We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Mountain Location and Views; Food Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenglow Stube

Alpenglow Stube
Hwy 6, Ride Gondola From River Run Base Area, Keystone, CO 80435
(970) 468-4386
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alpenglow Stube is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 38 Restaurants in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Awesome Mountain Location and Views; Food Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently went to the Alpenglow Stube with his parents for his 30th birthday. We had been told the Alpenglow could give many of NY's finest restaurants a run for their money but I can say from our experience this is the case only as relates to the location and the fantastic mountain views. Certainly you cannot beat the experience of taking the gondola up to the top of Keystone and enjoying the breathtaking Rocky Mountains but once inside, things were a mixed bag. The good: the ambiance and service were excellent - very friendly and attentive waitstaff without being "stuffy" and delicious bread basket. The bad: food, generally -- we found most of what we ordered (two of us did the tasting menu and two ordered ala carte) to be just OK. Highlights were the cherry elk consomme and blue crab ragout (both appetizers). The lamb chops were prefectly cooked but could have been trimmed a bit better and the polenta served with the lamb was overwhelmingly salty. Overall, excellent service and location but there are numerous spots for better food around the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NYCTraveller323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    24
    9
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing View and Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We went here to celebrate a special birthday. What an amazing night. In order to get there you had two different gondola rides and beautiful mountain views to take in on the way up. We were greeted warmly. Our menus had a special greeting for our birthday celebration. The food was fabulous and the view was spectacular. definitely not your average dinner out. it was
pricey but oh so worth it!!! Then what an I credible ride back down the mountain on the gondola by moonlight. They gave us fleece blankets for the trip down. Highly recommend it! Beth was our server and she was fabulous....knowledgable, helpful and so friendly. Don't miss the chance to have a special dining event!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bebo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great experience with an outstanding dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Gondola ride fantastic. Atmosphere great and food superb. The chefs seafood was very good. Well worth the trip to the top of the mountain. Take a sweater. 45 degrees in August at 11,500 feet. Very different for a South Carolina low country resident who lives 14 feet above sea level.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique treat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went here on the spur of the moment, not realizing what it would cost. Be ready to open the pocketbook. But also be ready to have your taste buds amazed! We loved the gondola ride there. As I said, we went on the spur of the moment, mainly because the kids wanted to take the ride. We were dressed in hiking clothes, but the staff did not treat us differently. They were amazing. The kids were impressed overall, even though they did not appreciate every course. I was VERY impressed. Trout entree was the best I've ever had, as was the bread and Creme brulee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yellowmom2919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top of the Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have traveled to Summit County for years but never got to the Alpenglow Stube. We were there in July and took a 6:00 pm reservation in order to enjoy the view on the gondola rides. We were seated by a window in a relatively quiet corner as per our advance request. Service, food and wine and atmosphere were festive and excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1apple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpenglow Stube also viewed

 

Been to Alpenglow Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing