We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Place, OK location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Expedition Station at River Run

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Expedition Station at River Run
Save
You added Expedition Station at River Run to your Saves list
St. Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Place, OK location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We don't ask for much in ski lodging and Expedition Station did not disappoint. The two bedroom we rented was more than big enough for four adults, and with the exception of the blinds on the sliding door to the deck which could not be pulled up (meaning entanglement in the slats was part of the "getting to the deck" experience), everything worked. The rooms were clean (though the bathroom could have been better ventilated, and showerhead water pressure was poor), the beds were comfortable, and everything was in good shape. Check-In, even after hours (2 am) was easy at the Keystone Lodge and Spa. The location is right next to the Village, with shops and restaurants all there. If you like to ice skate, the rink is just out the front door. It is NOT ski-in ski-out, but a medium length walk to the closest lift (which some might find uncomfortable with ski boots on, but really it is no big deal). The hot tub could have been larger, though that may have been a function of the number of frat boys who hogged it rather than its actual size. (Note - they were the exception, not the rule, when it comes to the type of guests.), and the fact that the pool was open and well heated was a nice touch. Under the building parking is very convenient, even if the spaces are rather small for big SUV's, and it could get crowded. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadejole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
2
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We rented two two bedroom units and one was vastly superior to the other - so there is some luck of the draw when making reservations. If both were like the lesser unit would have been a bit disappointed. That said these units are clean, well operated and in the village. Decor was basic but nice and appropriate for a ski resort. Plenty of locker space and underground parking. Only minor complaint was that we were told unit was 50 yards from lift and while there are some River Run buildings at that distance ours was more like 400 yards - still close but there is still a need to lug gear.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Checkin was efficient, loved the underground parking. The unit was very clean and comfortable with everything needed. Great sized two bedroom unit, with a view of the slopes. Smoke detector was beeping when we arrived, but resolved by maintenance while we were on the slopes. There are a few places to eat close by which was great for on or two nights, but may get old after a while. Avoid the ski rental shop just outside the door, it's staffed by people that really don't care. There are closer rental places to the gondola that were far more helpful.

Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Don't book at the ski hire place just outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TelfordAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Louisiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We loved our condo in Expedition Station. It is in walking distance to the gondola, comes with a complimentary locker for equipment, and has a fireplace with views of River Run. My only complaints are the kitchen and shower-heads. The website said ti would be "fully stocked" with all kitchen equipment, but I didn't have lots of pans that I consider to be staples in the kitchen. We only ate in one night though, so it wasn't that big of a deal. The shower-heads were not great. I showered a lot faster than I usually do! The rooms were very nice and our condo was well decorated, which I appreciate. We were in number 8615. Overall, I'd recommend this condo to any of my friends, and would stay in it again.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view! We loved seeing the ice skaters and people skiing on River Run.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at this location numerous times. This is the first time, however, that we had no housekeeping whatsoever. I couldn't even find a housekeeper. The location is perfect. The rooms were large and roomy. We spent three nights and not once did anyone come by our room. This had never been a problem in the past. We stayed there 7 months ago and had beautiful service. Can only guess this was an anomaly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SondraTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My family and I stayed in expedition station for a week this summer and it was amazing. Very clean and nice condo. Staff was very friendly and it is easy to get around with the shuttle that will take you anywhere for free. Rented bikes and a pontoon boat at very good prices, and many other activities to do. Heated pools and hot tubs in all of the condos was also very nice. It is also not as busy during the summer months so access to all of these things is very easy. I highly recommend visiting Keystone in the summer!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I was staying in the Expedition Station condo's in March 2012, and I've got to say - by my standards - it's very high quality. You really don't get "hotels" or condos like this in England for this price. The place is very well furnished and is in a great location for the shuttle bus if you're going to conferences, as well as being very close to the slopes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keystone hotels
0.6 mi away
Alpine Slopes Lodge
Alpine Slopes Lodge
#2 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
1.4 mi away
Keystone Lodge & Spa
Keystone Lodge & Spa
#1 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Keystone
Inn at Keystone
#3 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riverbank Condominiums at River Run Village
0.2 mi away
Timbers at Lone Eagle Condos
0.6 mi away
Mountain House
Mountain House
#14 of 33 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expedition Station at River Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expedition Station at River Run

Property: Expedition Station at River Run
Address: River Run Rd, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Keystone
Hotel Class:3 star — Expedition Station at River Run 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Expedition Station At River Run Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing