We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great food at high altitude” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenglow Stube

Alpenglow Stube
Reserve with OpenTable
Alpenglow Stube is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 38 Restaurants in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food at high altitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The food was excellent, and very beautifully presented. careful with the cocktails, the thinner air makes the alcohol hit you harder. My wife, who is afraid of heights, wanted to go to this place so much she was willing to take the gondola ride (sitting on the floor so she did not see the scenery or how high up it was) there and back. And she said it was definitely worth it. If you are in the area, do not miss this.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank M0rgoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    24
    9
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

great dining experience. the gondola ride up in the dark is worth the trip. get a couple of blankets for the way up. food was very good, scallops were excellent as well as the soups. Good portions.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting with outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

What a relaxing experience! First time in the winter. You are greeted with slippers to get you cozy after your ride up in the gondola (with blankets) We had a table in front of the fireplace, with BOB as our waiter. He was excellent. Great wine recommendations. Our blue crab ragout was nice, butternut squash soup was really good, but the snapper with crab and red pepper/onion compote was like buttah! We weren't rushed and couldn't have had a more pleasant evening.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alioop62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chernivtsi, Ukraine
Level Contributor
165 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing sunday brunch again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was our second sunday brunch experience here, beautiful setting, you get to take your ski boots off and change them for slippers, sit by the fire with your mimosa, eat an amazing brunch, serving staff are so pleasant and helpful, really is a pure delight to go here!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Princess__l0ul0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good food in a warm & cozy setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had dinner here last night. The ride in the gondola was approximately 25 minutes but can take up to 45 minutes depending upon the wind, etc. It's a really neat ride in the dark because it's like your magically floating to an unknown place. When you arrive at the restaurant you're greeted right away and offered slippers.
We were early for our reservation so we had a cocktail at the bar. Mike, the bartender, was very entertaining and engaged in good conversation with us. Ask him about his diet coke with a splash of coke he makes :)
We were seated at a very cozy table in front of the fireplace & were impressed by the personalized menu. The service was very good, all of the waitstaff were kind & attentive. The crab appetizer is delicious as is the beet salad & butternut squash soup. Our entrees took an extended amount of time to come out. I ordered the halibut and my husband had the bone-in ribeye, both had been over cooked. The ribeye had a lot of fat on it and in our opinion was not a $45 piece of meat. When the GM came around to ask how it was we explained as such and he was very apologetic. He made good on it and we were happy. We finished dinner with the cheesecake and pumping creme brûlée, both were delicious!
Unfortunately we couldn't see the magnificent view everyone speaks of but I'm sure it's beautiful.

Helpful?
Thank i2smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpenglow Stube also viewed

 

Been to Alpenglow Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing