We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful meal and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ski Tip Lodge

Ski Tip Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Ski Tip Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $78
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Come back to where it all began for Keystone. This former 1800s stagecoach stop has been transformed into a cozy bed and breakfast that boasts some of the best food this side of the Continental Divide. Step inside and you may never want to leave as the aroma of delicious cuisine fills the air. Experience the rotating four-course dinner menu and thoughtful service that continues to get rave reviews. Top off the night in a comfortable seat next to a rustic fireplace with a selection from Ski Tip's famed desserts. Join us for Apres from 3p-5p for drink specials and a la carte appetizers. No reservations needed for Apres, not available on private event days please call ahead for availability. Our dining room seats from 5:45p-6:30p and then again from 8p-8:45p for our 4-course dinner. Reservations are required.
Denver
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a historic location with some of the best food and services on the planet. Excellent service but don't expect it to be inexpensive! But well worth it if you like unique fine dining.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WinstonWWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    17
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayzata, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
166 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect Private Dinner Party!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our group of 10 reserved the private room (called the Library). We were well served by Kurtis--who invited us to enjoy cocktails on the lovely patio outside and then sit down to dinner in this charming private room. The menu was spectacular, especially the pork belly appetizer. We had lovely wine to go with dinner, based on Kurtis' recommendations. It was a special evening enjoyed by all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A truly exceptional experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the charming, cozy atmosphere, to the impeccable, friendly service, to the delightfully, delicious meal ... everything was exceptional!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaCrandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
355 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Wow - Great meal, atmosphere and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were visiting friends who rent a condo in Keystone every summer. They selected and made reservations for us at the Ski Tip Lodge. Boy was it first class! Everything was great. They offer a "fixed price menu" which is a 4-course gourmet meal. We started with cocktails on their outdoor patio and enjoyed watching beavers swim across the ponds immediately behind the lodge. For a starter, 3 of us chose the creamy asparagus soup while my friend had the wild game stew. Next 3 of us had their special salad of the night which was a very interesting mixture of Romaine, grilled fennel, olives, blue cheese crumbles, capers and several other delicious ingredients. My wife opted for the lightly seared tuna salad. My wife and I had venison chops while my friend had lamb chops and his wife had duck breast. Everything was exquisite. We enjoyed a nice bottle of d'Arenberg GSM (Grenache, Syrah & Mourvedre) wine from Australia which was recommended by the excellent sommelier. Desserts and coffee were taken in their "lounge", a very cozy separate room. We enjoyed a lemon tart in a white chocolate impregnated crust with loads of fresh blueberries on top and a lemon panna cotta. All the staff are absolutely top quality and very welcoming. It was a special meal with special friends. It is not inexpensive but well worth the price for such a quality dining experience on a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaroonDawg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Special Occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was the fourth or fifth time we have eaten at the Ski Tip. It provides an intimate setting and special occasion. As it is so popular, it is a good idea to get an early seating if table preference is important. Whether one has dessert by the fireplace or on the patio to enjoy the gorgeous view (in summer), the rustic beauty of the Rockies shines through.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1apple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ski Tip Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Ski Tip Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing