We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a 4 star dinner on the moon - half the adventure is getting there.”
Review of Alpenglow Stube

Alpenglow Stube
Reserve with OpenTable
Alpenglow Stube is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 37 Restaurants in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Like a 4 star dinner on the moon - half the adventure is getting there.”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

On February 8th 2012 three skiing buddies decided to go all out and have dinner at the top of Keystone Mountain at the Apenglow Stube.

The adventure began after we checked in at the base of the gondola in Keystone's River Run area. They provide each of us with a blanket and a ski pass to get on the gondola. We skirted right past the die-hard skiers who are queued up for night skiing and got on our own gondola car for the journey up the hill. We brought along our own beverages for the 2 gondola ride to the top of the mountain (shhh don't tell). "With a vertical rise of 2,307 feet and average trip time of less than 12 minutes, the new eight-passenger River Run Gondola will transport about 2,400 people per hour" After the first gondola ride we walked through the blowing snow over to the Outpost Gondola for another 7 minute ride up to 11,444 feet. Yes it's dark (one reviewer complained) but it's a surreal journey over the night skiers to the top of one of Colorado's premier ski resorts and the beginning of a very unique dining experience.

Upon check in at the restaurant we received our own pair of slippers to use for the evening. We were delighted to each be handed a custom dinner menu that welcomed us by party name. We opted for the "all in' experience: Seven Course Dégustation Menus $99 at per person plus optional wine parings. The course items were totally at the chef choice and were full of surprises including mother of pearl spoons with which to eat the caviar. The wine parings were very well matched to the wide variety of food we enjoyed.

With 3 of us at the table they offered 2 of us identical meals and the 3rd different items throughout the evening. At first we thought this was odd but enjoyed tasting the different selections. The soup course was the only weak link as it was totally tasteless and we didn't hesitate to express our disappointment when the manager asked how the meal was going. She discounted our (hefty) bill on her own initiative.

The other disappointment was the nervousness of our waiter. He seemed very inexperienced as he painstakingly read the description of each course to us. What could have been a fun, educational, introduction to each course ended up feeling like we were watching someone being forced into a public speaking engagement reading someone else's speech. I guess they have a lot of staff turnover.

Overall we had a wonderful time. Came down the hill generally delighted and signifcantly lighter in the wallet. ($188 a head).

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    30
    9
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better than Excellent”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Visited the 'Stube' on 2/8/12. Our first visit was a year ago, and it pretty much blew us away. This year, we came back with friends..... and were blown away again! This is a true experience. You start by checking in at the base of Keystone mountain where they give you blankets to keep warm on the spectacular gondola ride. Be sure to dress warm (jacket, gloves, hat, pants are appropriate) and go early so you can see the mountain! You are also provided special dinner gondola tickets that move you right to the front of the line. The ride is about 25 minutes or so - about half way through you change to another gondola that takes you for a scenic ride down the backside of the mountain - just beautiful. When you arrive at the Stube, you are greeted with friendly smiles and provided some warm shoes to slip into and options of cocktails, wine or coffee drinks while you wait for your table. This is a good time to start reviewing the off-the-hook wine list. There are big wood beams surrounding the sitting and dining areas, nice music, a fireplace, a rustic feel and a truly relaxing (or romantic) atmosphere makes you feel right at home. The menu options are fantastic - we went with the 7 course 'let the chef go nuts' option. Pacing was perfect and our server 'Bob' was top notch - probably one of the best servers we have ever had, and the entire staff was awesome - great job guys! Give yourself plenty of time to really get into the experience - we finished up after about 4 hours total. If you are a couple or if you don't hang around like we did, it may be more or less depending on your love of wine. Remember, this is a dining experience so take your time. The gondola ride back is cold but you are again provided blankets - oh and make sure to get something hot to drink for the ride back! If we could give Alpenglow Stube a higher ranking than 5 we would. Highly recommended - you will remember the experience forever!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaycin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Door County WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best value for lunch”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is still the best value for lunch on the mountain when you are skiing. It is maybe $10 more than the hamburger and fries you find on the mountain, but well worth it (atmosphere, food, slippers, etc.). I did like it better when they had the antipasto bar, but it is still great. I have never been there for dinner.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hereIamDoorCountyWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
171 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“I wanted to write a good review............. but can't!”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

One part of me loves the Alpenglow Stube and the other part hates it.

Here’s why.

Hate - The gondola trip to get to the restaurant was terrible. You ride 2 godolas to get there and it was fricken freezing. We had on our long underwear from skiing that day, but we still froze. Plus it was pitch black, you couldn’t see anything anyways. They need to give out more than one blanket for the ride up.

Love – When you get to the restaurant, they take your shoes and give you these cute little slippers to wear. That was a nice touch.

Love – The atmosphere of the Alpenglow Stube is very nice and rustic. We were seated right in front of the fireplace and it was very romantic.

Hate – My wife ordered the whole Maine lobster and it came out raw. She tried to eat the tail but it would not come out of the tail shell. It was stuck in there. I mean when you get a cooked lobster, the tail comes right out of the tail shell. This one didn’t. Finally I said to her, “let me try a bite”. It was stringy and crunchy and rubbery. It was transluscent in color, not white and opaque like cooked lobster is supposed to be. It was raw lobster.

This ruined the entire meal. I mean it is pretty hard to screw up cooked lobster, but they did it. Oh, they comped us for two after-dinner drinks for $20. Hardly fair for screwing up our entire meal.

Hate – I had the buffalo dish. It tasted like beef pot roast. Nothing special. When I am paying $45 for an entrée I think it should be stunning. This wasn’t.

Hate – I had the goat cheese – cheese cake. It was burnt on the top and on the bottom. I would not recommend this dish to anyone.

In summary, go to the Alpenglow Stube just once for the experience. But don’t be surprised if the food ruins the visit because the food is not good.

We don’t recommend it more than once. We won’t be back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Little_guy_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect break in the middle of some serious skiing!”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

When your dining experience starts with the host taking your ski boots and offering slippers, you know you are in for a special treat! The Chef's table is a special experience as well. We went twice last week and Chef David provided a pre-appetizer of off-the-menu scallops. What a nice touch. I won't ski Keystone without that great lunch again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MVPLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpenglow Stube also viewed

 

Been to Alpenglow Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing