We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ski Tip Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Alpine Slopes Lodge(Keystone)(Great Value!)
$87
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$171
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$120
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Condominiums(Keystone)(Great Value!)
$182
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain House(Keystone)(Great Value!)
$123
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Lakeside Village(Keystone)(Great Value!)
$119
$107
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$308
$283
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
68
16
5
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
16
5
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspecial eveningwonderful dinnerbreakfast each morningcomfy seatingtotal billdinner servicehuge fireplacelounge areariver runliving roomkeystone areasommeliernoisebnblodgecoloradomegan
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 100 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a tiny room in a wonderful old building. The core was built in the 1860s. Although small, the rooms were clean and the staff was amazing. We were close to everything and the free shuttle even took us to Breckinridge. Great vacation stay for everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sscott20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The staff (and food!) were beyond compare during our recent 5-night ski vacation. Such a welcoming home away from home at the end of an exhausting day on the slopes. A warm drink in front of a roaring fire .... how cozy! And breakfast each morning was amazing!!! We will definitely return!! Don't miss this intimate way to experience time in the beautiful Rockies!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraLee907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I just spent two nights at Ski Tips, the 150+-year old former stagecoach stop, and can't recommend it highly enough. The staff is absolutely outstanding in their desire to make you comfortable and happy. Dinner was pricey (though overnight guests enjoy a 15% discount) but delicious and the service impeccable. Dessert by the fire in the lounge was lovely (and what desserts they were!). Impossible to believe that the amazing breakfast offerings were included in the price of the room. Unfortunately, we didn't take advantage of the complementary mid-day snacks and afternoon "tea", but I wish we had. If you can't live without a tv don't stay here, but if you want a charming, delightful, peaceful experience -- it can't be beat. Minutes to the slopes of Keystone, and a shuttle runs every 20 minutes from right across the street.

Room Tip: Room # 7 ("Sunriose) is a corner room with private bath and a very comfy bed! Right over the dining room but we didn't experience any issues with noise. This room is also right next to an outdoor entrance which takes you downstairs to the parking area -- very convenient because you don't have to lug your stuff through the dining room on the way in/out.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kabloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had a business dinner here quite a while ago. The ambience is nostalgic and cozy. I had the bison filet and my partner had the lamb cheeks. Both exquisite. Great flavor and perfectly prepared. We then had dessert in the main room with the fireplace, relaxing and talking. I would love to stay at the lodge with my husband because it seemed very romantic.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eudelano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Ski Tip Lodge in Keystone, Colorado (Lodging)
We stayed at Ski Tip Lodge for three nights in June and really enjoyed our stay.

Originally built as a stagecoach stop in the 1880s and opened as the first ski lodge in the state in the 1940s, the lodge itself is a bit of an architectural mishmash: Part Swiss chalet, part log cabin, part Italian villa. Don’t be put off by that: Inside, it is simply a glorious log cabin, with hand-hewn log walls, picture windows overlooking a mountain pond, and huge fireplaces. The public rooms on the main floor are comfortable and full of character, perfect for relaxing at the end of the day. There is full bar service and a well-chosen and interesting wine list is also available.

The downside of staying at the Ski Tip Lodge is that it is old, with small, somewhat quirky guest rooms that are in need of updating. Our hot water was, perhaps, shared with the kitchen. Each morning, halfway through an otherwise perfect shower, the water would turn sizzling hot and stay that way. There was no changing it. My husband, showering in mid-morning after the kitchen had closed and most other guests were off for the day, never had this problem. (I think the diverter was broken, limiting the amount of cold water reaching the shower, as the faucet below didn’t have this extreme temperature problem.) Other quirks included a cabinet (the only place to put clothes) that would only stay closed when completely empty, leaving us dodging the edges of the door every time we needed to cross the room to, say, use the bathroom. The stairs and guest room halls are narrow and the tiny window had an uninspiring view of the roof and the parking lot. When we were there, internet access was not available. While clean and comfortable enough, the guest rooms are not high class accommodations.

But then, the real reason to stay here (besides those public rooms with the massive fireplaces) is the acclaimed restaurant. The breakfast included in the room rate is not to be missed, with a broad selection of items available, including a couple gourmet options cooked to order. There are always fresh cookies available, should one need a big of an energy lift during the day. However, the real highlight is the wonderful four-course fixed price dinner available in the lodge’s restaurant. Lodge guests get a 15% discount on dinner, which makes it a good value, and there is a three-course children’s menu available. The night we ate there the menu included two soup choices, two salad options, 4-6 meat and fish entrees, and another half dozen desserts. The beautifully prepared and presented meals consist mostly of traditional entrees given a fresh, modern flair. Servings are large and dessert is served either in the plain Jane dining room or in one of those wonderful public rooms with the log walls and antique furnishings. Wine pairings are also available, but are not eligible for the guest discount.

Both lodge and food/beverage service was excellent, with a staff that is competent, happy to be working here, and eager to please their guests. It feels a lot like being a guest in someone’s home.

The lodge is walking distance to the lifts at River Run and is served by the resort shuttle.

Even though the guest rooms aren’t anything special, I would gladly stay here again just for the ambiance and the restaurant discount. It’s a chance to live in a piece of history for a few days and to eat very, very well while doing so.

Room Tip: Rooms above the dining room tend to be noisier.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorationVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews