bikes, parents calling out to their kids, people leaving the restaurants/bars, and workers cleaning up or setting up tents for next day's activities. Of the Buffalo Lodge units, ours is one of the farthest from the rest of River Run that leads to the gondola and restaurants/bars/common areas, and we still had noise. There are no washer/dryer in the condo so we used the common one that was down the hall from us. The laundry room was clean, the machines were clean. The lodge has two small hot tubs and allows pool privilege at the Dakota Lodge. The pool there was nice, the hot tubs were bigger. There are only two elevators, and only one of which goes to the parking levels. This is probably a problem during peak season. The beds were hard, some pillows were hard. The balcony is narrow.

There is a nice mini putt putt and playground in the common area surrounded by the Buffalo Lodge, Dakota, and Expedition Station. Good play area for the kids.

Overall, we liked this condo and would stay here again. Next time, we'd be sure that there are fans in the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The location is unbeatable and the condo is comfortable and cozy. We came for a friend's wedding and will definitely be coming back for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank katearoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauldin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stay at the Buffalo Lodge for five days and found our one bedroom unit to be perfect for the two of us, not sure it would work that well for more people. Clean confortable and everything in working order. Great central location and only a short distance to the ski lifts. Although the unit had a ski locker, we found it more convenient to store skis at the storage facility across from main gondola only $5 per night... beats carrying skis and poles. This was our first time to Keystone and we loved everything about it... we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

So when you pay roughly $120 a night for a 1bdrm ski in/out condo during peak ski season your expectations aren’t very high, however we were pleasantly surprised with this lodge and our unit #8340. Everything was clean and for the most part working. The ski locker on the first floor and underground parking were great! Our condo was also equipped with 2 large flat screen TV’s with cable and a gas fireplace. What more could you ask for? The walk to the gondola was one of the easiest we’ve had. The only negatives are what some have already mentioned. The sink in the bathroom was very inconvenient; hit me at about my waist with a shelf hanging over it. It can get pretty noisy since it’s right near the common area. The bed was really hard. Also, we had possibly one of the first 7-segment LED alarm clocks ever manufactured in our bedroom. The alarm was set and none of the buttons worked, so we unplugged it. All in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This seems to be a resort where one management company owns the whole thing and so once you have arrived there isn't any reason to compete for your business and minimal incentive to provide a good experience.

I stayed here because I was attending a conference, but would never recommend it for a personal vacation.

As a conference goer, I have no need for a condo or a kitchen, but the resort doesn't provide hotel rooms in walking distance to the main lift. So, I booked a studio at River Run. I thought that just meant the bedroom would be in a single room with the living room and a small size kitchen. But the kitchen was large, the living area had a table for six, and the bed was a Murphy style bed that dropped from the wall directly blocking the access to and from the room. I am surprised it isn't a fire code violation because you have to climb over the bed to get to either the main part of the room or the hallway/bathroom entrance. And the bed was rock hard and uncomfortable.

After arriving late at night, I was too exhausted to change rooms until the next morning. All the other available studios also had Murphy beds and as these are condos and the mattresses aren't standardized there was no saying what might have a more or less comfortable bed. I ended up spending an addditional $70 per night to get a 1 bedroom so that I could sleep at night. In the end, my dissatisfaction was their gain.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brusheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Keystone hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keystone hotels
1.4 mi away
Keystone Lodge & Spa
Keystone Lodge & Spa
#1 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpine Slopes Lodge
Alpine Slopes Lodge
#2 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Keystone
Inn at Keystone
#3 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riverbank Condominiums at River Run Village
1.7 mi away
Keystone Village
Keystone Village
#5 of 33 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain House
Mountain House
#14 of 33 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village

Property: Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village
Address: 150 Dercum Sq, P.O. Box 8456, Keystone, CO 80435-7727
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Lodge At River Run Village Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing