We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Christmas Ski Trip Yet!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Expedition Station at River Run

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Expedition Station at River Run
Save
You added Expedition Station at River Run to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   River Run Rd, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Christmas Ski Trip Yet!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed at Expedition Station #8599, the setup in this condo is perfect for families. The kitchen is great for making dinner on those nights when you just want to stay in and relax. The view from the balcony is amazing, we loved watching the night skiers. The pool/spa area are very clean and warm on those cold evenings. Of course we loved, loved the parking garage, made it nice to unload and load. Expedition Station overall is very clean and well maintained. We were excited about how close the condo is to the River Run Village and the Gondola. There is great shopping and dinning in the Village (try Wolf Rock Steakhouse, the Elk is great). The check in and out was very easy and the people at Resort Quest are very friendly and accommodating. You can also get great prices at their Ski and Sport shop. We would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tata05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
2
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

I stayed at Expedition Station 8591 with my friends, and absolutely loved it! It is newly renovated, so you feel really comfortable and at home. The kitchen is beautiful, beds are very comfortable with nice bedding, condo is immaculate, and deck is huge with awesome views. We loved having the miniature golf course and playground nearby, and the pool and hot tub are in perfect condition. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunshineGirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cv Spgs, FL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

We have never been to Colorado before so this being our first time we were pleasantly surprised. Beautiful condo in a cute village close to slopes and Gondola but would have liked to have been a "little closer" but it was manageable. The condo was very clean we had room to spread out 2/2 and a very well stocked kitchen. Several of the shops, and restaurants were already closed for the season when we were there but still several open for us to enjoy! The tubing at Adventure Point was fantastic. 'Pizza on the Run" in the village was great pizza Highly recommend it. The snowmobiling with "High Country Tours" was great too. My husband and son loved the snowbiking also. We would definitely say at Keystone again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, RL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

I would not suggest Expedition Station. We stayed in unit 8599.

We were four adults and were told that the rooms would have a king in one room and two individual beds in the other. Instead one room had two bunk beds, arranged in a way (90 degrees to each other) that an adult would have to crawl into the lower bed. ResortQuest manages this unit and refused to provide an acceptable alternative. I would not suggest using ResortQuest.

One of us ended up in the living room on a very uncomfortable sleeper couch.

The rooms were very small. The room with the bunk beds had not much room left with all the space taken up by the beds and furniture. It was also very dark. The other room had about a foot between the bed and furniture to walk to the other side of the bed.

Also, the maintenance was horrible. There were several missing light bulbs. Also, there was not even a phone in the unit and we could never get connected to the internet.

Howard

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HGBoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

everything was a bit off, the condos are advertised as the newest but are already showing wear. Cabinets falling off, moldy shower curtains and dirty carpets very low quality appliances. The owners should be ashamed to charge $379 a night for a roughly 500 sq ft one bedroom unit. Outdated TV with a VCR player no DVD, who uses VCR these days! No view unles you like parking lots, was advertised as a view unit. Good undrgorung parking. Maid did not bother vacuuming carpets or replacing kithchen towels and toliet paper. These items were brought up at check out with the customary reply from manager "Sorry to hear it we will get back to you"

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mosesdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

Family of 4 spent a week in Keystone for snowboarding. Awesome runs, snowmobiling through Aspen Canyon outstanding!! Sleigh ride in afternoon - okay only. Expedition Station we lucked out - 2 bedroom, 3 bath, and a murphy bed. Plenty of room for the 4 of us to spread out when we needed a break from each other. Kitchen well stocked, keys to ski locker downstairs provided so no one had to haul their stuff upstairs! Semi-heated pool, great jacuzzi outside. Maid service did a great job, with the exception of one day that was so-so. Two balconies overlooking a few of the less busy runs, and many many snow-capped mountains in the background made for relaxing afternoons for the non-skier of the bunch! Also, WOW at night to just observe the night skiiing. Can not describe how beautiful the mountains are with the lights on them! Tubing at the top of the Gondola provided lots of laughs for our 8 year old. This is not for the faint of heart - you are propelled down part of the mountain at what seems like mach 1! (They have piled the snow up and made a slight incline towards the end of the runs to slow your tube down). Pasiano's well worth their breakfast buffet ($10.95 for adult), has everything you could want for breakfast on vacation. Pizza on the Run has remarkably good pizza - you can take out or eat there. Very small place, alittle pricey, but good. Groceries best bet is in town at City Market (owned by Kroger's). You can get anything there and much cheaper than the little grocery store at River Run. All in all a great trip, we agree the walk is further than what it sounds like. But, my boys were soooooo excited to be there it more than made up for the walk to and from!!!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Iwannatravel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

We stayed in Expedition Station at the beginning of July 2007. The 2-bedroom, two-bath condo looked nice but the beds were really awful. Air conditioning or at least ceiling fans were needed -- it was very warm, even at night. The bedding for the sofa bed included ripped sheets and blood-stained, flat pillows. It was also a very loud location -- we heard noisy cars and trucks most of the night. Pretty disappointing. Keystone overall was a letdown. The gondola wasn't running. Signage was terrible to find anything. Maps provided don't tell you if shops/restaurants/attractions were open in the summer. We weren't clear if we could use Keystone lake but it didn't matter as we couldn't find it anyway. Breckenridge and Vail seemed to have much more to offer. The Hummer tour in Vail was cool.

  • Liked — View from deck
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KStravelerJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
1.4 mi away
Keystone Lodge & Spa
Keystone Lodge & Spa
#1 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpine Slopes Lodge
Alpine Slopes Lodge
#2 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#3 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn at Keystone
Inn at Keystone
#3 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverbank Condominiums at River Run Village
1.6 mi away
Keystone Village
Keystone Village
#3 of 33 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expedition Station at River Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expedition Station at River Run

Property: Expedition Station at River Run
Address: River Run Rd, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Keystone
Hotel Class:3 star — Expedition Station at River Run 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Expedition Station At River Run Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing